DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-10 have been amended. Claims 1-10 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., downlink waveform selection at the base station, dynamically selecting between Cyclic Prefix-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM), Discrete Frequency Transform-spread-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) and Orthogonal Time Frequency Space (OTFS)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
To be more specific, applicant first argues that Nakamura does not disclose downlink waveform selection at the base station. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
At most, the relevant portion of applicant’s independent claims recite selecting, by the transmitting node, a set of modulation symbols. Nowhere in applicant’s independent claims is it recited that a base station performs downlink waveform selection. Additionally, a transmitting node is not a base station, as the term “node” conventionally applies to a variety of network devices/entities, such as relay devices, access points, etc.
Applicant further argues that selection between CP-OFDM, DFT-s-OFDM, and OTFS waveforms is not disclosed or taught in Nakamura. The examiner once again respectfully disagrees.
At discussed above, the relevant portion of applicant’s independent claims recite selecting, by the transmitting node, a set of modulation symbols. Nowhere in applicant’s independent claims is it recited that there is a method step of selecting between CP-OFDM, DFT-s-OFDM, and OTFS waveforms.
Therefore, Nakamura still teaches the limitations recited in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0105164 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nakamura, in view of Fujii (US 2016/0065257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a method of processing a bit stream for transmission over a wireless communication network (Nakamura – Paragraph [0018], note a communication method for a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus, uplink data transmission), the method comprising:
mapping, by a transmitting node, a bit stream to obtain at least one modulation symbol (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0033], note transmitter of the terminal apparatuses 102-A and 102-B; Paragraph [0034], note the data of the terminal apparatus 102-A is coded at a coding unit 200-1 and a coding unit 200-2, the coded bit sequence (codeword) obtained by coding the data of the terminal apparatus 102-A is input to a scrambling unit 201-1 and a scrambling unit 201-2, the outputs of the scrambling unit 201-1 to 201-2 are input to modulation units 202-1 to 202-2, respectively, in the modulation units 202-1 to 202-2, processing is performed to convert the input bit sequence to a modulation symbol (QPSK modulation symbol, QAM modulation symbol) such as QPSK or 64QAM);
selecting, by the transmitting node, a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0035], note the outputs of the modulation units 202-1 to 202-2 are input to a layer mapping unit 203, in the layer mapping unit 203, in a case that the terminal apparatus 102-A performs transmission using multiple layers, a process is applied in which one or multiple codewords are allocated to each layer); and
performing, by the transmitting node, the transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols to obtain precoded symbols for modulation and transmission (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2, transform by Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) is performed on the modulation symbol sequence input from the layer mapping unit 203, the outputs of the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2 are input to a precoding unit 205; Paragraph [0037], note in the precoding unit 205, precoding is performed to transmit each layer from multiple antenna ports).
Nakamura does not teach selecting, by the transmitting node, a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol based on at least one predefined precoding criteria, for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols.
In an analogous art, Fujii teaches selecting, by the transmitting node, a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol based on at least one predefined precoding criteria, for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols (Fujii – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0057], note wireless transmission device 10a; Paragraph [0075], note the mapping unit 82 obtains the coded transmission data from the channel coding unit 81 and maps each bit among the obtained coded transmission data to a modulation symbol based on the modulation order notified from the MCS selecting unit 85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fujii into Nakamura in order for the terminal device to utilize non-linear precoding and select a modulation symbol to map to coded transmission data based on notified modulation order, reducing power required for data transmission (Fujii – Paragraphs [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii, specifically Nakamura teaches the method further comprising:
performing, by the transmitting node, an Inverse Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) operation to the precoded symbols and non-precoded symbols of the at least one modulation symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0037], note different precoding may be applied depending on whether or not the processing in the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2, specifically DFT, is applied (or whether or not the transmission scheme is with a high Peak to Average Power Ratio (PAPR)); Paragraph [0038], note in the signal generation units 207-1 and 207-2, Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) is applied to the inputs from the resource element mapping units 206-1 and 206-2); and
transmitting, by the transmitting node, the precoded symbols and the non-precoded symbols over the wireless communication network (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0038], note the outputs of the signal generation units 207-1 and 207-2 are transmitted from antennas 208-1 and 208-2).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura does not teach wherein the at least one predefined precoding criteria is obtained by selecting the set of modulated symbols based on at least one of a modulation order, a physical channel, a physical signal and one of an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol index, slot index, sub frame index, and frame index within a time window.
