Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the filing of the application on 05/10/2024. Since the initial filing, claim 4 has been amended; no claims have been added or canceled. Thus claims 1-4 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 reads “the sectional area” and should be corrected to --a sectional area--
Claim 2 reads “the narrow portion is changed by using an external force.” This limitations should read --the narrow portion is configured to be changed by using an external force-- to avoid any possible interpretation that claim 2 is directed to a method of using a device instead of the device itself.
Claim 3 reads “sectional areas” and should be corrected to --a sectional area”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (WO 2016067170 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses an oral cavity washing device (oral irrigator device 10, FIG 1A) comprising:
a device body (handle portion 12, FIG 1A) comprising a pump (delivery mechanism 20, FIG 1B) that discharges a washing liquid ([0049] “The oral irrigator device 10 in operation produces successive bursts of a liquid/air mixture”); and
a nozzle (nozzle 16, FIG 1A) that is provided in the device body (Fig 1B shows the nozzle 16 extending down wards into the handle 12) and discharges the washing liquid discharged by the pump to an outside (FIG 1B shows the pump system and the liquid reservoir and FIG 9-11 show the liquid being displaced via the pump to an outside),
wherein
the nozzle comprises a narrow portion (see FIG 7A and 8A) in such a manner that the sectional area (see FIG 7A and 8A) thereof is set to be smaller than that of another portion of the nozzle (As seen in FIG 7A and 8A, the inner portion of the tip of the nozzle is tapered and a section of the top part of the narrow portion is smaller than a section of the bottom portion of the narrow portion), and that the sectional area thereof is variable (The variable portion that is set within the narrow portion of the nozzle allows the sectional area to become smaller or bigger depending on the location of the variable portion, the sectional area is then therefore variable. The “sectional area” is considered the amount of open space found within a given cross section of the nozzle (i.e. diameter of the interior channel of the nozzle minus the space taken up by the variable portion)).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the sectional area of the narrow portion is changed by using an external force. [0060] “a rotation of band 92 (for example, in a clockwise direction), channel 32 is configured to be squeezed, narrowing its diameter. A rotation of band 92 in the opposite direction releases the pressure on channel 32, and the diameter of channel 32 is configured to become comparably larger.” As iterated by Chang in [0060], the device contains a band 92 that when turned by a user exerts a force upon the tip which in turn narrows the diameter (i.e. the narrow portion) to create a more intense flow of the washing liquid for the user. The user can then turn the band in the opposite direction and expand the diameter of the tip which then gives the user a less intense flow of the washing liquid.
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the narrow portion comprises a variable portion (flow regulator component 98, see FIG 7A and 8A) that varies the sectional area from outside the nozzle (The flow regulator component 98 is controlled using a band 92, [0061] FIG 4. The band moves the flow regulator component forward and backwards and increasing/decreasing the diameter of the nozzle within the tip of the nozzle. The band 92 sits upon the outer section of the nozzle; thus, the sectional area within the nozzle tip is variable from outside of the nozzle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (WO 2016067170 A1) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20210050698 A).
Regarding claim 3, An oral cavity washing device (oral irrigator device 10, FIG 1A) comprising:
a device body (handle portion 12, FIG 1A) comprising a pump (delivery mechanism 20, FIG 1B) that discharges a washing liquid ([0049] “The oral irrigator device 10 in operation produces successive bursts of a liquid/air mixture”); and
a nozzle (nozzle 16, FIG 1A) that is provided in the device body (Fig 1B shows the nozzle 16 extending down wards into the handle 12) and discharges the washing liquid discharged by the pump to an outside (FIG 1B shows the pump system and the liquid reservoir and FIG 9-11 show the liquid being displaces via the pump to an outside),
Chang is silent on wherein
the nozzle is divided into two divided nozzles,
a selector is disposed between the two divided nozzles,
the selector comprises a plurality of communication holes,
sectional areas of the plurality of communication holes are different from each other, and
the selector is configured in such a manner that one communication hole selected from the plurality of communication holes communicates with the two divided nozzles.
However, Choi teaches of a flow control piping system that utilizes a control disk allowing the flow rate of the water to be adjusted by rotating the disk to a different hole with a diameter. Choi shows a nozzle (pipe 10, FIGS 5a-5b) is divided into two divided nozzles (pipes 10 and 10’, FIGS 5a-5b),
a selector (central disk 30, FIGS 3-4) is disposed between the two divided nozzles,
the selector comprises a plurality of communication holes (orifices 301, 302, 303, and 304, FIGS 3-4),
sectional areas (orifice diameter, FIG 4) of the plurality of communication holes are different from each other ([0022] “The multi-flow control disk 30 according to the embodiment of the present invention may have four orifices 301, 302, 303, and 304 having different diameters”, FIGS 3-4), and
the selector is configured in such a manner that one communication hole selected from the plurality of communication holes communicates with the two divided nozzles (Taught in [0027] the control disk is able to be rotated upon its central axis 32 without disconnecting the pipes from each other. The control disk is able to be rotated as to allow the orifices to change; i.e. the user can turn the control disk to switch from orifice 301 to orifice 302/303/304; thus, allowing the flow rate of the liquid to change due to the change of diameter of the orifices, FIGS 7a-7d).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date to modify the device of Chang to include the control disk taught by Choi. Instead of a squeeze device base 30 on the nozzle, the modification would replace the base 30 with the control disk taught by Choi. This combination would allow for the simple and steady transition from different velocities for the mouth washing liquid. As the velocity of the washing liquid is seen as the main contributor of getting rid of plaque and food build up, this combination would allow the user to hold a steady and consistent velocity instead of having to physically squeeze the nozzle. This would also allow the device to be easy to clean and utilize by the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Combs (US 20110226865 A1) teaches of an adjustable nozzle upon an oral washing device. The nozzle contains a passageway that can change in diameter as to allow the velocity of the washing fluid to increase or decrease as the user wishes.
Balakrishnan (WO 2021032573 A1) teaches of an oral cleaning device with an adjustable mechanism. The inner cavity of the washing device contains a cylinder with multiple different inlet ports of different sizes as to allow the user to adjust the velocity of the fluid in the device.
/DANIELLE B RESTAINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785