DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465). Hielscher discloses a hot stamping press (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising an upper die (2) complementary shaped with a lower die (3) to deform a hot metallic blank (5) into a metallic part wherein the upper die (2) and the lower die (3) comprise a die body (Fig. 2) contacting the metallic blank during hot stamping [0044] and configured to cool the metallic blank. The die body includes a porous die portion (ejection channels, 8) configured to supply cooling medium (KM) to the metallic blank [0045] through a die working porous work face portion (9) and the porous die portion (8) is in contact with a reservoir (7) equipped with a pressurizer comprising a pressure generator (13) and pressure accumulator (14; [0045], line 6 and [0052], line 4) that is activated to increase a pressure of the cooling medium (KM) within the reservoir (7) above a threshold ejection pressure ([0014], lines 3-6; [0054], lines 1-2 and [0063], lines 5-9) and deactivated ([0061], lines 10-11; [0068]) to release additional pressure on the cooling medium (KM). The porous die portion (ejection channels, 8) are configured to eject the cooling medium (KM) from the reservoir (7) toward the porous contact work face portion (9) when the cooling medium is above the threshold pressure ([0065], lines 4-6). The die (2,3) does not have any discharge channels to evacuate excess ejected coolant after hot stamping since the used coolant drains into a drip tray [0067]. Regarding claims 20 and 22, Hielscher discloses that the porous die portions (channels, 8) which open onto the die working porous work face portion (9) and the reservoir (7) are located in cavities (holes in dies, 2 and 3; Fig. 2) which are located within the die body. Regarding claim 21, the die is closed during a hot stamping operation and as shown in Fig. 2, wherein the dies (2,3) make contact with sidewalls and corners of the metallic blank (5) at an angle is less than 90° (sidewalls are shown as not vertical and the corners are curved) and the cooling medium (KM) is ejected from the dies (2,3) onto an entire surface of the metallic blank ([0013], lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465) in view of Shima et al. (EP 1990109). Hielscher does discloses that the porous ejection channels are cylindrical and frustoconical. Shima teaches a coolant ejection channel comprising a nozzle (13; Fig. 6) in a lower die (2) of a hot forming die (Fig. 1) for supplying coolant to a blank (4) during pressing. Shima teaches that the nozzle shape (13a; Fig. 6, [0082]) is a frustoconical opening and the ejection channel (10b) is cylindrical (Fig. 3, 11a; [0043], lines 4-5). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to construct the coolant ejection channel of Hielscher to be frustoconical and cylindrical as taught by Shima so as to efficiently eject the coolant from a small diameter channel.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465) in view of Kurisu et al. (EP 1671715). Hielscher does not explicitly recite that the ejection channels are cylindrical. Kurisu teaches a plurality of cylindrical (circular; [0016], line 50) coolant ejection holes (4) with a diameter between 0.01mm and 10mm ([0016], lines 52-54) in a hot stamping punch (3; Fig. 2A) which is porous metal ([0007], lines 12-13). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to construct the coolant ejection channels of Hielscher to be cylindrical channels with a diameter of 0.01-10mm as taught by Kurisu so as to supply a sufficient amount of coolant to the blank for cooling.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465) in view of Kurisu et al. (EP 1671715). Hielscher does not disclose that the dies (2,3) are stainless steel. Kurisu teaches that a hot stamping press comprises a punch (3) and a die (2) that are manufactured from steel ([0034], lines 2-3) and stainless steel ([0035], lines 4-5). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to construct the dies of Hielscher to be manufactured from steel and stainless steel as taught by Kurisu to promote high temperature die construction.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465) in view of Kurisu et al. (EP 1671715). Hielscher discloses that the cooling medium (KM) is ejected from the dies (2,3) onto an entire surface of the metallic blank ([0013], lines 1-2) but does not explicitly recite that the entire die is porous. Kurisu teaches that the entire punch (3) body is porous ([0018], line 17). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to construct the entire die of Hielscher to be porous as taught by Kurisu so as to promote maximum coverage of coolant impinging on the metallic blank.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465) in view of Schleichert et al. (WO 2021/217266). Hielscher does not disclose manufacturing the porous die portion by additive manufacturing. Schleichert teaches ([0028], lines 6-7) that a stamping apparatus comprising a lower die and an upper die are formed with at least porous section (107) by 3D printing or metal deposition. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to construct porous portion of the die of Hielscher by additive manufacturing as taught by Schleichert to permit rapid manufacturing of the die without machining removal of material.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hielscher et al. (EP 2371465). Hielscher discloses a hot stamping method (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising an upper die (2) complementary shaped with a lower die (3) to deform a hot metallic blank (5) into a metallic part wherein the upper die (2) and the lower die (3) comprise a die body (Fig. 2) contacting the metallic blank during hot stamping [0044] and configured to cool the metallic blank. The die body includes a porous die portion (ejection channels, 8) configured to supply cooling medium (KM) to the metallic blank [0045] through a die working porous work face portion (9) and the porous die portion (8) is in contact with a reservoir (7) equipped with a pressurizer comprising a pressure generator (13) and pressure accumulator (14; [0045], line 6 and [0052], line 4) that is activated to increase a pressure of the cooling medium (KM) within the reservoir (7) above a threshold ejection pressure ([0054], lines 1-2 and [0063], lines 5-9) and deactivated ([0061], lines 10-11; [0068]) to release additional pressure on the cooling medium (KM). The porous die portion (ejection channels, 8) are configured to eject the cooling medium (KM) from the reservoir (7) toward the porous contact work face portion (9) when the cooling medium is above the threshold pressure ([0065], lines 4-6). The die (2,3) does not have any discharge channels to evacuate excess ejected coolant after hot stamping since the used coolant drains into a drip tray [0067]. Applicants’ claim limitation is “wherein step i can take place simultaneously to step ii and step iii” this does not mean that step i must actually occur simultaneously, Hielscher is configured to transfer the heated metallic blank to the tool and is configured to activate and pressurize ([0054], lines 1-2) and deactivate pressure ([0056], lines 3 and 4). It is an obvious modification for the skilled artisan to activate and deactivate the coolant supply and pressurization as necessary since Hielscher discloses that the coolant supply includes shut off valve (25) with is openable and closeable to supply the coolant.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the cooling medium is water ([0047], line 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose that the step (i) of activating the pressurizer in order to gorge the ejection channels up until the cooling medium reaches the porous work face portion occurs simultaneously with the step (ii) of heating a steel blank, and the step (iii) of transferring the steel blank to the hot stamping press and the step (iv) of deactivating the pressurizer occurs before the step (vi) of hot stamping, including the limitations of base claim 25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-27-2026 have been fully considered. The reference to Hielscher has been used to respond to Applicants’ amendment requiring that a hot stamping press comprises an upper die and a lower die which are configured to deform a metallic blank into a desired volumetric shape.
Conclusion
The prior art cited by Applicant on the IDS of 6-5-2026 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Becker (DE 102014213196) teaches that a plurality of porous ejection channels (15) and a reservoir (16; Fig. 1) are located in a cavity in a die (10) with a replaceable insert (13) for the coolant channels being replaced according to a desired component shape.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 6-5-2026 and Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725