DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the claim amendments and arguments filed 13 July 2026. Claims 13-24 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, forth paragraph, as being improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 18 depends upon method claim 13 which has been amended to include the limitation of claim 18, i.e., “wherein the composition exhibits a fuel economy improvement (FEI) of at least about 1%”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UEDA et al (US 2020/0224118).
Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As previously set forth, UEDA et al. [“UEDA”] disclose a lubricating oil composition for internal combustion engines [0008] containing a base oil composition containing a GTL base oil as a main component [0009], and a comb-like polymethacrylate based viscosity index improver [0010]. UEDA teaches that the lubricating oil composition may have SAE viscosity grade of 0W-20 or 5W-20 and a viscosity index of 180 or more [0012]. UEDA teaches that the PSSI (permanent shear stability index) of the comb-like polymethacrylate based viscosity index improver is preferably 10 or less [0044].
The lubricating oil composition for an internal combustion engine of independent claim 13 differs by further containing component b), an alkaline earth metal sulfonate detergent providing 1200-2200 ppm of metal to the lubricating oil composition. However, UEDA allows for the addition of other components to the lubricating oil composition including detergents [0054] such as alkaline earth metal sulfonates [0057] wherein examples of the alkaline earth metals include calcium and magnesium [0058]. UEDA teaches that the content of metallic detergent, singly or in combination, is preferably from 0.05 to 0.3 mass % (500 to 3000 ppm), more preferably from 0.1 to 0.2 mass % (1000-2000 ppm) in terms of the metal amount based on the total mass of the lubricating oil composition [0082]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Although UEDA allows for the addition of other components to the lubricating oil composition [0054], UEDA does not teach the addition of friction modifiers. Thus, the examiner is of the position that UEDA discloses lubricating oil compositions which meet the limitations of the claimed lubricating oil compositions, and method for improving fuel economy in an internal combustion engine comprising the step of lubricating said engine with the lubricating oil compositions, when the composition is a 0W-20 SAE viscosity grade.
Response to Arguments
In response applicant amended independent claim 13 to include “wherein the lubricating oil composition exhibits a fuel economy improvement (FEI) of at least about 1%”. Applicant argued that the amendment is not taught or suggested by UEDA. This is not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant did not point to where in the specification is there support for the amendment to claim 13, and applicant did not argue any line of reasoning why the amendment to claim 13 rebuts the rejection over UEDA.
The examples set forth in Table 1 demonstrate that the claimed comb polymethacrylate (PMA) and a sulfonate detergent [Example 1] results in better fuel economy compared to a linear dispersant polymethacrylate (PMA) [Comp. Ex. 1] or an olefin copolymer (OCP) viscosity modifier [Comp. Ex. 2] and a sulfonate detergent. However, the claimed comb polymethacrylate (PMA) and a sulfonate detergent [Example 2] results in worse fuel economy compared to a linear dispersant polymethacrylate (PMA) [Comp. Ex. 1] or an olefin copolymer (OCP) viscosity modifier [Comp. Ex. 2] and a sulfonate detergent. Further, comparative examples 3-5 resulted in better fuel economy that inventive Example 2.
Thus, the examiner is of the position that the amendment to claim 13 does not patentably distinguish the claims over UEDA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DESAI et al. (US 2023/0287292).
Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As previously set forth, DESAI et al. [“DESAI”] disclose an engine oil composition including 70 to 95% by weight of a base oil [0014] and 0.01 to 15 % by weight of a dispersant comb polymer [0015], wherein the engine oil composition has an SAE viscosity grade of 0W-X wherein X is 30 or less [0023]. Suitably, DESAI teaches that X may be 30, 20, 12, 8 or 4 [0067].
DESAI teaches that the present invention further provides the use of such as engine oil composition in the crankcase of an engine in order to improve fuel economy and viscosity properties [0025].
DESAI teaches that the engine oil composition comprises at least am antioxidant additive, an antiwear additive and a detergent additive [0046], and may further comprise additional additives such as friction modifiers [0046], but friction modifiers are not a required component in the engine oil composition. The additive packages used in the Examples do not contain friction modifiers, and do contain an antiwear additive, a detergent, a dispersant and an antioxidant.
DESAI teaches that the detergent additive is suitably a metal containing detergent that contains calcium and/or magnesium as an alkaline earth metal [0047]. DESAI teaches that the detergent may be a sulfonate [0048], and that the content of the metal-containing detergent is preferably from 0.05 to 20 wt.%, in terms of alkaline earth metal content relative the overall quantity of the engine oil composition [0047]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Table 1 sets forth Baseline 1 which contains Viscoplex® 3-201 which is a comb-shaped polymethacrylate viscosity modifier.
Thus, the examiner is of the position that DESAI discloses engine oil compositions which meet the limitations of the claimed lubricating oil compositions, and method for improving fuel economy in an internal combustion engine comprising the step of lubricating said engine with the lubricating oil compositions, when the compositions are a 0W-8, 0W-12 SAE viscosity grade.
Response to Arguments
In response applicant amended independent claim 13 to include “wherein the lubricating oil composition exhibits a fuel economy improvement (FEI) of at least about 1%”. Applicant argued that the amendment is not taught or suggested by DESAI. This is not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant did not point to where in the specification is there support for the amendment to claim 13, and applicant did not argue any line of reasoning why the amendment to claim 13 rebuts the rejection over UEDA.
The examples set forth in Table 1 demonstrate that the claimed comb polymethacrylate (PMA) and a sulfonate detergent [Example 1] results in better fuel economy compared to a linear dispersant polymethacrylate (PMA) [Comp. Ex. 1] or an olefin copolymer (OCP) viscosity modifier [Comp. Ex. 2] and a sulfonate detergent. However, the claimed comb polymethacrylate (PMA) and a sulfonate detergent [Example 2] results in worse fuel economy compared to a linear dispersant polymethacrylate (PMA) [Comp. Ex. 1] or an olefin copolymer (OCP) viscosity modifier [Comp. Ex. 2] and a sulfonate detergent. Further, comparative examples 3-5 resulted in better fuel economy that inventive Example 2.
Thus, the examiner is of the position that the amendment to claim 13 does not patentably distinguish the claims over DESAI.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
July 27, 2026