DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 161-167), (A-C) alpha-S1, beta, and kappa caseins (i.e., three caseins) as well as FAM20C kinase corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 33 (i.e., one kinase), in the reply filed on 16July2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups and species share a special technical feature. In particular, Applicant asserts that (page 3 of the Remarks filed 16July2026):
This is not found persuasive because, to the extent the “phosphorylation” and “micellar structure” features of these claims are clear (see the indefiniteness rejection herein), they appear to be inherent to the recited caseins and FAM20C kinase (see the prior art rejections herein) and, in that way, also taught by the prior art (= if a technical feature at all, do not constitute a special technical feature).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 153-160, 168-172 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group of invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 16July2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Status of the Claims
The Claims filed 17December2024 are acknowledged. Claims 1-152 were canceled. Claims 153-172 are new and pending. Claims 153-160, 168-172 are withdrawn. Claims 161-167 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) [US provisional 63281069 filed 18November2021] and 35 U.S.C. 365(c) [national stage entry of PCT/US2022/080041 filed 17November2022] is acknowledged. Claims 161-167 appear to have an effective filing date of 18November2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 167 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the abbreviation “ER”. To ensure clarity, please write the terms in long form and provide the abbreviation within the claim as a parenthetical, as in: “… and an Endoplasmic Reticulum (ER) retention signal.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 161-167 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims refer to caseins and kinase as being “bovine” caseins or “bovine” kinase. It is not clear what the use of “bovine” within these claims means or how it limits the claimed plant structures. For example, does “bovine” mean that the casein or kinase is isolated from a bovine mammal? What if the sequence is artificially generated and is 100% identical to a sequence that is otherwise present within a bovine mammal—would that synthetic sequence be encompassed by these claims? Similarly, what if the sequence originates from a non-bovine mammal but, nonetheless, has 100% sequence identity to a sequence that is otherwise present within a bovine mammal—would that sequence be encompassed by these claims?
Applicant may wish to consider adding a specific sequence structure (i.e., a SEQ ID NO) to these claims in place of the “bovine” concept (e.g., “… wherein the first plasmid comprises a recombinant [[bovine]] FAM20C kinase polynucleotide sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 33 ….” In that way, and because these are product claims, the claimed plant is very clearly defined by structure and the origin of the sequence(s) would no longer be relevant because a third party’s sequence (in this example, a third party’s FAM20C sequence) either meets the claimed structural features (= is within the claim scope) or it does not (= is not within the claim scope).
Claims 161-167 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims purport to be product claims (directed toward plants), but at numerous points recite active method steps: for example, at claim 161 it is said that the “kinase phosphorylates the one or more recombinant caseins” and that the “caseins form micellar structures within protein storage vacuoles of the plant”. Claim 162 recites the micellar structures forming “when” the caseins are “in the presence of” the kinase. Does phosphorylation have to have occurred, and micellar structures be present within vacuoles, for a plant to fall within claim 161? It is confusing to define the claimed products (plants) in this way.
To illustrate the problem, would a third party’s plant (which comprises the first and second plasmid as described in claim 161) be encompassed by claims 161-167 if expression has not yet occurred and/or phosphorylation has not yet occurred? i.e., as currently written, time appears to be a limitation in these claims because it requires time for plasmid expression to occur, and then time for the kinase to phosphorylate the caseins, and then time for micellar structures to form, and the time for the resulting caseins to accumulate (claims 165-166). To that end, and as demonstrated by the given example, the claims as currently written are indefinite because one cannot easily determine what falls within, and outside of, the claims.
Applicant should please amend these claims so that they recite structural elements only (i.e., either remove the references to phosphorylation and micellar structure formation or turn them into structural features such as via at claim 162 “… wherein the plant comprises micellar structureswithin protein storage vacuoles” or at claim 165 “… wherein the plant has increased aggregation of bovine alpha S1 casein and bovine beta casein as compared to a plant that does not express the recombinant kinase”). ← Please note, for completeness, that turning the method steps into structural elements would not necessarily overcome the prior art (see below) and may still be considered a recitation of an inherent feature (see prior art rejections below). The suggestions provided by the Office here are specific to this rejection and may not be remedial of all objections or rejections in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 &/or 103
Claims 161-166 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2022/072718 (LANQUAR et al. published 07April2022 with priority claim to 30September2020) and UniProtKB Accession No. F1MXQ3 (entitled “FAM20C golgi associated secretory pathway kinase” version 52 dated 10February2021, 2 total pages; available at rest.uniprot.org/unisave/F1MXQ3?format=txt&versions=52).
