DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida (US Publication No.: US 2019/0353880 A1 of record) in view of Hagiwara (US Publication No.: US 2014/0268364 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Machida discloses an optical system (Figure 1) comprising, in order from an object side:
A first lens group having positive refractive power (Figure 1, first lens group G1; Paragraph 0124);
A second lens group having negative refractive power (Figure 1, second lens group G2; Paragraph 0124);
A middle group constituted by one or two lens groups and having positive refractive power (Figure 1, middle group GM2; Paragraph 0124);
A focusing group that is a lens group having negative refractive power and moves in an optical axis direction at focusing (Figure 1, focusing group G4; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0131); and
A rear group constituted by at least one lens group (Figure 1, rear group G5), wherein
Respective distances between adjacent lens groups change at magnification change from a wide-angle state to a telephoto end state (Paragraph 0119; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0133, where Figure 1 discloses lens movement with arrows and sows a wide-angle state (W) and a telephoto end state (T)), and the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
1.00<f1/(-f2)<10.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses f1=145.318, f2=-29.546, so f1/-f2=4.91, which falls within the claimed range),
Where f1: focal length of the first lens group, f2: focal length of the second lens group, Bfaw: back focus (air-conversion length) of the optical system in the wide-angle end state, and fw: overall focal length of the optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Machida fails to disclose that .01<Bfaw/fw<0.45.
However, Hagiwara discloses a similar optical system where .01<Bfaw/fw<0.45 (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0133 discloses Bfaw=17.7 and fw=56.60, so Bfaw/fw=.313).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical system as disclosed by Machida to have a particular back focus and wide focal length ratio as disclosed by Hagiwara. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a quiet and quick focusing function with reduced size (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0129).
Regarding Claim 2, Machida discloses an optical system comprising, in order from an object side:
A first lens group having positive refractive power (Figure 1, first lens group G1; Paragraph 0124);
A second lens group having negative refractive power (Figure 1, second lens group G2; Paragraph 0124);
A middle group constituted by one or two lens groups and having positive refractive power (Figure 1, middle group G3; Paragraph 0124);
A focusing group that is a lens group having negative refractive power and moves in an optical axis direction at focusing (Figure 1, focusing group G4; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0131); and
A rear group constituted by at least one lens group (Figure 1, rear group G5), wherein
Respective distances between adjacent lens groups change at magnification change from a wide-angle state to a telephoto end state (Paragraph 0119; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0133, where Figure 1 discloses lens movement with arrows and sows a wide-angle state (W) and a telephoto end state (T)), and the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<|fMRw/fMw|<5.00 (Table 1, under lens group data, discloses fMRw=115.773 and fMw=38.298, so |fMRw/fMw|=3.02, which falls within the claimed range)
Where fMRw: combined focal length of lens group disposed on an image side of the middle group in the wide-angle end state, fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 3, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<|fMRw/fMw|<5.00 (Table 1, under lens group data, discloses fMRw=115.773 and fMw=38.298, so |fMRw/fMw|=3.02, which falls within the claimed range), wherein
fMRw: combined focal length of lens group disposed on an image side of the middle group in the wide-angle end state, fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 4, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.01<TLt/ft<1.50 (Table 1, under various data, discloses TLt=245.82 and ft=292.0, so TLt/ft=.84, which falls within the claimed range); where TLt: total length of the optical system in the telephoto end state, and ft: overall focal length of the optical system in the telephoto end state.
Regarding Claim 5, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 2, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
1.00<f1/(-f2)<10.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses f1=145.318, f2=-29.546, so f1/-f2=4.91, which falls within the claimed range), where f1: focal length of the first lens group, f2: focal length of the second lens group.
Regarding Claim 6, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 2, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: .01<Bfaw/fw<0.55 (Table 1, under various data, discloses BFaw=39.12, fw=72.1, so BFaw/fw=.54, which falls within the claimed range); where Bfaw: back focus (air-conversion length) of the optical system in the wide-angle end state, and fw: overall focal length of the optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 7, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.50<fMw/(-f2)<3.99 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses f2=-29.546 and fMw=38.298, so fMw/(-f2)=1.29, which falls within the claimed range), wherein f2: focal length of the second lens group, fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide angle end state.
