DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to the papers filed on May 10, 2024. Claims 164-176 are currently pending as per claims filed on May 10, 2024. Claims 1-163 have been cancelled, and claims 164-176 are newly filed in Applicant’s amendment filed May 10, 2024. Therefore, claims 164-176 are currently under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of the International Application No. PCT/CA2022/051669, filed November 11, 2022. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 63/278,518 filed on November 12, 2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is November 12, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 16, 2024 and January 5, 2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 10, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. There are several urls listed on pages 67-68 of the Specification filed on May 10, 2024.
Cross-Reference to Related Applications: The disclosure filed on May 10, 2024 is objected to because the cross-reference to related applications on the first page of the specification is not provided. The cross-reference should contain the priority applications listed above in addition to the respective patent numbers. Correction is required.
References listed in the Specification: The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or an official IDS, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 165-168, 171-174, and 176 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 165-168, 171-174, and 176 are objected to for missing commas after “claim #.”
Claim 172 is objected to because the recited abbreviations: “CD9, CD61, CD63, CD81, FLOT1, ICAM1, EpCam” should be spelled out at the first encounter in the claims.
Claim 173 is objected to because the recited abbreviations: “ALIX, ANXA5 and TSG101” should be spelled out at the first encounter in the claims.
Claim 174 is objected to because the recited abbreviation: “GM130” should be spelled out at the first encounter in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 164-176 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 164 is indefinite in reciting “A composition comprising extracellular vesicles isolated from human heart cells, the vesicles comprising a polydisperse population of particles…” as it is unclear if the composition is comprising vesicles that are also characterized as particles, more specifically a polydisperse population of particles with a diameter ranging from about 10 to about 500 nm and comprising miR-199, miR-22-3p and miR-374a-5p or rather the composition comprises vesicles that further comprises particles that are different than the vesicles. Based on the Specification, it appears the Applicant intends that the vesicles are particles as seen by stating “In another embodiment of any compositions above, the extracellular vesicles may be a polydisperse population of particles …” (p 6, ln 3-4); and furthermore stating, “Extracellular vesicles are naturally secreted, replication incompetent particles,…” (p 26, ln 3-4). Clarification is required.
Claim 166 is indefinite for the recitation of “unique miRNA transcripts” as the scope of for what is considered “unique” is not clear. The Specification states, “Herein a unique miRNA transcript refers to a population of miRNA transcribed from a unique genetic locus.” (p 37, ln 10-11), yet this is not an appropriate definition for “unique” based on using the term within the definition itself, as seen by stating “unique genetic locus.” For the purpose of examination, the use of “unique” is being understood as miRNA transcripts transcribed from different gene loci.
Claim 166 is indefinite as it is unclear how the composition can comprise as little as 1 unique miRNA transcripts due to claim 164 reciting the composition as containing three different miRNAs.
Claim 167 is indefinite as the employed units require clarification as it is not clear what the unit of volume, e.g. millilitre, is in reference to.
The term “reduce” in claims 175 and 176 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduce” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 165, 168-174 are rejected due to dependency on the rejected claims, and for not clarifying the indefinite issues set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 164-176 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural product without significantly more.
Applicant is directed to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on 1/07/2019, which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf; and the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, which is found at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/peg_oct_2019_update.pdf.
Briefly summarized here, the new guidance cites a two part test: is the claimed invention directed to a statutory class of invention (Step 1), if so then is the claimed invention as a whole directed to a law of nature, natural phenomena, or an abstract idea (i.e. set forth or described in the claim) (Step 2A, prong one), if so then is the claimed invention recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A, prong two), if not then does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B).
Step 1: Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to a composition comprising extracellular vesicles (EVs) isolated from human heart cells wherein such EVs comprise miR-199, miR-22-3p and miR-374a-5p.
The claim is directed to the statutory category of a composition of matter, and therefore, the requirements of Step 1 is met.
