DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 05/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 13-18 are currently pending in the application. Claim 18 was previously withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 7-9, 14-15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 10-12 have been canceled. No new claims have been added.
Response to Amendment
Objection. The amendments to claims 1 and 15 have overcome the objection as set forth in the Office Action mailed 01/06/2026. The objection is withdrawn.
35 USC 112(b). The amendments to claims 1-3, 7-9, 14-15, and 17 have overcome the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite set forth in the Office Action mailed 01/06/2026. The rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of claims 11-12 under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Karafin (US 2020/0174277 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that “the claimed 3D printer utilizes vacuum to draw out air bubbles and a vibrating build plate (in addition to vacuum) to facilitate removal of air bubbles from the layers deposited onto the build plate (paragraph 0174) thus allowing the formation of a more homogeneous interface between the layers. The problem of air bubbles at the interface between two layers is neither described nor suggested by the cited references. In fact, since the cited references do not relate multi-layer printing, this problem would not be known to them” (Remarks, Pg 5-6).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e the problem of air bubbles at the interface between two layers) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner notes that the claimed feature is to remove air bubbles creating during depositing said at least one curable polymer but does not specifically recite the interface between two layers. Further, Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1) is drawn to multi-layer printing (¶0133).
Applicant further asserts that “Karafin teaches that vibration can be utilized as an alternative to vacuum (for air bubble removal, see, for example, paragraphs 0192, 0208). Thus, while one of ordinary skill in the art might replace the vacuum of Raynes with the vibration of Karafin, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be led to supplement vacuum with vibration simply because neither Raynes nor Karafin teach or suggest this combination or recognize a need for such a combination” (Remarks, Pg 5-6).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Applicant seeks to improperly limit the disclosure of Kararfin. Applicant admits that Karafin teaches the known technique that vibration can be used for air bubble removal, which is relied upon in the rejection of claims 11-12 in the Office Action mailed 01/06/2026.
Accordingly, based upon the reasons stated above, the rejection of claims 11-12 under 35 USC 103 set forth in the Office Action mailed 01/06/2026 is maintained. Examiner notes that claims 11-12 have been canceled. The rejection of amended claims 1-9 and 13-17 is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1) in view of Karafin (US 2020/0174277 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Raynes teaches a 3D printer 1 (vacuum sealed 3D printer) (Fig 1A-1F and ¶0122-0135).
Raynes teaches a 3d printer 1 wherein the use of a vacuum chamber and a hot bed that blows air into the printing chamber allows for the chamber to be heated whilst printing FDM and the provision of a vacuum environment while using liquid resins; wherein the liquid is a UV curable resin; wherein by drawing air from the object (either by disposing the aperture(s) within, at or proximate an opening into the object, or by disposing the aperture(s) elsewhere within the 3D printer and relying on a global vacuum within the printing chamber to draw air from the object), the filling of an object with printed liquid can be achieved more effectively than relying on gravity alone, and a reduction in the number of air bubbles in the printed liquid can be achieved; and wherein the printing chamber may be a sealed chamber, and a vacuum pump may be operable to draw air out of the printing chamber via the one or more apertures (at least one vacuum chamber defining at least one operational area; at least one vacuum pump, in fluid tight communication with said at least one vacuum chamber, such that when said vacuum pump is activated vacuum is applied within said vacuum chamber to remove air bubbles created during depositing said at least one curable polymer) (Fig 1A-1F and ¶0009,0011,0124,0126,0135).
Raynes teaches the claimed at least one vacuum chamber. However, the limitation “to enclose: (i) at least one build plate, movable along at least one axis, and (ii) at least one printing head, movable along at least one axis, comprising at least one printing nozzle for depositing at least one curable polymer on said at least one build plate for the formation of at least one 3D object” recite the inclusion of a material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed and do not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. MPEP 2115. Here, the claimed (i) at least one build plate, movable along at least one axis, and (ii) at least one printing head, movable along at least one axis, comprising at least one printing nozzle for depositing at least one curable polymer on said at least one build plate for the formation of at least one 3D object are not positively recited. Raynes teaches a fully enclosed printing chamber between pillars 3, side panels 4, print bed 3/base 6, the print head platform 7, and the roof; wherein the printing chamber is both fully enclosed, and sealed (or sealable), such as to permit a vacuum to be formed within the printing chamber (¶0126-0127). Accordingly, Raynes discloses a 3D printer wherein said at least one vacuum chamber sealingly sized and shaped to enclose at least one build plate and at least one printing head.
