DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the RCE filed on 06/16/2026.
Claim 1-4 is amended.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Perry and Butsch references do not teach the newly added claim elements. Examiner asserts that the Bonk Reference teaches the newly amended claim references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonk (US 2015/0032558 A1) in view of Perry (US 11,170,434 B1)
Regarding claim 1
An energy supply system comprising: an information processing apparatus; (See at least Bonk [0039] The system includes a site connector computer 42 which may be implemented by a single computer or by a system of networked computers. The term site connector computer 42 as used here is intended to cover both single computer and multiple networked computer embodiments.)
a supply device that supplies energy; (See at least Bonk [0053] As shown in FIG. 3, each pump 34 may be equipped with a QR code 106 that embeds at least 3 different types of information.)
a display object that is installed in association with the supply device and displays a code; and (See at least Bonk [0053] As shown in FIG. 3, each pump 34 may be equipped with a QR code 106 that embeds at least 3 different types of information.)
a user's terminal, wherein; the information processing apparatus comprises: (See at least Bonk [0038] The system facilitates use of a mobile device 30, such as a smart phone,)
at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: (See at least Bonk [0097] Also stored in memory associated with processor 302 is the program code to implement the server stack, shown at 308.)
a code ID obtained by the user's terminal by reading and decoding the code displayed on the display object (See at least Bonk [0073] Alternatively, if the GPS location is not obtained for some reason, the mobile app prompts the user to scan the QR code affixed to the pump as illustrated at 180. In this mode, the mobile app functions as a special purpose QR code reader that parses the information received from the QR code (see FIG. 3) to ascertain the site ID 110 and the pump number 112 (FIG. 3).)
refer, based on the code ID, to association information a code database stored in the information processing apparatus or in a server, (See at least Bonk [0048] The site table record is set up and/or updated beginning at step 80. If the record being written to table 72 corresponds to a new site being added, then a new record is created at step 82. Otherwise, if an existing record is being updated, the site connector computer first does a query to retrieve the corresponding site record, placing a lock on the record so that changes can be made without interference by other processes.)
the code database defining a relationship in-which between the code ID and a supply device ID of the supply device and storing, in association with the supply device ID. the code ID, an address for communication with the supply device, and a facility ID of a facility in which the supply device is installed; (See at least Bonk [0048] FIG. 2 also shows how the site connector computer is programmed to administer the site database. The site table record is set up and/or updated beginning at step 80. If the record being written to table 72 corresponds to a new site being added, then a new record is created at step 82. Otherwise, if an existing record is being updated, the site connector computer first does a query to retrieve the corresponding site record, placing a lock on the record so that changes can be made without interference by other processes. If the record being created is a new site, a site ID is assigned for that site at step 84. The site ID can be assigned automatically using a sequential numbering scheme. So that the site records can be distinguished from one another, the site ID for each record must be unique. If the record being updated corresponds to an existing site, the site ID will already have been entered. Thus, one way to retrieve or look up the information for that site is to perform a query using that site ID.)
specify, based on the code database, the supply device associated with the code ID read from the display object; (See at least Bonk [0049] At step 86 the IP address for the site is entered (or edited). The site IP address corresponds to the unique identifier used by the computer-implemented fuel dispensing system for the purpose of routing messages within the system. Thus, the site IP address for each site corresponds to a particular piece of electronic equipment, namely the point-of-sale system within each site. In contrast, the site ID is simply a database designator used to uniquely identify each record in the database.)
wherein a unique code ID is determined for each display object, and the code displayed on the display object is obtained by encoding the unique code ID, and (See at least Bonk [0052] Populating the pump table 74 is similar to the process for populating the site table 72. The site connector computer iteratively performs steps 98-104 for each of the respective pay points (e.g., dispensing pumps, automated car wash, etc.). If a new site is being configured, a new pump record is instantiated at step 98 for each pump or pay point. Then the pump number is assigned and entered at step 102 and finally the pump IP address is entered or determined by query of the point-of-sale system at step 104. The pump IP address corresponds to the network address at which the particular pump communicates. This IP address is needed to directly activate the pump. Such direct activation is typically handled through the point-of-sale system. It is possible that some point-of-sale systems do not communicate with their connected pumps using the IP address protocol. Some systems may simply have a direct, circuit-switched connection over which control commands are issued from the point-of-sale system to the individual pump. In such case, the pump IP address information is simply not recorded at step 104.)