In an analogous art, Fujii teaches wherein the at least one predefined precoding criteria is obtained by selecting the set of modulated symbols based on at least one of a modulation order, a physical channel, a physical signal and one of an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol index, slot index, sub frame index, and frame index within a time window (Fujii – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0057], note wireless transmission device 10a; Paragraph [0075], note the mapping unit 82 obtains the coded transmission data from the channel coding unit 81 and maps each bit among the obtained coded transmission data to a modulation symbol based on the modulation order notified from the MCS selecting unit 85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fujii into Nakamura for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii, specifically Nakamura teaches wherein a Cyclic Prefix (CP) is added after the IFFT operation of the precoded symbols and the non-precoded symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0037], note different precoding may be applied depending on whether or not the processing in the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2, specifically DFT, is applied (or whether or not the transmission scheme is with a high Peak to Average Power Ratio (PAPR)); Paragraph [0038], note in the signal generation units 207-1 and 207-2, Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) is applied to the inputs from the resource element mapping units 206-1 and 206-2, and Cyclic Prefix (CP) is added).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii, specifically Nakamura teaches wherein the transform-precoding is implemented using at least one of Discrete Fourier Transformation (DFT), Symplectic Finite Fourier Transform (SFFT), Inverse Discrete Fourier Transformation (IDFT), and Inverse Symplectic Finite Fourier Transform (ISFFT) (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note in the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2, transform by Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) is performed on the modulation symbol sequence input from the layer mapping unit 203).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii, specifically Nakamura teaches wherein a precoding information indicative of the precoded symbols is transmitted through at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) signaling, and Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note the transmission scheme configuration unit 210 acquires the transmission scheme (signal waveform) from the control information acquisition unit 213 explicitly or implicitly by RRC or DCI; Paragraph [0038], note whether to use CP-OFDM or DFT-S-OFDM may be uniquely configured for each terminal apparatus by RRC or DCI).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches a method of processing of symbols after reception over a wireless communication network (Nakamura – Fig. 1, Fig. 7; Paragraph [0046], note receiver of a base station 101, signals transmitted by the terminal apparatus 102-A and the terminal apparatus 102-B are received by a receive antenna 701-1 and a receive antenna 701-2), the method comprising:
de-mapping, by a receiving node, symbols of at least one antenna port of the receiving node (Nakamura – Fig. 7; Paragraph [0046], note the output of the signal receiving unit 702-1 and the signal receiving unit 702-2 are input to a resource element demapping unit 703-1 and a resource element demapping unit 703-2);
selecting, by the receiving node, resource elements based on a precoding information received from the transmitting node (Nakamura – Fig. 7; Paragraph [0046], note in the resource element demapping units 703-1 and 703-2, the resource elements used for communication with the terminal apparatus 102-A are extracted by the scheduling information input from a scheduling unit notified by a transmission scheme acquisition unit 710); and
performing, by the receiving node, inverse-transform-precoding of the precoded symbols to obtain a set of modulation symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 7; Paragraph [0046], note for signals received at the receive antenna, in a signal receiving unit 702-1 and a signal receiving unit 702-2, a down-conversion, A/D conversion, CP removal, FFT application, or the like is performed, in the IDFT unit 705-1 and the IDFT unit 705-2, whether IDFT is applied or not is determined by information related to the transmission scheme notified by the transmission scheme acquisition unit 710).
Nakamura does not teach selecting, by the receiving node, the precoded symbols based on a precoding information received from the transmitting node.
In an analogous art, Fujii teaches selecting, by the receiving node, the precoded symbols (Fujii – Paragraph [0079], note the wireless reception device 30 filters each of the obtained RF signals into a predetermined band for each reception path, and converts a base band signal by amplifying and frequency converting the filtered signal, the wireless reception device 30 demodulates the base band signal and obtains transmission data transmitted from the wireless transmission device 10a to the wireless reception device 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fujii into Nakamura in order for the base station to filter particular signals during reception for demodulation and utilize non-linear precoding, reducing power required for data transmission (Fujii – Paragraphs [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii, specifically Nakamura teaches wherein a Cyclic Prefix (CP) is removed and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) is performed, after reception of the precoded symbols and the non-precoded symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 7; Paragraph [0046], note for signals received at the receive antenna, in a signal receiving unit 702-1 and a signal receiving unit 702-2, a down-conversion, A/D conversion, CP removal, FFT application, or the like is performed, in a case of demodulation of the terminal apparatus 102-B, FFT is performed depending of the number of IFFT points used by the transmitter of the terminal apparatus 102-B).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura teaches a system for processing a bit stream for transmission over a wireless communication network (Nakamura – Fig. 1; Paragraph [0032], note configuration of a radio communication system, the system includes a base station apparatus 101, a terminal apparatus 102-A, and a terminal apparatus 102-B), the system comprising:
