DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending in the application and are presently examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coil spring “length” and the “solid length” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 4 states that “the coil spring has a length longer than the solid length thereof”. It is unclear in claim 4 what “thereof” refers to. The present specification (paragraph 81) states that that the “solid length” is a length of the coil spring in its most contracted position. If Applicant intends for “solid length” to mean a length of the coil spring, then Examiner suggests replacing “thereof” with “of the coil spring”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention.
Claim 4 states “the solid length”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
It is unclear what direction this solid length refers to. This could be (a) a length of the wire of the coil spring, (b) a straight-line length of the spring in a direction parallel to a direction of spring motion, (c) a length / diameter of the spring in a direction perpendicular to a direction of spring motion, or (d) some other direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US5590434A (Imai).
Imai teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
An oral cleansing device (column 2, lines 13-25; figures 1-2: electric toothbrush) that is driven by a battery (column 2, line 18; figures 1-2: battery 6), the oral cleansing device comprising:
a battery housing (column 2, lines 17-18; figures 1-2: front case 2 & rear case 3) configured to house the battery (6), the battery housing (2 & 3) comprising:
a body (column 2, lines 17-18; figures 1-2: front case 2) comprising a housing space (Figure A below) in which the battery (6) is housed; and
a battery cover (column 2, lines 17-18; figures 1-2: rear case 3) that closes an opening (Figure A) of the housing space,
wherein the battery cover (3) comprises only a positive electrode terminal (column 2, lines 19-22; figure 2; Figure A: positive terminal) out of a negative electrode terminal electrically connected to a negative electrode of the battery and the positive electrode terminal electrically connected to a positive electrode of the battery (column 2, lines 17-25; figure 2; Figure A), and
the body (2) includes the negative electrode terminal (column 2, lines 23-25; figure 2; Figure A: negative terminal) electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery cover (3) via the battery (6)
Figure A: Annotated Imai Partial Figure 2
With regard to claim 2, Imai teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Imai also teaches the following limitation of claim 2:
the negative electrode terminal comprises a spring part (column 2, lines 23-25; figure 2: spring contact 15), and the battery cover (3) is positioned at a lower part (Figure A above) of the body (2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US5590434A (Imai), as applied to claims 1-2, and further in view of JP2003031194A (Kozonoe).
With regard to claim 3, Imai fails to teach the following limitations, which are taught by Kozonoe:
the spring part comprises a leaf spring and a coil spring (Figure B below)
Figure B: Annotated Kozonoe Figure 1
Kozonoe is directed to a contact terminal, for a battery, that doesn’t lose connection (abstract; paragraph 5). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Imai’s spring contact 15 to include a leaf spring and a coil spring, as taught by Kozonoe, so that the battery and terminal don’t lose connection.
With regard to claim 4, Imai teaches the following limitations:
the body comprises a contraction restricting part that restricts contraction of the spring part in a state where the coil spring has a length longer than the solid length thereof (Figure C below)
Figure C: Annotated Partial Imai Figure 2
With regard to claim 5, Imai fails to teach the following limitations, which are taught by Kozonoe:
the leaf spring comprises a positional displacement prevention part that prevents positional displacement of the coil spring (Figure D below)
Figure D: Annotated Imai Figure 2
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Imai’s spring contact 15 to include a leaf spring and a coil spring, and for the leaf spring to include a positional displacement prevention part, as taught by Kozonoe, so that the battery and terminal don’t lose connection.
With regard to claim 6, Imai fails to teach the following limitations, which are taught by Kozonoe:
the leaf spring comprises a protrusion protruding toward the battery (page 4, lines 20-22; Figure D above: contact portion 5)
Imai uses a contact portion 5 to contact an electrode center (page 4, lines 20-22). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Imai’s spring contact 15 to include a leaf spring and a coil spring, and for the leaf spring to include a contact portion, as taught by Kozonoe, for contact at an electrode center.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US5590434A (Imai), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of GB2317555A (Shek). Imai fails to teach the following claim 7 limitations, which are taught by Shek:
the battery cover comprises a cover body to which the positive electrode terminal is attached, and the cover body is provided with a rib that prevents the negative electrode from coming into contact with the positive electrode terminal when the battery is housed in the battery housing in a state where the negative electrode faces the positive electrode terminal (Figure C below)
Figure C: Annotated Shek Partial Figure 1
As illustrated in Figure C above, the positive electrode protrudes outward from the battery, allowing contact with the positive electrode terminal. If, however, the battery flips 180o, with the negative electrode facing the positive electrode terminal, the rib would block contact, because the negative side of the battery is flat, and lacks the protrusion. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Imai’s electric toothbrush to include a rib on the cover, as taught by Shek, to prevent contact between the negative electrode and the positive electrode terminal.
Conclusion
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721