DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn.
Claims 9 and 10 are previously cancelled.
Claims 1-6 are amended
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, s, filed 11/18/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(a) of Claims 1-6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, s, filed 11/18/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(a) of Claims 1-6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Perry and Butsch references do not teach the newly added claim elements. Examiner asserts that the Weston Reference teaches the newly amended claim references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 11,170,434 B1) in view of Butsch et al. (US 2017/0083988 A1) and further in view of Weston et al. (US 2009/0089214 A1)
Regarding claims 1
Perry teaches:
An energy supply system comprising: an information processing apparatus; (See at least Perry (Col 4 line 53 - Col 5 line 2) and (Fig. 1, 100) : (Col 4 line 53 - Col 5 line 2) Thus, network 102 may connect a plurality of fuel pumps 104 of a plurality fuel stations, remote from each other, to one or more networks (e.g., a financial network, a banking network, a payment processing network, a loyalty rewards network, a merchant services network, a gift card network, a pre-paid financial card network, a fuel marketing company network etc.). In embodiments of the invention, network 102 may include one or more devices that are configured to communicate with particular ones of the one or more networks, such as a financial transaction server that is configured to communicate with the financial network, the banking network, the payment processing network, the merchant services network, the gift card network, the pre-paid financial card network, etc. to process payment information associated with a financial account, a financial card (e.g., a debit card, a credit card, a gift card, a pre-paid financial card, etc.) and the like.
a supply device that supplies energy; (See at least Perry (Col 4 line 53 - Col 5 line 2) (Fig. 1, 104) (Col 4 line 53 - Col 5 line 2) Thus, network 102 may connect a plurality of fuel pumps 104 of a plurality fuel stations, remote from each other, to one or more networks (e.g., a financial network, a banking network, a payment processing network, a loyalty rewards network, a merchant services network, a gift card network, a pre-paid financial card network, a fuel marketing company network etc.). In embodiments of the invention, network 102 may include one or more devices that are configured to communicate with particular ones of the one or more networks, such as a financial transaction server that is configured to communicate with the financial network, the banking network, the payment processing network, the merchant services network, the gift card network, the pre-paid financial card network, etc. to process payment information associated with a financial account, a financial card (e.g., a debit card, a credit card, a gift card, a pre-paid financial card, etc.) and the like.
and a user's terminal, wherein the information processing apparatus comprises: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to; (See at least Perry (Col 5 lines 16-40) (Fig. 1, 101): (Col 5 lines 16-40) FIG. 1 also shows fuel pump 104 for pumping fuel into vehicles and metering the amount of fuel pumped into each vehicle, such as vehicle 106 operated by consumer 103. Fuel pump 104 may also be configured to receive payment for the amount of fuel metered as being delivered to vehicle 106. In embodiments of the invention, consumer 103 operates mobile device 101 to execute software to communicatively connect, through network 102, to computer system 100 in order to emulate fuel pump 104 on mobile device 101 and receive marketing information on mobile device 101. Computer system 100 and mobile device 101 may include one or more processors (e.g., a CORE or PENTIUM processor available from Intel, Inc.) and processor readable (e.g., computer readable) memory (e.g., random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), flash memory, disk memory, solid state drive (SSD) memory, optical memory, and/or the like) and input/output components (e.g., display, network interface card (NIC), keyboard, digital pointer, printer, and/or the like) coupled to a processor of the one or more processors via a data bus. In embodiments of the invention, computer system 100 may be remote from fuel pump 104 and may also be remote from the service station at which fuel pump 104 is located. In embodiments of the invention, computer system may be located at the service station of fuel pump 104 (e.g. in a building at the backcourt).
acquire, from the user's terminal, identification information on the user, (See at least Perry (Col 9 lines 34-53) Referring to FIG. 3B, GUI 31 includes icons 300, which indicates the methods of payment available at fuel pump 104. Consumer 103 may select one of icons 300 to select a payment method, for example, payment by credit card, payment by debit card, payment by gift card, payment by pre-paid card, payment by cash, payment by check, loyalty card etc., at block 204. At block 204, consumer 103 may also indicate that consumer 103 is a member of a loyalty program. In embodiments of the invention, this may include selecting from a plurality of loyalty programs (represented by icons 302 (FIG. 3C). Processor 101-P may transmit this information regarding the selection to processor 100-P. The loyalty program, in embodiments, may reduce the cost of the fuel (e.g. reduce the price per gallon of the fuel) if consumer 103 is a member of the loyalty program and meets predetermined criteria. Processor 100-P or processor 101-P, or both working together, may be adapted to determine, for the financial transaction being contemplated, which of the loyalty programs is more beneficial financially to use for the fuel transaction.