Step 2A, Prong One: Regarding Step 2A Prong One, claim 1 is directed to a natural phenomenon (product of nature) based on the lack of elements that would differentiate the claimed EVs from a non-natural product. Dezfuly et al. 2021 provides a comprehensive list of miRNAs comprised in MSC-derived EVs as seen in Table 2 wherein miR-199, miR-22-3p and miR-374a-5p are included. Additionally, the reference describes the EVs as ranging in size from 100- 1000 nm (p 3, col 1, par 2). The vesicles taught are derived from a different source cell than claimed, but the compositions are similar based on the lack of additional structural limitations recited that would differentiate the instant vesicles from other vesicles that are derived from other cell types. Regardless, Marban et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0085724 A1) teaches heart-derived EVs comprising miRNAs of which miR-199 and miR-22-3p are both included (par 33), and Lee et al. 2017 teaches the transcriptome of neo-natal rat ventricular myocytes (NRVMs) as comprising miR-374-5p expression, in which the expression level of miR-374 was decreased at the onset of the hypertrophic process during trans-aortic constriction (TAC) (Fig. S3, p 211, col 2). Altogether, it can be seen that cardiac tissues express the claimed miRNAs, and the derived vesicles thereof are likely to contain all the miRNAs based on miR-199, miR-22-3p being taught as comprised in cardiac-derived EVs, and cardiac tissue being taught as expressing miR-374a-5p (which has also been shown to be included with the other miRNAs in EVs derived from MSCs).
In summary, the claimed composition is found naturally, and is considered a natural product.
Step 2A, Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application based on the claims not reciting additional elements of the composition that would integrate the composition into a practical application as the structural limitations currently recited are not different than naturally occurring compositions. Claim 176 recites “The composition of claim 164 for treating atrial arrhythmia, or preventing or reducing atrial inflammation”; however, this is considered intended usage which does not add a meaningful limitation to the composition as this is nothing more than an attempt to generally link the product of nature to a particular technological environment. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim 164 further recites the EVs comprising a polydisperse population of particles with a diameter ranging from about 10 to about 500 nm in addition to comprising select miRNAs. However, EVs are known to be of different sizes when removed from cells, and therefore the claimed EVs remain to be similar to the natural product, and as such the limitation does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In relation to the miRNA, as described above, the prior art teachings make it obvious that cardiac derived EVs would contain these miRNAs, and moreover the particular miRNAs have been shown to be comprised in EVs derived from MSC which reads on the instant composition based on the structures being similar.
Judicial Exception – Conclusion: Therefore, the claims are directed to a natural product without significantly more that is not integrated into a practical application, does not include elements that amount to significantly more than the natural product, and does not qualify as patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 164 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dezfuly et al. (Stem Cell Res Ther 12, 530 (2021)).
Dezfuly provides a comprehensive list of miRNAs comprised in MSC-derived EVs as seen in Table 2 wherein miR-199, miR-22-3p and miR-374a-5p are included. Additionally, the reference describes the EVs as ranging in size from 100- 1000 nm (p 3, col 1, par 2). The vesicles taught are derived from a different source cell than claimed, but the compositions are similar based on the lack of additional structural limitations recited that would differentiate the instant vesicles from other vesicles that are derived from other cell types, e.g. MSCs. For these reasons, Dezfuly anticipates claim 164.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 164, 166, 167, 169-172 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (US 2021/0085724 A1) in view of Lee et al. (BMB Rep. 2017; 50(4): 208-213) and Carbonell et al. (Redox biology 36 (2020): 101607).
Regarding claim 164, Marban teaches extracellular vesicles (EVs) derived from cardiospheres which are undifferentiated cardiac cells that grow as self-adherent clusters obtained from heart tissues (par 0059), wherein the EVs comprise miR-199a-5p and miR-22-3p (par 0033). The EVs have a diameter that range from 15-250 nm, or from 100-1000 nm (par 0036).
Marban does not specifically teach the EVs as comprising miR-374a-5p.
Lee teaches the transcriptome of neo-natal rat ventricular myocytes (NRVMs) as comprising miR-374-5p expression, in which the expression level of miR-374 was decreased at the onset of the hypertrophic process during trans-aortic constriction (TAC) (Fig. S3, p 211, col 2).
Carbonell teaches miR-374a-5p protects the heart against myocardial ischaemia-reperfusion injury (p 8, column 2, par 2; Table 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the EVs isolated from human heart cells taught by Marban et al. that comprise miR-199 and miR-22-3p by teaching the EVs further comprise miR-374a-5p as taught by Lee because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The inclusion of miR-374a-5p in the EVs would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Lee teaches EVs derived from ventricular myocytes comprise such miRNA and furthermore, Carbonell teaches the role miR-374a-5p has in protection of the heart against myocardial ischaemia-reperfusion injury. Therefore, there is a reasonable expectation that EVs derived from the human heart cells would have all three of the miRNAs, e.g. miR-199, miR-22-3p and miR-374a-5p, comprised based on the combined teachings of Marban, Lee and Carbonell, and consequently it would have been obvious to have claimed EVs derived from human heart cells as including such miRNAs.
