DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-8 regarding the validity of using Park (US20070052124A1) for the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, stating that Park does not teach “actuation means adapted to cause the piston of the third injector to move forward to inject the molten plastic into the conduit… wherein said actuation means are adapted to control the backward movement of the piston of the third injector while it receives the molten plastic from the conduit.”
In the rejection, Figures 3 & 4 of Park were used in the rejection to introduce the third injector 15 which uses either a hydraulic piston (Fig. 3, item 16) or a spring-loaded piston (Fig. 4, item 24). However, figure 12 (with the hydraulically controlled third injector 23) was the embodiment applied to teach the elements of claim 1.
The Applicant argues the art of Park is invalid in part because Park teaches its apparatus uses a polymer/gas mixed material to form a foamed product. However, the material worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. Only the structures of the apparatus are positively recited elements of an apparatus claim. See MPEP 2115.
Park focuses on controlling polymer/gas flowrates to control the void fraction formed in molded products and avoid ‘uncontrollably formed large gas pocket’ defects [0037]. Park states that the positive displacement device along with an additional accumulator (the third injector) would prevent pressure fluctuations to achieve constant barrel pressure and consistent gas dosing [0038].
In this way, the third injector of Park operates in a similar function to the third injector of the instant application by preventing pressure fluctuations (e.g., avoiding hydraulic shocks) and achieving stable pressures of the material.
The Applicant argues the hydraulic piston of the third injector (Fig. 12, item 23) does not control the backward movement of the piston while receiving molten plastic.
However, Park clearly teaches control of this hydraulic third injector to maintain constant pressure in the barrel leading to the first and second hydraulic injectors (Fig. 12, items 10 & 18). Park teaches “in order to continuously form a polymer/gas mixture, an additional accumulator needs to be installed before the shut-off valve (or non-returnable check valve). This accumulator stores the formed polymer/gas mixture during the injection operation. If a hydraulically driven constant-pressure cylinder is used, the gas amount can be relatively easily adjusted accordingly because of the constant accumulator pressure (and thereby the constant barrel pressure). So in the case of using no gear pump, use of a hydraulically driven accumulator is strongly recommended. If a spring-loaded piston or an expandable tube is used as the accumulator instead of a hydraulic one, the accumulator pressure will be increased over time (as described above)” [0041-0044].
Previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn as they have been corrected by amendment.
The amendment to claim 1 and the cancellation of claim 13 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20070052124A1), in view of Weinmann (WO2004050325A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. An injection apparatus for injecting molten plastic, into a mold for molding bottle preforms; the injection apparatus comprising a first injector and a second injector adapted to receive molten plastic and inject it into the mold alternately to each other; a conduit adapted to carry molten plastic from a plasticization apparatus towards the first injector and towards the second injector; a third injector provided with a piston, the third injector being connected to the conduit so as to receive molten plastic from the conduit and then inject it into the conduit; actuation means adapted to cause the piston of the third injector to move forward to inject the molten plastic into the conduit; wherein the first injector and the second injector are adapted to inject molten plastic into the mold, through the same nozzle; wherein said actuation means are adapted to control the backward movement of the piston of the third injector while it receives the molten plastic from the conduit.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Park teaches an injection apparatus for injecting molten plastic (Fig. 12); the injection apparatus comprising a first injector (Fig. 12, item 10) and a second injector (Fig. 12, item 18) adapted to receive molten plastic and inject it into the mold (Fig. 12, item 12) alternately to each other [0067]; a conduit (Fig. 12, item 7) adapted to carry molten plastic from a plasticization apparatus (Fig. 12, item 2) towards the first injector and towards the second injector [0072]; and a third injector (Fig. 12, item 23) provided with a piston, the third injector being connected to the conduit so as to receive molten plastic from the conduit and then inject it into the conduit [0072-0073].
Park teaches an actuation means adapted to cause the piston of the third injector to move forward to inject the molten plastic into the conduit [0056]; wherein the first injector and the second injector are adapted to inject molten plastic into the mold, in particular into the same mold (Fig. 12, item 12); wherein said actuation means (See Fig. 3, hydraulics item 16, [0056]; or Fig. 4, spring-loaded item 24, [0060]) are adapted to control the backward movement of the piston of the third injector while it receives the molten plastic from the conduit [0044, 0056, 0060, 0073].