As an initial matter, because there are several relevant publications by first-named-inventor LANQUAR, the publications will be referenced by their publication number when possible (as in the case of published patent applications such as here—note that US12139737, also a LANQUAR publication, was cited in the Restriction Requirement dated 19May2026).
Claims 161-166, as elected, are generally directed toward any plant having been transformed with an alpha-S1 casein, a beta casein, a kappa casein, and a kinase (specifically, a FAM20 kinase and, more specifically, a FAM20C kinase). While not clear (see the indefiniteness rejection hereinabove), the caseins and kinase may have been obtained from (i.e., isolated from) a bovine mammal. The caseins and kinase may be introduced on the same plasmid or via two plasmids. It is important to note that these are product claims and that the “phosphorylated”, “micellar structures”, “increases calcium ion bonding”, “increases aggregation of bovine alpha S1 casein and bovine beta casein”, and “increases expression of bovine kappa casein” bits recited in claims 161-166 are all inherently true of the claimed structures: these caseins are naturally phosphorylated by a kinase (in particular, a FAM20C kinase1), caseins naturally aggregate and bind to calcium-phosphate to form micellar structures2, and co-expression of FAM20C with alpha-S1, beta, and kappa caseins naturally increases the expression levels of those caseins3. To that end, these features of the claims are acknowledged, but absent evidence to the contrary, are inherent functional effects which flow from the structures recited in claim 161.
WO2022/072718 teaches introducing into a soybean plant, a first construct encoding an alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-casein (all isolated from a bovine mammal) as well as a second construct encoding an FAM20C kinase (isolated from a bovine mammal)4. [claims 161-166] WO2022/072718 summarize that co-expression of the alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-caseins with the FAM20C kinase caused increased expression of each of the caseins (as compared to expression of the casein alone, i.e., without the FAM20C). [claims 165-166]
While the Office believes that WO2022/072718 anticipates these claims, the reason this rejection is written in the alternative is because of the recitation of “bovine” throughout these claims (and the extent to which the claimed caseins and kinase need to originate from a bovine mammal). To that end, WO2022/072718 teach the caseins being “isolated or derived from” a bovine mammal (such as Bos taurus)5, but the origin of FAM20C kinase is not discussed in that manner (the FAM20C is instead referred to using SEQ ID NOs: 820 and 8216). Nonetheless, based on a search of publicly available amino acid sequences via NCBI’s BLAST, SEQ ID NOs: 820 and 821 of WO2022/072718 appear to be bovine FAM20C sequences (bison/Bison bison and Wild yak/Bos mutus, respectively):
Therefore, it is believed that WO2022/072718 anticipates these claims. However, should it be determined that WO2022/072718 does not teach every element of these claims, such as a FAM20C obtained from a bovine mammal, it is believed that a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed (a “POSA”) would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed subject matter using known modifications of Example 8 of WO2022/072718. For example, it would have been obvious to a POSA to use a bovine FAM20C sequence in the constructs of WO2022/072718, such as the publicly available bovine FAM20C sequence published as UniProtKB Accession No. F1MXQ3, because WO2022/072718 used, and suggested the use of, bovine coding sequences.
Please note that the sequence published as UniProtKB Accession No. F1MXQ3 has 100% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence encoded by this application’s SEQ ID NO: 33.7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 167 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/072718 (LANQUAR et al. published 07April2022 with priority claim to 30September2020), UniProtKB Accession No. F1MXQ3 (entitled “FAM20C golgi associated secretory pathway kinase” version 52 dated 10February2021, 2 total pages; available at rest.uniprot.org/unisave/F1MXQ3?format=txt&versions=52), and ZHANG et al. (“Structure and evolution of the Fam20 Kinases” 2018 Nature Communications 9:1218 (12 total pages, DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-03615-z).
As an initial matter, because there are several relevant publications by first-named-inventor LANQUAR, the publications will be referenced by their publication number when possible (as in the case of published patent applications such as here—note that US12139737, also a LANQUAR publication, was cited in the Restriction Requirement dated 19May2026).
Claims 161-166 (as elected) are anticipated by WO2022/072718, or alternatively obvious over WO2022/072718 and UniProtKB Accession No. F1MXQ3, for the reasons stated above.