For compact prosecution, Examiner notes that Raynes teaches a 3D printer 1 further comprising (i) a print bed 3; wherein print bed carriages 41 are provided which are able to move vertically on the vertical columns 2 to reposition and/or tilt the print bed 3 (at least one build plate, movable along at least one axis) (Fig 1F and ¶0133) and (ii) an FDM print head 14 which melts filament material at a diamond hot end to be deposited in the printing process and also a liquid print head 13b which dispenses liquid from one or more hoppers; wherein the liquid is a UV curable resin; wherein the two print heads deposits material directed downwardly towards the print bed 3 to print an object; and wherein a print head platform 7, bearing one or more print heads/nozzles is suspended from three printhead carriages 8, which allows for movement of the print head platform 7, and thus 3D printing, in an x, y and z direction (at least one printing head, movable along at least one axis, comprising at least one printing nozzle for depositing at least one curable polymer on said at least one build plate for the formation of at least one 3D object) (Fig 1F and ¶0123-0125,0127-0130,0191,0194).
Raynes does not disclose a 3D printer further comprising at least one vibration actuator arranged for providing a vibrating motion to said at least one build plate.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (vibration actuator arranged for providing a vibrating motion; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Karafin discloses a vibration stage (at least one vibration actuator, inherently) or the like to eliminate air bubbles during the melt process (¶0208).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Raynes by applying the known technique of a vibration stage (at least one vibration actuator, inherently) or the like to eliminate air bubbles during the melt process disclosed in Karafin to the at least one build plate disclosed in Raynes with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claims 2-3, as applied to claim 1, Raynes in view of Karafin teach a 3D printer wherein at least two curable polymers are extruded out of said at least one printing nozzle and wherein at least two curable polymers are extruded at either a substantially constant ratio of amounts one relative to the other or at a varying ratio of amounts one relative to the other (¶0097-0107).
Regarding claims 4-5, as applied to claim 1, the limitations “when said at least one vacuum pump is inactive, no vacuum is applied within said at least one vacuum chamber; and, said at least one curable polymer is prevented from being extruded from said at least one printing nozzle to form said at least one 3D object” and “wherein, when said at least one vacuum pump is active, vacuum is applied within said at least one vacuum chamber; and, said at least one curable polymer is being extruded from said at least one printing nozzle” are a recitation of intended use of the claimed at least one vacuum pump, at least one vacuum chamber, and at least one printing nozzle. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Raynes in view of Karafin teach an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 6-7, as applied to claim 1, Raynes in view of Karafin teach a 3D printer wherein hopper 12 a is a sealed container, which can be evacuated (a vacuum formed therein) or pressurized via a pump/vacuum which is in fluid communication with the interior of the hopper 12 a via an inlet/outlet and the hopper, may be provided with a valve to shut when not printing to stop fluid dribbling (wherein said at least one curable polymer is contained within at least one container; wherein said at least one container comprises at least one valve adapted, when open, to facilitate extraction of said curable polymer therefrom; and when closed, to prevent extraction of said curable polymer therefrom) (¶0132,0146).