Park is silent on the use of PET as the molding material, molding bottle preforms, and that both injectors feed the same mold though the same nozzle.
However, the prior art of Weinmann, teaches a similar molding device with two alternating injectors (Fig. 15, items 24, 25; [P. 11, ¶ 3]) fed from a plasticizer conduit (Fig. 15, item 77), wherein both injectors can share the same nozzle (See Fig. 15) to feed material into a mold for molding bottle preforms (Fig. 6, item 30; [P. 8, ¶ 3]).
The Examiner notes that a PET molding material is not part of the injection apparatus and therefore does not limit its structure. However, and in the interest of compact prosecution, Weinmann teaches the molding material can be PET [P. 11, ¶ 1].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the bottle preform mold and the merging mold material flow path downstream of the first and second injectors, taught by Weinmann, in place of the dual nozzle mold taught by Park. This modification would predictably result in an injection apparatus of Park, comprising a third injector, being able to supply material via a merged header to a single mold inlet nozzle for feeding a plurality of bottle preform cavities, as taught by Weinmann, if bottle preforms were the desired molded product. The motivation to use PET would also be for the desired product, as PET is a commonly known material for use in blow molding bottles.
As both arts teach alternating injection by first and second injectors, there should be no expected molding interference by merging of the flow path to the mold for the modified apparatus of Park, in view of Weinmann.
2. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third injector has a lower molten plastic loading capacity than the loading capacity of the first injector and than the loading capacity of the second injector.
With respect to claim 2, Park clearly illustrates the third injector has a lower molten plastic loading capacity than the loading capacity of the first injector and than the loading capacity of the second injector (See Fig 12, resin capacity of item 23 compared to items 10 & 18).
3. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein there is provided at least one transducer adapted to detect the pressure of the molten plastic in the third injector during the backward movement of the piston.
With respect to claim 3, Park teaches the importance of pressure control regulated by either a gear pump or by a third injector [0044]. Park teaches the ‘secondary accumulator’, or third injector, is ‘helpful to accommodate the melt during injection so that a continuous rotation of extruder screw and a consistent gas dosing can be realized’ [0071].
Park is silent on any sensor types, including pressure sensors, even though they would be necessary for pressure control and/or indication.
However, Weinmann teaches a plurality of pressure sensors adapted to detect the pressure at desired points of the system [P. 7, last ¶].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use at least one pressure transducer, taught by Weismann, to improve the similar injection apparatus taught by Park in the same way, by having the sensor adapted to detect the pressure of the molten plastic in the third injector, because pressure monitoring would be critical there since the third injector regulates pressure and gas dosing.
This pressure detector of the injection apparatus prima facie obviously would be capable of measuring pressure at the third injector at all times, including during the process step of backward movement of the third injector piston.
4. The injection apparatus according to claim 3, wherein said actuation means comprise a hydraulic cylinder, and wherein said at least one transducer is adapted to detect the hydraulic pressure of the hydraulic cylinder.
With respect to claim 4, Park teaches said actuation means comprise a hydraulic cylinder [0071], and, as set forth in the rejection of claim 3, wherein said at least one transducer would prima facie obviously be adapted to detect the hydraulic pressure of the hydraulic cylinder.
5. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the injection apparatus is configured to control the backward movement of the piston of the third injector while it receives the molten plastic so that the pressure of the molten plastic in the third injector is constant or substantially constant during the backward movement of the piston.
With respect to claim 5, Park teaches the injection apparatus is configured to control the backward movement of the piston of the third injector while it receives the molten plastic so that the pressure of the molten plastic in the third injector is constant or substantially constant during the backward movement of the piston [0042-0043].
6. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a first valve connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the first injector; and a second valve connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the second injector.
With respect to claim 6, Park teaches a first valve (Fig. 12, item 9) connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the first injector; and a second valve (Fig. 12, item 17) connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the second injector [0072].
7. The injection apparatus according to claim 6, wherein each valve of said first valve and second valve is adapted to take a first position, in which it allows the passage of molten plastic from the conduit to the respective injector of said first injector and second injector and prevents the passage of molten plastic from the respective injector towards the mold; and a second position, in which it allows the passage of molten plastic from the respective injector towards the mold and prevents the passage of molten plastic from the conduit to the respective injector.