a processor (Nakamura – Paragraph [0054], note Central Processing Unit (CPU); Paragraph [0057], note an electric circuit designed to perform the functions described in the present specification may include a general-purpose processor, a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), etc.); and
a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor (Nakamura – Paragraph [0054], note a program running on an apparatus according to one aspect of the present invention may serve as a program that controls a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and the like to cause a computer to operate in such a manner as to realize the functions of the above-described embodiment according to one aspect of the present invention), causes the processor to:
map a bit stream to obtain at least one modulation symbol (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0033], note transmitter of the terminal apparatuses 102-A and 102-B; Paragraph [0034], note the data of the terminal apparatus 102-A is coded at a coding unit 200-1 and a coding unit 200-2, the coded bit sequence (codeword) obtained by coding the data of the terminal apparatus 102-A is input to a scrambling unit 201-1 and a scrambling unit 201-2, the outputs of the scrambling unit 201-1 to 201-2 are input to modulation units 202-1 to 202-2, respectively, in the modulation units 202-1 to 202-2, processing is performed to convert the input bit sequence to a modulation symbol (QPSK modulation symbol, QAM modulation symbol) such as QPSK or 64QAM);
select a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0035], note the outputs of the modulation units 202-1 to 202-2 are input to a layer mapping unit 203, in the layer mapping unit 203, in a case that the terminal apparatus 102-A performs transmission using multiple layers, a process is applied in which one or multiple codewords are allocated to each layer); and
perform the transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols to obtain precoded symbols for modulation and transmission (Nakamura – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2, transform by Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) is performed on the modulation symbol sequence input from the layer mapping unit 203, the outputs of the transform precoding units 204-1 and 204-2 are input to a precoding unit 205; Paragraph [0037], note in the precoding unit 205, precoding is performed to transmit each layer from multiple antenna ports).
Nakamura does not teach selecting a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol based on at least one predefined precoding criteria, for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols, wherein the at least one predefined precoding criteria is obtained by selecting the set of modulated symbols based on at least one of a modulation order, a physical channel, a physical signal and one of an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol index, slot index, sub frame index, and frame index within a time window.
In an analogous art, Fujii teaches selecting a set of modulation symbols from the at least one modulation symbol based on at least one predefined precoding criteria, for enabling transform-precoding of the set of modulation symbols, wherein the at least one predefined precoding criteria is obtained by selecting the set of modulated symbols based on at least one of a modulation order, a physical channel, a physical signal and one of an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol index, slot index, sub frame index, and frame index within a time window (Fujii – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0057], note wireless transmission device 10a; Paragraph [0075], note the mapping unit 82 obtains the coded transmission data from the channel coding unit 81 and maps each bit among the obtained coded transmission data to a modulation symbol based on the modulation order notified from the MCS selecting unit 85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fujii into Nakamura in order for the terminal device to utilize non-linear precoding and select a modulation symbol to map to coded transmission data based on notified modulation order, reducing power required for data transmission (Fujii – Paragraphs [0009]-[0011]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Fujii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2014/0286255 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nam.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nakamura and Fujii does not teach wherein the at least one precoded and non-precoded symbols are mapped to virtual resource elements of each antenna port of the transmitting node, and wherein the virtual resource elements of each antenna port are mapped to physical resource blocks for transmission of the at least one precoded and non-precoded symbols.
In an analogous art, Nam teaches wherein the at least one precoded and non-precoded symbols are mapped to virtual resource elements of each antenna port of the transmitting node (Nam – Paragraph [0085], note the PUSCH data modulation symbols are first mapped to the same number of virtual subcarriers as the scheduled number of subcarriers, the resource indexed by a virtual subcarrier and an OFDM symbol is called virtual resource element (vRE)), and
wherein the virtual resource elements of each antenna port are mapped to physical resource blocks for transmission of the at least one precoded and non-precoded symbols (Nam – Paragraph [0085], note UE is scheduled to transmit in NPRB PRB pairs, the UE shall apply transform precoding (i.e., DFT precoding) to transform the data into the frequency domain and map the transformed data symbols on the NPRB subcarriers; Paragraph [0135], note UE first maps a modulation symbol stream to NPRB virtual REs in each subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nam into the combination of Nakamura and Fujii in order to utilize reduced DMRS overhead for PUSCH transmissions, improving uplink throughput (Nam – Paragraph [0117] and [0135]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 9,369,899 B2) discloses a DFT unit as a transform precoder, and selecting DFT-s-OFDM as an LTE-advanced uplink access method.
Qian et al. (US 2020/0214044 A1) discloses applying OFDM or DFT-s-OFDM waveform based on whether or not transform precoding is enabled.
Hong et al. (US 2020/0245272 A1) discloses a BS determining whether a UE should use CP-OFDM or DFT-s-OFDM through an RRC parameter.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461