Regarding Claim 8, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.50<(-fF)/fMw<4.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses fMw=38.298 and -fF=48.034, so (-fF)/fMw =1.25, which falls within the claimed range), wherein fF: focal length of the focusing group, and fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angel end state.
Regarding Claim 9, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<fMw/fRw|<1.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses fMw=38.298 and fRw=324.470, so |fMw/fRw| =0.11, which falls within the claimed range), where fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angel end state, and fRw: focal length of the rear group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 10, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<|fF/fRw|<1.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses fF=-48.034 and fRw=324.470, so |fMw/fRw| =0.15, which falls within the claimed range) where fF:focal length of the focusing group, and fRw: focal length of the rear group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 11, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<|f2/fRw|<1.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses f2=-29.546 and fRw=324.470, so |f2/fRw| =0.09, which falls within the claimed range), wherein f2:focal length of the second lens group, and fRw: focal length of the rear group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 12, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
.01<βFt/βFw<2.00 (Table 1 discloses βFt/βFw =1, which falls within the claimed range), where βFt: lateral magnification of the focusing group in the telephoto end state, and βFw: lateral magnification of the focusing group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 13, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
.01<βRt/βRw<2.00 (Table 1 discloses βRt/βRw =1, which falls within the claimed range), where βRt: lateral magnification of the rear group in the telephoto end state, and βRw: lateral magnification of the rear group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding Claim 14, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein at least part of the middle group is an antivibration group that moves with a movement component in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (Paragraphs 0132-0133).
Regarding Claim 15, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 14, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<fMw/fVR<1.50 (Table 1 and Paragraph 0133 discloses fMw=38.298, and fVR=72.1, so fMw/fVR=.53, which falls within the claimed range), wherein fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angle end state, and fVR: focal length of the antivibration group.
Regarding Claim 16, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 14, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.01<|fVR/fF|<2.00 (Table 1 and Paragraph 0133 discloses fF=-48.034 and fVR=72.1, so |fVR/fF|=1.50, which falls within the claimed range), wherein fVR: focal length of the antivibration group and fF:focal length of the focusing group).
Regarding Claim 17, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 14, wherein the antivibration group is disposed between a lens component disposed closest to the object side and a lens component closest to an image side in the middle group (Figure 1, antivibration group L31 and L32 are disposed between L11 and L33).
Regarding Claim 18, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 14, wherein the antivibration group is constituted by one cemented lens (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0132-0133).
Regarding Claim 20, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the rear group has negative refractive power (Figure 1; Paragraph 0124).
Regarding Claim 21, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, wherein the first lens group includes a lens that satisfies the following conditional expression: vd1>75.00, where vd1: Abbe number of a medium of the lens at a d line (Table 1, under lens data, discloses a lens having an Abbe number of 81.61, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 22, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses an optical apparatus (Paragraph 0111) including the optical system according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 23, Machida discloses a method for manufacturing an optical system including, in order from an object side,
A first lens group having positive refractive power (Figure 1, first lens group G1; Paragraph 0124);
A second lens group having negative refractive power (Figure 1, second lens group G2; Paragraph 0124);
A middle group constituted by one or two lens groups and having positive refractive power (Figure 1, middle group G3; Paragraph 0124);
A focusing group that is a lens group having negative refractive power and moves in an optical axis direction at focusing (Figure 1, focusing group G4; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0131); and
A rear group constituted by at least one lens group (Figure 1, rear group G5), the method comprising:
Disposing the lens group so that respective distances between adjacent lens groups change at magnification change from a wide-angle state to a telephoto end state (Paragraph 0119; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0133, where Figure 1 discloses lens movement with arrows and sows a wide-angle state (W) and a telephoto end state (T)),
The method further comprising one of feature (A), (B), or (C), where
The feature (A) includes satisfying the following conditional expressions:
1.00<f1/(-f2)<10.00 (Table 1, under lens group date, discloses f1=145.318, f2=-29.546, so f1/-f2=4.91, which falls within the claimed range),
Where f1: focal length of the first lens group, f2: focal length of the second lens group, Bfaw: back focus (air-conversion length) of the optical system in the wide-angle end state, and fw: overall focal length of the optical system in the wide-angle end state.
