DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show clear lines toward each element. Additionally, drawings are blurry and fail to show structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN110507405A) herein referred to as “Yang ‘405” in view of Yang et al (CN110251224B) herein referred to as “Yang ‘224”
Regarding claim 1, Yang ‘405 discloses: A cryoablation needle ([Abstract] A cryoablation needle) with an adjustable J-T slot position, ([Abstract] contains an adjusting part) comprising a vacuum wall, (See annotated FIG 1 below where outer tube and inner tube constitutes the vacuum wall) a J-T slot (FIG 9 below; JT groove which is equivalent to a JT slot) and a J-T slot adjusting apparatus, ([page 3: paragraph 4 full; cryoablation needle includes an adjustment component]) wherein the vacuum wall comprises: a needle rod (See annotated FIG 1; Outer tube forms the needle rod) and an inner tube; (See annotated FIG 1 below for labelled inner tube) the needle rod is provided with a needle tip at a distal end; (See annotated FIG 1 below; Needle tip which is located at the distal end) the inner tube penetrates through the needle rod, and a cavity is formed between the inner tube and the needle rod, (See annotated FIG 1 below showing vacuum interlayer, which is equivalent to the cavity) the cavity being capable of forming a vacuum; ([page 6: paragraph 3 under heading “Example 1”] inner and outer layer form a vacuum interlayer, sealing through vacuum welding, along with the movement of the mandrel forms a vacuum) in an axis direction of the vacuum wall, a first preset distance exists between a distal end of the inner tube and the distal end of the needle rod; ([page 3: paragraph 4 under ‘Contents of invention’ starting with “The adjustment component includes”] When the mandrel (11) moves toward the distal end, the distance changes essentially forming a ‘first preset distance’ where the needle rod is in the target area) the distal end of the inner tube is an end of the inner tube close to the needle tip; (See annotated FIG 1 below showing distal end taken as the end close to the needle tip) the J-T slot penetrates through the inner tube; (FIG 9 below showing the J-T slot 241 penetrating through the inner tube) a distal end of the J-T slot is capable of being switched between at least two adjusting positions relative to the vacuum wall, ([page 8: paragraph 5] Forward and backward constitutes at least 2 adjusting positions; [page 3: paragraph 4 under ‘Contents of invention’ starting with “The adjustment component includes”] the adjustment component moves relative to the heat insulation layer which is the vacuum wall, and a mandrel ) the at least two adjusting positions comprising: a first adjusting position and a second adjusting position; ([page 8: paragraph 5] adjustment can be made forward which will be interpreted as the first adjusting position, and backward, which will be interpreted as the second adjusting position; Forward and backward constitutes at least 2 adjusting positions) the distal end of the J-T slot is an end of the J-T slot close to the needle tip; (annotated FIG 9 below showing the distal end of the JT slot) in areas in which the vacuum wall is distributed in the axis direction of the vacuum wall, an area in which the cavity is located is a vacuum insulation area, ([page 4:paragraph 13] vacuum interlayer is an insulation area since the pipes forming it are ‘heat-insulation’ pipes) and an area in which the first preset distance exists is a target area; ([page 6: paragraph 2] area formed at a preset distance which is the outer surface of the ablation needle between the front end surface and the needle tip is the target area known as targeting area 3) the first adjusting position is located in the target area; ([page 8: paragraph 5]the forward movement equivalent to the first adjusting position moves the needle into the targeting area 3) the second adjusting position is located in the vacuum insulation area; ([page 8: paragraph 5] The backward movement which is equivalent to the second adjusting position is in the vacuum insulation area) the J-T slot adjusting apparatus is configured to enable the distal end of the J-T slot to be switched between the at least two adjusting positions by adjusting a position of the distal end of the J-T slot when the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the first adjusting position, in the axis direction of the vacuum wall, a second preset distance exists between the distal end of the J-T slot and the needle tip, ([page 6: paragraph 2] the heat insulation area 4 corresponds to the second preset distance; this distance occurs in the first adjusting position during the forward movement and describes a different position whilst in the same state) and the second preset distance at least ensures that an ice ball formed by freezing ([page 8: paragraph 7] ice balls produced) and when the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the second adjusting position, in the axis direction of the vacuum wall, a third preset distance exists between the distal end of the J-T slot and a distal end of the vacuum insulation area, and the third preset distance at least ensures that a refrigerant directly returns from the inside of the vacuum insulation area after being sprayed from the J-T slot, ([page 6: paragraph 5] contains a return air groove in connection with the heat layer (12), zone 3 corresponds to a third preset distance when the cold energy returns through the return pipe) the distal end of the vacuum insulation area being an end of the vacuum insulation area close to the needle tip (See annotated FIG 1 below showing distal end taken as the end close to the needle tip). However, Yang ‘405 does not explicitly disclose: the ice ball formed by freezing is wrapped around the needle tip
Yang ‘224 discloses: the ice ball formed by freezing is wrapped around the needle tip ([page 12: paragraph 4] the position of the needle bar and the J-T groove are relatively fixed so that the ice ball can completely cover the needle tip)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ice ball formed through freezing as disclosed in Yang ‘405 to include the ice ball formed by freezing completely covering the needle tip as disclosed in Yang ‘224. The motivation to do so being, when the ice ball completely covers the needle tip, the risk of puncturing organs and blood vessels can be prevented (Yang ‘224 [page 12: paragraph 4]).