wherein, when a new supply device and a new display object are registered, the information processing apparatus updates the code database such that the code ID of the new display object is registered in association with a supply device ID of the new supply device, thereby linking the code displayed by the new display object to the new supply device. (See at least Bonk [0052] Populating the pump table 74 is similar to the process for populating the site table 72. The site connector computer iteratively performs steps 98-104 for each of the respective pay points (e.g., dispensing pumps, automated car wash, etc.). If a new site is being configured, a new pump record is instantiated at step 98 for each pump or pay point. Then the pump number is assigned and entered at step 102 and finally the pump IP address is entered or determined by query of the point-of-sale system at step 104. The pump IP address corresponds to the network address at which the particular pump communicates. This IP address is needed to directly activate the pump. Such direct activation is typically handled through the point-of-sale system. It is possible that some point-of-sale systems do not communicate with their connected pumps using the IP address protocol. Some systems may simply have a direct, circuit-switched connection over which control commands are issued from the point-of-sale system to the individual pump. In such case, the pump IP address information is simply not recorded at step 104.)
However Bonk does not specifically teach: acquire, from the user's terminal, identification information on a user, information on an amount of energy specified by a user, and transmit, based on the code database and the information on the amount of energy specified by the user, a command for instructing the specified supply device to supply an amount of energy which is equal to or less than amount of energy specified by the user; and make a payment of an amount of money, which corresponds to the amount of energy supplied from the supply device to the user, from a balance of an account of the user,
However Perry teaches:
acquire, from the user's terminal, identification information on a user, (See at least Perry (Col 9 lines 34-53) Referring to FIG. 3B, GUI 31 includes icons 300, which indicates the methods of payment available at fuel pump 104. Consumer 103 may select one of icons 300 to select a payment method, for example, payment by credit card, payment by debit card, payment by gift card, payment by pre-paid card, payment by cash, payment by check, loyalty card etc., at block 204. At block 204, consumer 103 may also indicate that consumer 103 is a member of a loyalty program. In embodiments of the invention, this may include selecting from a plurality of loyalty programs (represented by icons 302 (FIG. 3C). Processor 101-P may transmit this information regarding the selection to processor 100-P. The loyalty program, in embodiments, may reduce the cost of the fuel (e.g. reduce the price per gallon of the fuel) if consumer 103 is a member of the loyalty program and meets predetermined criteria. Processor 100-P or processor 101-P, or both working together, may be adapted to determine, for the financial transaction being contemplated, which of the loyalty programs is more beneficial financially to use for the fuel transaction.
information on an amount of energy specified by a user, and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
transmit, based on the code database and the information on the amount of energy specified by the user, a command for instructing the specified supply device to supply an amount of energy which is equal to or less than amount of energy specified by the user; and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for
make a payment of an amount of money, which corresponds to the amount of energy supplied from the supply device to the user, from a balance of an account of the user, (See at least Perry (Col 8 lines 26-54) In embodiments of the invention, information presented at fuel pump 104 may also be presented on the graphical user interface on screen 101-S. This information presented may be information that remains the same throughout the fuel transaction (e.g. price of fuel) or information that changes or is generated at fuel pump 104 during the transaction (e.g. volume of fuel transferred to vehicle, value of fuel transferred to vehicle). The duration of the transaction may be from the moment consumer 103 indicates that a fuel transaction is desired until when pumping of fuel is completed and consumer 103 is charged for the fuel pumped. In transactions that include receipting, the duration of the transaction may be from the moment consumer 103 indicates that a fuel transaction is desired until when a receipt is issued for fuel pumped. In embodiments of the invention, some icons on the graphical user interface, resulting from the emulation of fuel pump 104, may only provide information and no functionality. For example, the display screen on fuel pump 104, may be emulated on a display section of mobile device 101 such that any information that is displayed on the display screen of fuel pump 104 is transmitted to processor 100-P, which transmits it to mobile device 101. Then mobile device 101 displays the information on a display area of the graphical user interface. There may be more than one display sections on fuel pump 104 and on mobile device 101. The one or more display sections may include a display of instructions, queries, the volume of fuel transferred to a vehicle, the value of fuel transferred to a vehicle and the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to purchase and dispense fuel and other products using a mobile device with improved user experience of Bong in view of method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device as taught by Perry in order to collect payment information and make a payment.
