DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The amide repeating unit are required in the proportion of 80% or more, it is unclear if the proportions are based on weight % or mole%. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
Regarding claim 7, the last line of the claim recites, and isomers of cis, trans and mixture of the compounds. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “compounds”, since an aliphatic diamine-based compound is introduced.
Regarding claims 10-11, since the yellowness index and transmittance properties are dependent on the thickness of the optical film, the claimed ranges without the thickness values are indefinite. The optical film thickness for the measurements are required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted to require the amide repeating unit in proportion of 80 mole % or more. For claims 10-11, it is understood that the yellowness index and transmittance are measured for optical film thickness of 50 µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Miyamoto et al. US 2019/0390057 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 10-11, Miyamoto teaches (paras [0130]-[0131] and Table 1) polyamideimide resin Example 2 and an optical film derived from the polyamideimide resin, which is synthesized by polymerization of 80 mol% 4,4'-oxybis(benzoyl chloride) (OBBOC) and 20 mol% 4,4'-(hexafluoroisopropylidene )diphthalic dianhydride (6FDA), and 100 mol% 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine (TFDB) diamine, resulting in the amide repeat units which are present at 80 mol% with respect to the total amount of the imide and the amide repeating units. Miyamoto discloses that the 50 µm thick optical film which has the light transmittance of 91% and yellow index of 2.5, which read on the claimed requirements.
Regarding claims 2-3, instant specification (page 49, line 25; page 50, line 11) discusses that the precipitation process in methanol removes the reaction byproducts and the obtained solid polymer resin does not contain chlorine. Since Miyamoto also discloses precipitation of the polyamideimide resin in methanol, with further washing and drying of the resin under reduced pressure and elevated temperature (Miyamoto, para [0128]), the resulting optical film would be inherently free of the chlorine. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 12, Miyamoto teaches (reference claim 10 and para [0105]) a display device where the optical film is disposed at the front of the display surface, meeting the claimed requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto as applied to claims 1-3 and 10-12 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-9, as discussed when addressing claim 1, Miyamoto teaches an optical film generated by the polyamideimide resin of example 2, which is synthesized by polymerization of 80 mol% 4,4'-oxybis(benzoyl chloride) (OBBOC) and 20 mol% 4,4'-(hexafluoroisopropylidene )diphthalic dianhydride (6FDA), and 100 mol% 2,2'-bis(trifluoromethyl) benzidine (TFDB) diamine, resulting in imide and amide repeating units corresponding to the required first and third repeating units. Miyamoto’s Example 2 utilizes only one diamine TFDB. Miyamoto teaches inclusion of an aliphatic diamine such as 4,4'-diaminodicyclohexylmethane (MBCA) (para [0059]-[0060]) along with an aromatic diamine to create the polyamideimide resin.
Per Miyamoto’s disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Miyamoto’s Example 2 an aliphatic diamine such as MBCA for the same application of creating a polyimideamide resin, which would result in the required second and fourth repeating units.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-12 above, and further in view of Stephens et al. US3,347,828.
Regarding claims 13 and 17-19, Miyamoto teaches a method for generating an optical polyamideimide film Example 2 (paras [0130]-[0131]) where one diamine TFDB, 80 mol% 4,4'-oxybis(benzoyl chloride) (OBBOC) and 20 mol% 4,4'-(hexafluoroisopropylidene )diphthalic dianhydride (6FDA), form the first reaction solution in solvent DMAc (paras [0127]-[0131]). Dehydrating agent acetic anhydride and imidization catalyst pyridine is added to the first reaction mixture, and the reaction is conducted at elevated temperature to obtain the second reaction mixture. The resulting second reaction mixture is cooled and treated with methanol to generate the polymer resin in precipitated form. The solid precipitated polymer resin is dissolved in DMAC and then coated on a substrate to generate the optical film. Miyamoto is silent on a chlorine acceptor.
Analogous reference Stephens (reference claim 1) who also teaches a process of producing a polyamide-imide discloses incorporation of scavenger such as propylene oxide in the polyamide solution at about 1 to 8 moles of propylene oxide per mole of halide, which overlaps the required amount of chlorine acceptor (Stephens col 3, lines 20-25; line 60, lines 66-70). Advantageously, Stephens provides the motivation to incorporate the propylene oxide to remove entrained chloride by forming a chlorohydrin which can be volatilized easily, which decreases corrosion and improves resultant properties of the polyamide-imide (Stephens col 3, lines 15-20 and reference claims 1 and 12).
While Stephens discloses the addition of propylene oxide in the polyamide solution, it is noted that there is a finite list of immediately recognizable options available to one of ordinary skill in the art, including a) addition of propylene oxide in the first reaction solution and b) addition of propylene oxide in the polymer resin solution. With the presence of a finite number of options which are immediately recognizable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, and the options do not produce new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try any of the immediately recognizable and finite options of adding the propylene oxide as taught by Stephens at any particular stage, including in the first reaction solution of Miyamoto’s Example 2 with reasonable expectation of scavenging the chloride and creating a polyamide-imide with improved properties. (see MPEP 2143 I. E.).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, as discussed when addressing claim 4, Miyamoto teaches inclusion of an aliphatic diamine such as 4,4'-diaminodicyclohexylmethane (MBCA) (para [0059]-[0060]) along with an aromatic diamine to create the polyamideimide resin.
Miyamoto does not suggest an amount of aliphatic diamine, however the inclusion of small amount of aliphatic diamine (in Miyamoto’s Example 2) complying with the claimed amounts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the same application of creating a polyimideamide resin such that the properties of high surface hardness and high bending resistance can be maintained (Miyamoto paras [0158]-[0159]).
Regarding claims 20-21, as discussed when addressing claim 13, Miyamoto in view of Stephens render obvious, the presence of excess chlorine acceptor which scavenges HCl, and the imidization catalyst pyridine in the second reaction solution, which would result in slightly basic pH as required. Miyamoto teaches precipitation and washing of the solid polyamide-imide resin which removes excess acidic and basic byproducts and thus the redissolved polymer resin solution would be reasonably expected to be neutral (Miyamoto paras [0127]-[0131]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,619,005B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they teach the same optical film comprising imide and amide repeating units where the amide repeating units are present in a proportion of 80% or more.
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/247,520 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same optical film comprising imide and amide repeating units where the amide repeating units are present in a proportion of 80% or more.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765