FIG 1
FIG 9
Regarding claim 2, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 1, wherein the J-T slot comprises: a J-T slot straight section ([See annotated FIG 9 above]) and a J-T slot spiral section; ([See annotated FIG 9 above]) from the distal end to a proximal end of the J-T slot, the J-T slot straight section and the J-T slot spiral section are distributed in sequence; ([See annotated FIG 9 above where the spiral section directly follows the straight section in sequence]) the J-T slot adjusting apparatus comprises: a first sliding block and a first sliding block guiding portion; ([See FIG 1 above; Mandrel 11 is equivalent to the first sliding block guiding portion] and [page 8: paragraph 5] the adjusting sleeve acts as the sliding block as it is used to move the mandrel which is used to adjust the position) the first sliding block guiding portion is connected to the J-T slot straight section, ([See FIG 9 above where the adjusting member 14 is connected to the J-T slot straight section]) and the first sliding block is fixedly connected to the first sliding block guiding portion; ([page 8: paragraph 5] the adjustment component contains an adjustment sleeve which connects to the mandrel) the first sliding block, the first sliding block guiding portion and the J-T slot straight section are capable of being controlled to synchronously move in the axis direction, ([page 3: paragraph 4 under “Contents of invention”] the adjustment component, the mandrel and the front section which encompasses the J-T slot straight section is axially slidable, all these components must move together synchronously to achieve this motion) to switch the distal end of the J-T slot between the adjusting positions; ([page 8: paragraph 5] the distal end, when adjusted is switched between the two adjusting positions, forward and backward) and a position of a proximal end of the J-T slot spiral section is fixed relative to the vacuum wall,([page 6: paragraph 5] the spiral section can be welded which indicates that it is fixed to the wall) the proximal end of the J- T slot spiral section being an end of the J-T slot spiral section far away from the needle tip ([See annotated FIG 1 above]). However, Yang ‘405 does not explicitly disclose: the J-T slot spiral section is capable of being tensioned or compressed with movement of the J-T slot straight section in the axis direction.
Yang ‘224 discloses: the J-T slot spiral section is capable of being tensioned or compressed with movement of the J-T slot straight section in the axis direction ([page 9: last paragraph into page 10: first paragraph] the spring-like structure can be stretched and compressed, additionally, the spring can be made by winding the J-T groove)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spiral section as disclosed in Yang ‘405 to include the ability to be tensioned or compressed as disclosed in Yang ‘224. The motivation being that giving the structure the ability to be tensed or compressed can replace the need for a needle rod (Yang ‘224 [page 9: last paragraph]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 2, further comprising: a first sealing assembly, wherein the first sealing assembly is hermetically connected to a proximal end of the inner tube; ([page 3: paragraph 11 under “Contents of the invention”] rare end sealing assembly is at the proximal end) the proximal end of the inner tube is an end of the inner tube far away from the needle tip; ([See annotated FIG 1 showing that the proximal end of the inner tube is far away from the needle tip]) and a dynamic seal is formed between the first sealing assembly and the first sliding block guiding portion ([page 6: paragraph 9] sealing assembly is in dynamic sealing connection with the sealing ring).