Regarding claim 2
Bong does not specifically teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and
However Perry teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device to supply, to the user, an amount of energy which is equal to or less than an amount determined in accordance with the amount of money and the unit cost. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to purchase and dispense fuel and other products using a mobile device with improved user experience of Bong in view of method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device as taught by Perry in order to collect payment information and make a payment.
Regarding claim 3
Bong does not specifically teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and, when the user has specified that an amount of energy
However Perry teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and, when the user has specified that an amount of energy (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device to supply, to the user, an amount of energy which is equal to or less than an amount determined in accordance with the specified amount of money and the unit cost. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to purchase and dispense fuel and other products using a mobile device with improved user experience of Bong in view of method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device as taught by Perry in order to collect payment information and make a payment.
Regarding claim 4
Bong does not specifically teach: the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and when the user has specified that a specified amount of energy is to be supplied, set a first amount of money corresponding to the specified amount of energy as unavailable from the balance of the account of the user, and the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device in such a way that the supply device supplies, to the user, an amount of energy which is equal to or less than an amount determined in accordance with the first amount of money and the unit cost.
Perry teaches:
the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the code ID, and when the user has specified that a specified amount of energy is to be supplied, set a first amount of money corresponding to the specified amount of energy as unavailable from the balance of the account of the user, ((See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device in such a way that the supply device supplies, to the user, an amount of energy which is equal to or less than an amount determined in accordance with the first amount of money and the unit cost. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to purchase and dispense fuel and other products using a mobile device with improved user experience of Bong in view of method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device as taught by Perry in order to collect payment information and make a payment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonk (US 2015/0032558 A1) in view of Perry (US 11,170,434 B1) Sakuma et al. (US 2019/0118667 A1).
Regarding claim 5
However, Bonk does not specifically teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit a first authentication code to the user's terminal, and controls, when the first authentication code has been input to the supply device, the supply device to supply energy to the user.
However, Sakuma teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit a first authentication code to the user's terminal, and controls, when the first authentication code has been input to the supply device, the supply device to supply energy to the user. (See at least Sakuma [0168]-[0171]: [0168] When server 200 receives the user ID and the OTP request information in S104, OTP generator 222 of server 200 generates an OTP. Here, the OTP is generated in the following manner. OTP generator 222 makes reference to the provision DB so as to extract the seed code corresponding to the provision facility reserved using the transmitted user ID. OTP generator 222 generates the OTP by substituting, for a predetermined formula a, the extracted seed code and the reception time at which the OTP request information has been received. This formula a may be any formula. Moreover, the OTP is generated using the seed code and the reception time, but the seed code is not specified from this OTP. [0169] In S106, communicator 224 (transmitter) of server 200 transmits this OTP to in-vehicle device 22. In S108, in-vehicle device 22 transmits this transmitted OTP to power supply connector 402 through the NFC communication. [0170] When power supply connector 402 receives this OTP in S110, OTP determination device 414 determines in S112 whether or not the received OTP is correct. [0171] Here, the following describes an exemplary determination method. OTP determination device 414 holds the same formula a as formula a held by OTP generator 222 of server 200. OTP determination device 414 generates a confirmation OTP by substituting, for this formula a, the seed code stored in seed code storage 412 (the same seed code as that upon the generation of the OTP by server 200) and the reception time at which the OTP has been received in S110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to purchase and dispense fuel and other products using a mobile device with improved user experience of Bong in view of the communication terminal as taught by Sakuma in order to prevent a wrongdoing in which an unauthorized user who has not appropriately made a reservation to use power supply device uses power supply device to steal power. (Sakuma [0180])
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Prior Art of Record Not Currently Relied Upon
Tingler et al. (US 2017/0178257 A1) Teaches: Service station fuel pump.
Goldberg et al. (US 2018/0121684 A1) Teaches: Power Charger authorization for a user equipment via cryptographic handshake.
Conclusion
/GREGORY M JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692
October 8, 2026