The feature (B) includes satisfying the following conditional expressions:
0.01<|fMRw/fMw|<1.30, wherein
fMRw: combined focal length of lens group disposed on an image side of the middle group in the wide-angle end state, fMw: focal length of the middle group in the wide-angle end state.
The feature (C) includes satisfying the following conditional expression:
0.01<TLt/ft<.80 (Table 1, under various data, discloses TLt=245.82 and ft=292.0, so TLt/ft=.84, which falls close to the claimed range);
Where TLt: total length of the optical system in the telephoto end state, and ft:overall focal length of the optical system in the telephoto end state.
Machida fails to disclose that .01<Bfaw/fw<0.45 and 0.01<TLt/ft<.80.
However, Hagiwara discloses a similar optical system where .01<Bfaw/fw<0.45 (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0133 discloses Bfaw=17.7 and fw=56.60, so Bfaw/fw=.313) and 0.01<TLt/ft<.80 (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0133 discloses TLt=144.77 and ft=195.00, so TLt/ft=.742, which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical system as disclosed by Machida to have a particular back focus and wide focal length ratio as disclosed by Hagiwara. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a quiet and quick focusing function with reduced size (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0129).
Regarding Claim 24, Machida discloses an optical system (Figure 1) comprising, in order from an object side:
A first lens group having positive refractive power (Figure 1, first lens group G1; Paragraph 0124);
A second lens group having negative refractive power (Figure 1, second lens group G2; Paragraph 0124);
A middle group constituted by one or two lens groups and having positive refractive power (Figure 1, middle group GM2; Paragraph 0124);
A focusing group that is a lens group having negative refractive power and moves in an optical axis direction at focusing (Figure 1, focusing group G4; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0131); and
A rear group constituted by at least one lens group (Figure 1, rear group G5), wherein
Respective distances between adjacent lens groups change at magnification change from a wide-angle state to a telephoto end state (Paragraph 0119; Paragraph 0124; Paragraph 0133, where Figure 1 discloses lens movement with arrows and sows a wide-angle state (W) and a telephoto end state (T)), Machida fails to disclose that the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
0.01<TLt/ft<.80
Where TLt: total length of the optical system in the telephoto end state, and ft:overall focal length of the optical system in the telephoto end state.
However, Hagiwara discloses a similar optical system where 0.01<TLt/ft<.80 (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0133 discloses TLt=144.77 and ft=195.00, so TLt/ft=.742, which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical system as disclosed by Machida to have particular parameters related to the optical system as disclosed by Hagiwara. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a quiet and quick focusing function with reduced size (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0129).
Regarding Claim 25, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 24.
Machida fails to disclose that the following conditional expression is satisfied: 1.00<f1/(-f2)<10.00, where f1:focal length of the first lens group, and f2: focal length of the second lens group.
However, Hagiwara discloses a similar optical system where 1.00<f1/(-f2)<10.00 (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0133, f1=93.52, -f2=21.9, so f1/(-f2)=4.27, which falls within the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical system as disclosed by Machida to have particular parameters related to the optical system as disclosed by Hagiwara. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a quiet and quick focusing function with reduced size (Hagiwara, Paragraph 0129).
Regarding Claim 26, Machida in view of Hagiwara discloses the optical system according to claim 24, wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
.01<Bfaw/fw<0.55 (Table 1, under various data, discloses BFaw=39.12, fw=72.1, so BFaw/fw=.54, which falls within the claimed range);
Where f1: focal length of the first lens group, f2: focal length of the second lens group, Bfaw: back focus (air-conversion length) of the optical system in the wide-angle end state, and fw: overall focal length of the optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871