Regarding claim 4, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 3, wherein the first sealing assembly comprises: a sealing apparatus and a prolonged tube, ([page 7: paragraph 10; and see annotated FIG 7 below]) wherein a distal end of the prolonged tube is hermetically connected to the proximal end of the inner tube, ([page 7: paragraph 10, sealing connection is the same as saying hermetically sealed which suggest it is airtight]) the distal end of the prolonged tube being an end of the prolonged tube close to the needle tip; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) and the sealing apparatus is hermetically connected to a proximal end of the prolonged tube, and a dynamic seal is formed between the sealing apparatus and the first sliding block guiding portion, ([page 7: paragraph 10; and see annotated FIG 7 below]) the proximal end of the prolonged tube being an end of the prolonged tube far away from the needle tip ([See annotated FIG 1 above]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 1, wherein the J-T slot adjusting apparatus comprises: a push tube, a second sliding block and a second sliding block guiding portion, (The word “second” is used, however a “second” sliding block is just seen as a sliding block, there is no “first” [See FIG 1 above; Mandrel 11 is equivalent to the sliding block guiding portion][page 8: paragraph 5] the driving lever is taken as the push tube) wherein a distal end of the push tube is connected to a proximal end of the J-T slot, ([See annotated FIG 9 above where the distal end of the push tube is at the proximal end of the J-T slot]) the distal end of the push tube being an end of the push tube close to the needle tip; ([See FIG 1 above] the distal end is taken as the end closest to the needle tip) a proximal end of the push tube is of a closed structure; ([See annotated FIG 9 above where the proximal end of the push tube is closed]) the second sliding block guiding portion is arranged in the axis direction; ([See FIG 1 above where the mandrel, taken as the sliding guiding portion is arranged in the axis direction]) the second sliding block is connected to the proximal end of the push tube, and the second sliding block and the second sliding block guiding portion are capable of sliding relative to each other; ([See annotated FIG 9 above which shows a gap therefore indicating that the sliding block and sliding block guiding portion are moving relative to each other]) and the second sliding block, the push tube, and the J-T slot are capable of being controlled to synchronously move in the axis direction, to switch the distal end of the J-T slot between the adjusting positions ([page 3: paragraph 4 under “Contents of invention”] the adjustment component, the mandrel and the front section which encompasses the J-T slot straight section is axially slidable, all these components must move together synchronously to achieve this motion]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 5, further comprising: a second sealing assembly, wherein a fixed seal is formed between the second sealing assembly and a proximal end of the second sliding block guiding portion; ([See annotated FIG 1 where the sealing assembly is within the proximal end of the inner tube; piece (23)]) and a dynamic seal is formed between the second sliding block guiding portion and the push tube through the second sealing assembly ([page 8: paragraph 5] the mandrel is fixedly connected through welding or threaded connection which makes it a dynamic seal).