Regarding claims 8-9, as applied to claim 6, Raynes in view of Karafin teach a 3D printer wherein the air compressor pump may use adjustable valves to set the flow rate depending on the type of fluid being used, and may run at a set level by PWM (pulse width modulation) to control the pressure (wherein when said at least one vacuum pump is active, vacuum is applied within said at least one vacuum chamber, said valve is open to facilitate entrance of air into said at least one container and extraction of said curable polymer therefrom is facilitated; wherein when said at least one vacuum pump is inactive, said valve is closed to prevent entrance of air into said at least one container and extraction of said curable polymer therefrom) (¶0146).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1, the limitation “wherein said applied vacuum causes removal of any trapped air bubbles in the extruded curable polymer” is a recitation of intended use of the claimed at least one vacuum pump and at least one vacuum chamber. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Raynes in view of Karafin teach an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, although Raynes in view of Karafin do not specify wherein said at least one printing head is shaped as a revolving plate, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the 3D printer disclosed in Raynes such that said at least one printing head is shaped as a revolving plate, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 1, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. MPEP 2115. Regarding the limitation “wherein said at least one curable polymer is polymer is selected from a group consisting of medical grade silicone, any long term implants and any combination thereof,” the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1) in view of Karafin (US 2020/0174277 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Mark (US 2015/0314531 A1).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Raynes in view of Karafin do not disclose a 3D printer wherein said printing head comprises at least one opening, such that once said at least one printing nozzle is aligned with said at least one opening, only said at least one curable polymer is extruded from said at least one printing nozzle.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (printing heads; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Mark discloses positioning cutter 8a (e.g., blade) at the outlet of the conduit nozzle 10 allows actuation of the cutter 8a to completely cut the deposited strip or bonded rank by severing the internal fiber strands, and/or may prevent further advance and/or dripping by physically blocking the conduit nozzle eyelet or outlet; wherein cutter 8a or 8b enables the deposition of filament (fiber reinforced or unreinforced) with precisely controlled lengths as controlled by the controller 20 (¶0212).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the 3D printer disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin by applying the known technique of positioning a cutter at the outlet of the conduit nozzle that allows actuation of the cutter to completely cut the deposited strip and to prevent further dripping by physically blocking the conduit nozzle eyelet or outlet as disclosed in Mark to the said at least one printing head disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1) in view of Karafin (US 2020/0174277 A1) and in further view of Mark (US 2015/0314531 A1), as applied to claim 14, and in further view of Zhou (US 2022/0055298 A1).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 1, Raynes in view of Karafin and Mark does not disclose a 3D printer wherein said at least one printing head is in electrical communication with at least one stepper motor or servo motor, adapted to rotate said at least one printing head such that upon each move, one of said at least one of said printing nozzle is aligned with said opening to facilitate extruding of said at least one curable polymer.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (stepper motor or servo motor; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Zhou disclose that carbon fiber extruder 148 has three main functionalities, including extruding in the XY plane, which is necessary to print predetermined, complex structures; wherein extruder 200 is rotated by servo motor 210 and gears 217; and wherein a connecting rod 222 is used to convert the rotation of the servo motor into linear motion of the cutting blade 224 (¶0018-0019).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the 3D printer disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin and Mark by applying the known technique of servo motor and cutting blade to cur an extruded material as disclosed in Zhou to the said at least one printing head disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin Mark with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raynes (US 2021/0162664 A1) in view of Karafin (US 2020/0174277 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Qian (US 2024/0296301 A1).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 1, Raynes in view of Karafin do not disclose a 3D printer wherein said at least one printing head comprising at least one cleaning element adapted to wipe clean said at least one printing nozzle.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (cleaning element adapted to wipe clean; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Qian discloses service station assembly may include a rubber blade or wiper which is periodically passed over the printhead assembly to wipe and clean nozzles of excess printing fluid (¶0026).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin by applying the known technique of a rubber blade or wiper which is periodically passed over the printhead assembly to wipe and clean nozzles of excess printing fluid disclosed in Qian to the at least one printing head disclosed in Raynes in view of Karafin with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cain (US 2023/0115195 A1) discloses that partially cured or uncured medical-grade elastomeric material, such as silicone, is sequentially deposited onto a substrate by a nozzle or similar device from a material source in a controlled manner according to computer control to define a definitive shape, such as an elongate or continuous filament (¶0067).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743