DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 06/23/2026 has been considered and entered. The response has been considered but was not found to be persuasive over Fisher et al. (US 7,592,295). Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
The rejections under 112b are overcome by the amendments and are thus withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 12, 14, 15, 18, 21, 23, 24, 27, 33, 36, 38, 40, 45 – 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 7,592,295)
In regards to claims 1, 3, 4, Fisher teaches farnesene dimers and/or farnesene dimers and compositions (title). The farnesene is b-farnesene and which is/are C15 olefin monomers, dimers (oligomers) etc. (column 8 lines 29 – 49). The structure in claim 4, namely, (6E)-7,11-dimethyl-3-methylene-1, 6, 10-dodecatriene is b-farnesene, which Fisher teaches. Farnesene which can be a or b-farnesene, when it is hydrogenated, it becomes farnesane according to Fisher. Thus, Fisher teaches hydrocarbon base oil of the claims. The farnesene compounds/derivatives (i.e., farnesane) can be present in combinations and each is present in the composition in amounts from about 0.1 to 99.9% which provides the limitation a) and the limitation b) of the claims (column 5 lines 1 – 41; column 8 lines 41 – 49).
The farnesane which are saturated hydrocarbon includes combinations of IIA and IIB at 40 to 99% in the composition, and IIC and IID at 1 to 12% of the composition, and thus provides combinations of the saturated compounds as claimed.
The composition can comprise known lubricant additives such as antiwear agents, detergents, stability improvers (stabilizers), viscosity index improvers, pour point depressants, antioxidants etc., as claimed (column 18 lines 48 – 56; column 30 lines 10 – 50). In one embodiment, the pour point depressants are polymethacrylates (which are known to be multifunctional viscosity index improvers) that can be present at from 0.01 to about 10% according to the limitation c) of the claims (column 27 lines 45 to column 28 lines 10).
In regards to claims 6, 12, Fisher teaches the composition having the farnesene in amounts of 0.1 to 99.5% with a balance of additives which overlaps the claimed range. For instance, each additive can be from 0.001% to about 20% (column 23 lines 23 – 33). The additive can be ATF having viscosity index improvers present at from about 0.5% to 1.5%, antiwear present at from about 0.1 to about 0.4%, etc., in the composition (column 31 lines 29 – 40).
In regards to claim 14, Fisher teaches the composition can comprise calcium sulfonate etc., as additives which would be expected to provide the function of antiwear as claimed (column 23 lines 60 – 66). Antiwear/EP compounds also include metal dithiocarbamates (column 25 lines 12 – 19). While molybdenum dithiocarbamates are not particularly recited, they are ubiquitously known as metal dithiocarbamates which are oil soluble dithiocarbamates for use as additives in oils and which would have been obvious.
In regards to claim 15, Fisher teaches the composition having pour point depressant (PPD) additives in amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously stated. For instance, the ppd’s are present at from 0.01 to 10% in one embodiment (column 28 lines 1 – 10).
In regards to claim 17, Fisher teaches the composition comprising anti-foaming agents at amounts of from 0.01 to about 5% in the composition (column 28 lines 11 – 32).
In regards to claims 21, 23, Fisher teaches the composition which can comprise aminic antioxidants such as alkylated diphenylamine, phenyl alpha naphthylamine etc., at amounts of from about 0.01 to 10% by weight of the composition (column 29 lines 58 – column 30 lines 8).
In regards to claim 24, Fisher teaches the composition which can comprise known additives and does not require the presence of antimicrobials and thus obviates the claimed limitation.
In regards to claim 27, Fisher teaches the composition having additives in the claimed amounts. Additives meet the limitations of inhibitors as claimed. For instance, antioxidants are oxidation inhibitors which are present in amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously stated.
In regards to claim 33, Fisher teaches the composition which can comprise additives in amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously stated. The additives can include one or more such as storage stabilizers, antioxidants etc. (column 21 lines 57 – 63). Antioxidants also meets the limitation of stabilizers.
In regards to claims 36, 38, 40, Fisher teaches the composition can comprise base oil at from 1 to 20% (column 19 lines 6 – 14). The oils can comprise synthetic oils such as polyalphaolefins, esters (i.e., esterification products) etc. (column 19 lines 15 – 27).
In regards to claim 45, Fisher teaches the composition which can comprise farnesene oligomers such as dimers as previously stated.
In regards to claims 46, 47, Fisher teaches the composition having the claimed oil and additives as previously stated. The composition can comprise a detergent at amounts of from 0.001 to 5% (column 24 lines 2 – 15). The composition can comprise friction modifiers at from 0.01 to 10% (column 27 lines 12 – 20). The composition can comprise pour point depressants such as polymethacrylates which also provides the limitation of viscosity index improvers at from 0.01 to about 10% (column 28 lines 1 – 5). In one embodiment the composition can comprise viscosity index improvers at from 0.5 to 1.5% (column 31 lines 29 – 40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Fisher fails to teach combinations of saturated hydrocarbon base oils as claimed. The argument is not persuasive.
Fisher teaches combinations of farnesane compounds IIA and IIB at 40 to 99% and compounds IIC and IID at 1 to 12% as discussed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771