Regarding claim 7, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 1, wherein the vacuum wall further comprises: an outer tube and a gasket, ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) wherein the gasket is arranged between an outer wall of the distal end of the inner tube and an inner wall of the needle rod to form a sealed connection; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) a distal end of the outer tube is hermetically connected to a proximal end of the needle rod, ([page 3: paragraph 5 under “Contents of invention”] dynamically sealed means it is hermetically connected, indicating that it is air tight) a proximal end of the outer tube is hermetically connected to a proximal end of the inner tube; ([page 3: paragraph 12 under “Contents of invention”] dynamically sealed means it is hermetically connected, indicating that it is air tight) the distal end of the outer tube is an end of the outer tube close to the needle tip, ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) and the proximal end of the outer tube is an end of the outer tube far away from the needle tip; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) an outer diameter of the outer tube is greater than an outer diameter of the needle rod, ([page 3: paragraph 8 under “Contents of invention”] the vacuum wall is larger than the needle rod) and an inner diameter of the outer tube is greater than an inner diameter of the needle rod; ([page 3: paragraph 8 under “Contents of invention”] the outer tube is larger than the needle rod) from the distal end to the proximal end of the inner tube, the inner tube sequentially comprises: an inner tube front section and an inner tube rear section; ([See FIG 1 above] the inner tube is separated between the distal “front” portion and the proximal “rare” section) an outer diameter of the inner tube rear section is greater than an outer diameter of the inner tube front section; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) an inner diameter of the inner tube rear section is greater than an inner diameter of the inner tube front section; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) and the inner tube front section penetrates through the needle rod; ([See annotated FIG 1 above]) and the inner tube rear section penetrates through the outer tube ([See annotated FIG 1 above]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang ‘405 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 1, further comprising: a temperature measuring wire, ([page 8: paragraph 1 under heading ‘Example 3’] cryoablation needle with a temperature measuring wire) wherein a distal end of the temperature measuring wire is a temperature measuring point; (See annotated FIG 17 below; the temperature measurement point 2711 is located at the distal end ) the distal end of the temperature measuring wire is an end of the temperature measuring wire close to the needle tip; (See annotated FIG 17 below; temperature measuring wire point is close to the needle tip) and the temperature measuring point is arranged at the distal end of the J-T slot, and used for measuring temperature at the distal end of the J-T slot ([page 8: paragraph 1 under heading ‘Example 3’] temperature measurement wire is placed at the front end of the J-T slot which places it at the distal end; also see annotated
FIG 17 below).
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 in further view of Shi et al (CN 209826949U) herein referred to as Shi
Regarding claim 9, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 1, further comprising: a spring and wherein one end of the spring is capable of moving synchronously with the distal end of the J-T slot, (Yang ‘405 [page 3: paragraph 4 under “Contents of invention”] the adjustment component, the mandrel and the front section which encompasses the J-T slot straight section is axially slidable, all these components must move together synchronously to achieve this motion]) and the deformation state is a compression state or a tension state; (Yang ‘224 [page 9: last paragraph into page 10: first paragraph] the spring-like structure can be stretched and compressed, additionally, the spring can be made by winding the J-T groove; See motivation above, under claim 2) However, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 does not explicitly discloses: a clamping piece, and is further connected to the clamping piece; the clamping piece is capable of entering and exiting from a clamped position; the other end of the spring is fixed relative to the vacuum wall; when the clamping piece is located at the clamped position, the spring is limited by the clamping piece to keep in a deformation state, and the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the second adjusting position; and when the clamping piece exits from the clamped position, the spring is capable of generating a restoring force for restoring from the deformation state to a natural state, and the restoring force is capable of driving the distal end of the J-T slot to enter the first adjusting position from the second adjusting position
Shi discloses: a clamping piece, the clamping piece is capable of entering and exiting from a clamped position; ([page 2: paragraph 7 under “Summary of the utility model”] clamping piece which can clamp and unclamp the spring) the other end of the spring is fixed relative to the vacuum wall; ([page 2; paragraph 5 under “Summary of the utility model”] describes the end of the elastic member, which is equivalent to the spring, being able to be fixedly connected) when the clamping piece is located at the clamped position, the spring is limited by the clamping piece to keep in a deformation state, and the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the second adjusting position; ([page 4: paragraph 2] the clamping piece pulls the elastic member which causes it to be in a deformation state and has the ability to lock it in this position) and when the clamping piece exits from the clamped position, the spring is capable of generating a restoring force for restoring from the deformation state to a natural state, and the restoring force is capable of driving the distal end of the J-T slot to enter the first adjusting position from the second adjusting position ([page 3: paragraph 7 under “Detailed Description”] describes the sequence of the elastic member reverting to the natural state when the acting force provided by the clamp is removed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring structure as disclosed in Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 to include the clamp as disclosed in Shi. The motivation to do so being having a clamp can allow for the rapid and accurate puncture of the ablation needle, which can in turn reduce the pain of the patient caused by the fact that the patient needs to be punctured many times (Shi [page 3: paragraph 7 under “detailed description”] and [page 4: paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 9. However, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 does not discloses: further comprising: a spring stop collar, wherein when the distal end of the J-T slot is switched from the second adjusting position to the first adjusting position, the spring stop collar is configured to limit the furthest distance of the spring moving toward a distal end, and when the distal end of the spring is located at the spring stop collar, the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the first adjusting position