Regarding claim 166, Marban teaches wherein the vesicles comprise 1-1000 unique miRNA transcripts based on teaching numerous miRNAs as listed in par 0033. Furthermore, Carbonell depicts in Figure 1 miRNAs that are expressed at different locations to obtain different transcripts. Regarding claim 167, Marban teaches a single unit dosage as a therapeutically effective amount in which the extracellular vesicles are comprised at 1x106- 1012 or more particles (par 98,168). Despite not teaching the particles per volume, it can seen that the dosage be optimized accordingly, as Marban teaches “The selected dosage level will depend upon a variety of factors including, but not limited to, the activity of the composition, formulation, route of administration, combination with other drugs or treatments, severity of the condition being treated, and the physical condition and prior medical history of the subject being treated”, and therefore it can be seen that the composition based on particles per volume is based on optimization in view of the aforementioned variables described by Marban, and furthermore it the dosages that are taught encompass the claimed values dependent on the concentration of the dosage, or more specifically the formulation.
Regarding claim 169, Marban teaches wherein the human heart cells are derived from myocardial tissue based on teaching obtaining myocardial biopsies from healthy hearts of deceased tissue donors to then be cultured (Example 2).
Regarding claim 170, Marban teaches wherein the human heart cells are derived from an atrial appendage (par 0059).
Regarding claim 171, Marban teaches wherein the human heart cells are grown in-vitro (par 0011, 0111).
Regarding claim 172, Marban teaches the composition comprising one or more transmembrane markers defined by CD63, CD81, FLOT1 (par 35, 54).
Claims 164-166, 167, 169-172 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (US 2021/0085724 A1) in view of Lee et al. (BMB Rep. 2017; 50(4): 208-213) and Carbonell et al. (Redox biology 36 (2020): 101607) as applied to claims 164, 166, 167, 169-172, further in view of Malik et al. (Methods Mol Biol. 2016; 1448: 237–248).
The teachings of Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell are discussed supra.
Regarding claim 165, Marban teaches extracellular vesicles (EVs) derived from cardiospheres that express markers, such as wherein the EVs express tetraspanins, e.g., CD63, CD81, CD82, CD53, and/or CD37, one or more lipid raft associated proteins (e.g., glycosylphosphatidylinositol-anchored proteins and flotillin), cholesterol, sphingomyelin, and/or hexosylceramides (par 0035).
Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell does not specifically teach wherein the vesicles comprise acetylcholinesterase activity.
Malik teaches Acetylcholinesterase (AchE) activity “reflects the amount of cell membrane present, is used to indirectly assess the quantity of exosomes isolated ais one way of confirming that one has highly consistent preparations of exosomes”, and further describing, “We have found that AChE activity correlates with exosome counts.” in relation to cardiac myocytes exosomes (Sec. 3.3.3).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the EVs taught by Marban as having AchE activity (as taught by Malik) because it would have been obvious to use the known technique of measuring AchE activity of exosomes to obtain a high quantity of vesicles. By doing so, there is a reasonable expectation that the EVs taught by Marban, which are derived from human heart cells would have AchE activity in view of Malik teaching that cardiac myocyte derived exosomes as having AchE activity. Furthermore, since EVs contain cell membranes there is a reasonable expectation that they possess AchE activity as activity is indicative of cell membranes present as taught Malik, and therefore Marban’s EVs likely contain AchE activity as they derive from cells.
Claims 164, 166, 167-172, 175, and 176 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (US 2021/0085724 A1) in view of Lee et al. (BMB Rep. 2017; 50(4): 208-213) and Carbonell et al. (Redox biology 36 (2020): 101607) as applied to claims 164, 166, 167, 169-172, further in view of Wu et al. (Frontiers in cell and developmental biology 9 (2021): 673677) and Li et al. (International journal of cardiology 307 (2020): 137-145).
The teachings of Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell are discussed supra.