With respect to claim 7, Park teaches the first valve and second valve are “shut-off valves” [0072], which would be commonly known to a person of ordinary skill in the field of art to either permit or stop flow, and would not be used as throttling valves in intermediate positions.
Therefore, it is understood that the first valve and second valves are adapted to take a first position, in which it allows the passage of molten plastic from the conduit to the respective injector of said first injector and second injector and prevents the passage of molten plastic from the respective injector towards the mold; and a second position, in which it allows the passage of molten plastic from the respective injector towards the mold and prevents the passage of molten plastic from the conduit to the respective injector.
8. The injection apparatus according to claim 7, configured to control the first valve and the second valve so that while the first valve is in the first position thereof, the second valve is in the second position thereof, and vice versa.
With respect to claim 8, Park teaches that the two compatible accumulators in the Figure 7 embodiment are configured to alternatingly accumulate and inject molding material, by controlling the first valve and the second valve so that while the first valve is in the first position thereof, the second valve is in the second position thereof, and vice versa [0067]. Park teaches the Figure 11 embodiment, which comprises a third accumulator, could also operate the first and second accumulators alternatingly (in sequence) in the same way [0071].
9. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said conduit comprises a stretch provided with an inlet opening; and two branches, each branch being provided with a respective outlet opening; wherein a first branch of said two branches is adapted to carry the molten plastic towards the first injector and a second branch of said two branches is adapted to carry the molten plastic towards the second injector.
With respect to claim 9, Park teaches said conduit comprises a stretch provided with an inlet opening (Fig. 12, item 7 leading from item 1 barrel to the three accumulator branches); and two branches, each branch being provided with a respective “cutoff valve” (Fig. 12, items 9 & 17) to permit outlet opening; wherein a first branch (Fig. 12, item 7 leading through item 9 to item 10) of said two branches is adapted to carry the molten plastic towards the first injector and a second branch (Fig. 12, item 7 leading through item 17 to item 18) of said two branches is adapted to carry the molten plastic towards the second injector.
10. The injection apparatus according to claim 9, comprising a first valve connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the first injector; and a second valve connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the second injector; wherein the first valve is connected to the first branch so as to receive molten plastic therefrom; and wherein the second valve is connected to the second branch so as to receive molten plastic therefrom.
With respect to claim 10, Park teaches a first valve (Fig. 12, item 9) connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the first injector (Fig. 12, item 7 leading through item 9 to item 10); and a second valve (Fig. 12, item 17) connected to the conduit, adapted to allow or prevent a molten plastic flow from the conduit to the second injector (Fig. 12, item 7 leading through item 17 to item 18); wherein the first valve is connected to the first branch so as to receive molten plastic therefrom; and wherein the second valve is connected to the second branch so as to receive molten plastic therefrom.
11. The injection apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the third injector is adapted to receive molten plastic from said stretch of the conduit.
With respect to claim 11, Park teaches the third injector is adapted to receive molten plastic from said stretch of the conduit (See Fig. 12, item 7 conduit branch leading to item 23).
12. The injection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third injector is configured to inject molten plastic at a lower injection speed than the injection speed of the first injector and the second injector.
With respect to claim 12, Park, in view of Weinmann, is silent on the third injector operating slower than the first and second injectors.
The Examiner notes that injector speeds and the comparison of speeds is not a positively recited apparatus claim element, as it does not limit its structure.
However, and in the interest of compact prosecution, Park teaches the third injector can have a hydraulic or spring-loaded piston and compensates for fluctuations in gas dosing [0044, 0071] and pressure [0045]; the first and second injectors drive the molding mixture into the mold cavity ‘under high pressure’ [0067].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that the third injector could be configured to inject molten plastic at a slower speed than the injection speed of the first injector and the second injector, because the third injector should operate more slowly and smoothly for maintaining a constant conduit gas dosing and pressure; while the first and second injectors would be expected to move at a faster speed for the function of driving the molding material into a mold cavity before the material rapidly cools and hardens. It is commonly known in the art that increased material speed into the mold reduces viscosity to allow the cavity to fill completely and avoid defects such as shorts and voids.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748