Shi discloses: further comprising: a spring stop collar, wherein when the distal end of the J-T slot is switched from the second adjusting position to the first adjusting position, the spring stop collar is configured to limit the furthest distance of the spring moving toward a distal end, and when the distal end of the spring is located at the spring stop collar, the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the first adjusting position ([page 4: paragraph 12] the limiting member acts as a spring stop collar, it limits the distance the spring can be moved and allows for the driving force of the spring to be adjusted; this limiting member thus controls whether the spring is triggered and active, which is equivalent to the first adjusting position, or in its natural state which is equivalent to before the needle is triggered and thus equates to the second adjusting position)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring structure as disclosed in Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 to include the stop collar as disclosed in Shi. The motivation to do so being by controlling the limiting member or stop collar controls the needle depth which is important to prevent the needle from being inserted too deeply to hurt the other organ tissue ([page 3: paragraph 5 under “Detailed Description”]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claim 9, a C-shaped ring, and the C-shaped ring is wrapped around an outer wall with a fixed position relative to the vacuum wall; ([page 8: paragraph 9] the ring is fixed on the outside of the heat insulation which is equivalent to the outside of the vacuum wall). However, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 does not explicitly disclose: wherein the clamping piece comprises: a positioning pin, and wherein the positioning pin is arranged on the C-shaped ring; the positioning pin is configured to keep the spring in the deformation state
Shi discloses wherein the clamping piece comprises: a positioning pin and when the distal end of the J-T slot is located at the first adjusting position, the positioning pin is configured to keep the spring in the deformation state ([page 4: paragraph 7] the locking pin works as part of the clamping piece structure which keeps the elastic member in a deformation state)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjusting structure as disclosed in Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 to incorporate a pin as disclosed in Shi. The motivation being that having these simple structures can simplify the manufacturing process (Shi [page 4: paragraph 7]).
Regarding claims 12-18 which all depend off of claim 1 and relate to the same structure, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 discloses: The cryoablation needle with the adjustable J-T slot position according to claims 2, further comprising: a spring, wherein one end of the spring is capable of moving synchronously with the far end of the J-T slot, and the deformation state is a compression state or a tension state; However, Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 does not disclose: a clamping piece, and is further connected to the clamping piece; the clamping piece is capable of entering and exiting from a clamped position; the other end of the spring is fixed relative to the vacuum wall; when the clamping piece is located at the clamped position, the spring is limited by the clamping piece to keep in a deformation state, and the far end of the J-T slot is located at the second adjusting position; and when the clamping piece exits from the clamped position, the spring is capable of generating a restoring force for restoring from the deformation state to a natural state, and the restoring force is capable of driving the far end of the J-T slot to enter the first adjusting position from the second adjusting position.
Shi discloses: a clamping piece, and is further connected to the clamping piece; the clamping piece is capable of entering and exiting from a clamped position; ([page 2: paragraph 7 under “Summary of the utility model”] clamping piece which can clamp and unclamp the spring) the other end of the spring is fixed relative to the vacuum wall; ([page 2; paragraph 5 under “Summary of the utility model”] describes the end of the elastic member, which is equivalent to the spring, being able to be fixedly connected) when the clamping piece is located at the clamped position, the spring is limited by the clamping piece to keep in a deformation state, and the far end of the J-T slot is located at the second adjusting position; ([page 4: paragraph 2] the clamping piece pulls the elastic member which causes it to be in a deformation state and has the ability to lock it in this position) and when the clamping piece exits from the clamped position, the spring is capable of generating a restoring force for restoring from the deformation state to a natural state, and the restoring force is capable of driving the far end of the J-T slot to enter the first adjusting position from the second adjusting position ([page 3: paragraph 7 under “Detailed Description”] describes the sequence of the elastic member reverting to the natural state when the acting force provided by the clamp is removed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring structure as disclosed in Yang ‘405 in view of Yang ‘224 to include the clamp as disclosed in Shi. The motivation to do so being having a clamp can allow for the rapid and accurate puncture of the ablation needle, which can in turn reduce the pain of the patient caused by the fact that the patient needs to be punctured many times (Shi [page 3: paragraph 7 under “detailed description”] and [page 4: paragraph 2]).
Conclusion
/C.G.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3794 /JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794