Regarding claim 168, Marban teaches extracellular vesicles (EVs) derived from cardiospheres that are used in treatments (abstract, 0040).
Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell does not specifically teach wherein said extracellular vesicles decrease inflammasome activation.
Wu teaches that exosomes derived from human MSCs reduce the expression of NLRP3 and Caspase-1 in the I/R myocardium, then reduce the myocardial pyroptosis (p 8, col 2, par 1; Fig. 3). Wu describes pyroptosis as a “regulated form of cell death closely associated with innate immune responses, characterized by plasma membrane permeability and the extracellular release of inflammatory cytokines and rupture of the plasma membrane” and that “activated inflammasomes trigger the activation of caspase-1, which eventually leads to pyroptosis” (p 3, col 2, par 2).
Li teaches miR-135b was markedly downregulated during myocardial infarction (MI) wherein the pyroptosis pathway was activated, and that overexpression of miR-135b inhibited pyroptosis and preserved cardiac function during MI (Fig. 4; abstract). Furthermore, Li teaches miR-135b as being expressed by cardiomyocytes in vitro and cardiac tissues in vivo (Sec 3.2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the EVs taught by Marban as having deceased inflammasome activation based on the reduced caspase-1 activation with MSC derived exosomes as taught by Wu and similar outcomes with a cardiomyocyte secreted miRNA as taught by Li because it would have been obvious to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In particular, there is a reasonable expectation that the EVs taught by Marban would have decreased inflammasome activation because Wu teaches similar exosomes derived from MSCs as having this characteristic, and secondly Li teaches the claimed cell type of heart cells as showing the same outcome based on findings related to miR-135b that attenuated the upregulation of NLRP3/caspase-1/IL-1β pathway, and therefore EVs derived from these cells would likely have similar effects. Therefore, it would clearly be obvious to describe the human heart EVs as having deceased inflammasome activation as there is a reasonable expectation that these EVs would have such characteristic based on the joint findings described by Wu and Li.
Regarding claims 175 and 176, the rejection to claim 168 is applied herein based on the rejection describing the EVs role in reducing inflammation, and therefore it would be obvious to try in using these EVs for specifically preventing or reducing atrial inflammation. Secondly, the claims are directed to products, and the limitations presented in claim 176 are directed to intended usages. The prior art structure taught by Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell as modified by the teaching of Wu and Li is expected to be capable of performing the recited intended use and, therefore, this limitation is met. See e.g. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477; 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP 2114 (Apparatus Claims Must Be Structurally Distinguishable From the Prior Art).
Claims 164, 166, 167, 169-174 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (US 2021/0085724 A1) in view of Lee et al. (BMB Rep. 2017; 50(4): 208-213) and Carbonell et al. (Redox biology 36 (2020): 101607) as applied to claims 164, 166, 167, 169-172, further in view of Mentkowski et al. (Sci Rep 9, 10041 (2019)).
The teachings of Marban in view of Lee and Carbonell are discussed supra.
Regarding claims 173 and 174, Marban teaches extracellular vesicles (EVs) derived from cardiospheres that are used in treatments (abstract, 0040).
Mentkowski teaches exosomes derived from cardiosphere-derived cells as being positive for known exosomal markers CD63, CD81, ALIX, FLOT1, ICAM1, EpCam, ANXA5 and TSG101 with preparations negative for any cellular contamination (by cis-Golgi marker GM130) (Fig. 2d).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the EVs taught by Marban as having the cytosolic markers ALIX, ANXA5, and TSG101 while being devoid of GM130 based on the teaching of Mentkowski because it would have been obvious to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In particular, there is a reasonable expectation that the EVs taught by Marban would possess these characteristics based on Mentkowski teaching that exosomes from cardiosphere-derived cells, sourced from endomyocardial biopsies (p 9, par 4), as having these exosomal markers while being without GM130 a marker for cellular contamination, based on the source cells of the EVs being identical. Therefore, it would be clearly obvious that the EVs of Marban would be similar, and more specifically have similar markers. Secondly, it would be obvious to want such cytosolic markers in the EVs as they are indicative of exosomes while also wanting a negative marker for GM130 as it relates to a lack of purity in the composition because it contains cellular components.
Conclusion
Claims 164-176 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/MICHAEL ANGELO RIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/TERESA E KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634