Claim 167 adds the requirement that the caseins and kinase are operably linked to a FLAG tag and an Endoplasmic Reticulum (ER) retention signal.
RE ER retention signals: WO2022/072718 teach the use of an endoplasmic reticulum (ER) retention signal such as “KDEL”8 and specifically suggest fusing an ER retention signal to a casein sequence9. WO2022/072718 does not specifically suggest using an ER retention signal for FAM20C expression.
ZHANG et al. evidences that, before the filing of this application, it was known that the FAM20C kinase (which phosphorylates caseins) is localized to the endoplasmic reticulum (within eukaryotic cells).10
RE FLAG tags: While WO2022/072718 teaches isolation or purification of proteins11 for use in, for example, compositions (such as food compositions)12, WO2022/072718 does not specifically suggest using a FLAG tag to do such isolation or purification.
ZHANG et al. demonstrates that the use of a FLAG tag was known in the art before the filing of this application and, in that case, demonstrates its use for FAM20C isolation/purification.13
Absent evidence to the contrary, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed (a “POSA”) to modify the teachings of WO2022/072718 by attaching an ER retention signal to the caseins (taught by WO2022/072718) and FAM20C at least because WO2022/072718 teaches an ER retention signal on caseins and ZHANG et al. evidences that it was known that the FAM20C kinase (which phosphorylates such caseins) is innately localized to the ER. A POSA would want to express these proteins (caseins and FAM20C kinase) in a eukaryotic cell (e.g., soybean cell) environment favorable to expression and phosphorylation (i.e., the ER). Further, it would have been obvious to a POSA that the known FLAG tag may be utilized to isolate/purify the caseins and FAM20C (to, for example, generate a food composition) because WO2022/072718 suggests isolation/purification and at least ZHANG et al. demonstrates use of FLAG tags for isolation/purification. [claim 167]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description
Claims 161-167 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These claims suggest that any kinase may phosphorylate the (elected) alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-caseins.
As evidenced by at least ZHANG et al.14 (see Fig. 5 on page 7), only FAM20C phosphorylates the alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-caseins.
The specification does not provide evidence contrary to the teachings of ZHANG et al.
Therefore, a skilled artisan at the time this application was filed would not recognize Applicant as being in possession of phosphorylating alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-caseins using any kinase (rather, such an artisan would only recognize Applicant as being able to phosphorylate alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa-caseins using a FAM20C kinase).
An amendment of “kinase” throughout these claims to “FAM20C kinase” would be remedial of this rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 161-166 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12359212 (from Appl. No. 17826021). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
In particular, the present claims (as elected) are directed toward any plant comprising a “bovine” (i.e., non-plant) alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa- casein as well as a “bovine” (i.e., non-plant”) kinase. Claims 1-2 of Applicant’s U.S. Patent No. 12359212 teach a soybean cell (i.e., a plant cell) comprising an alpha-S1-, beta-, and kappa- casein as well as a “non-plant kinase” (which encompasses a “bovine” kinase such as a FAM20C kinase from a bovine mammal). Without evidence to the contrary, there is not a patentable difference between the subject matter of these claims as compared to the subject matter of claims 1-2 of Applicant’s U.S. Patent No. 12359212.
Conclusion
/REBECCA STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/MATTHEW R KEOGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663
1 See WO2022/072718 at Example 8 at ¶517 on page 171.
2 See WO2022/072718 at ¶285 on page 91.
3 See WO2022/072718 at Example 8 at Table 24 on page 172.
4 See WO2022/072718 at Example 8 on pages 171-173.
5 See WO2022/072718 at ¶111 on page 24 as well as ¶¶112, 114, and 115 on pages 25-26.
6 See WO2022/072718 at Example 8 at ¶518 on page 172.
7 See Result 1 of the ABSS sequence search filed entitled “20260512_125303_us-18-709-465-33.rup”.
8 See WO2022/072718 at ¶242 on page 73.
9 See WO2022/072718 at ¶42 on pages 10-11 (describing FIG. 20).
10 See ZHANG et al. at the top left column on page 2.
11 See WO2022/072718 at ¶85 on page 19.
12 WO2022/072718 at pages 106-107.
13 See ZHANG et al. at
14 ZHANG et al. (“Structure and evolution of the Fam20 Kinases” 2018 Nature Communications 9:1218 (12 total pages, DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-03615-z).