information on an amount of energy specified by the user, and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
identification information on the code read by the user's terminal from the display object; (See at least Perry (Col 6 lines 45-51) Alternatively, consumer 103 may enter a service station location, via GUI 30, to mobile device 101. Mobile device 101 then sends this location to computer system 100. It should be noted that the transmitted information that is used for identifying the service station or fuel pump, or both, may include a QR code, bar code, an identification number, an address, and combinations thereof.
Transmit, based on the association information and information on an amount of energy specified by the user, a command for instruction the supply device to supply an amount of energy which is equal to or less than the amount in accordance with the information on the amount of energy specified by the user; and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for
make a payment of an amount of money, which corresponds to the amount of energy supplied from the supply device to the user, from a balance of an account of the user. (See at least Perry (Col 8 lines 26-54) In embodiments of the invention, information presented at fuel pump 104 may also be presented on the graphical user interface on screen 101-S. This information presented may be information that remains the same throughout the fuel transaction (e.g. price of fuel) or information that changes or is generated at fuel pump 104 during the transaction (e.g. volume of fuel transferred to vehicle, value of fuel transferred to vehicle). The duration of the transaction may be from the moment consumer 103 indicates that a fuel transaction is desired until when pumping of fuel is completed and consumer 103 is charged for the fuel pumped. In transactions that include receipting, the duration of the transaction may be from the moment consumer 103 indicates that a fuel transaction is desired until when a receipt is issued for fuel pumped. In embodiments of the invention, some icons on the graphical user interface, resulting from the emulation of fuel pump 104, may only provide information and no functionality. For example, the display screen on fuel pump 104, may be emulated on a display section of mobile device 101 such that any information that is displayed on the display screen of fuel pump 104 is transmitted to processor 100-P, which transmits it to mobile device 101. Then mobile device 101 displays the information on a display area of the graphical user interface. There may be more than one display sections on fuel pump 104 and on mobile device 101. The one or more display sections may include a display of instructions, queries, the volume of fuel transferred to a vehicle, the value of fuel transferred to a vehicle and the like.
However, Perry does not specifically teach: “a display object that is installed in association with the supply device and displays a code”,
However, Butsch teaches:
a display object that is installed in association with the supply device and displays a code; (See at least Butsch [0157] Applied graphic 26 is placed on the dispenser of FIG. 3, preferably in a location that will catch the user's attention. One or more visual cues 28 may be provided. These may include a stylized graphic that identifies the inventive system to the knowledgeable user. Somewhere in the applied graphic is a readable code 30. The readable code is a machine-readable graphic that a smart phone or other device can read and interpret.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device of Perry in view of the method for autonomous secure accounting and access to payment for a dispensing operation as taught by Butsch in order to save time as “An experienced user will simply select the paymaster icon, enter the password, perform an image-capture on the graphic, and begin fueling.”. (Butsch [0169])
However, Butsch does not specifically teach: “Make a reference to association information stored in the information processing apparatus or in a server, the association information defining a relationship in which a displayed code identification and a supply device identification are associated with each other;”, and “Wherein, when a new supply device and a new display object are registered , the information processing apparatus updates the association information such that a code displayed by a new display object is linked to the new supply device.”
However Weston teaches:
Make a reference to association information stored in the information processing apparatus or in a server, the association information defining a relationship in which a displayed code identification and a supply device identification are associated with each other; (See at least Weston [0046] The compatibility module matches the reference code communicated by the POS terminal to an identical reference code in a pre-defined mapping file, or library, stored on, for example, the payment module [404]. The reference code stored in the library has associated text to be displayed. In some aspects of method 400, the associated text to be displayed stored on the payment module is identical to the reference code associated text of the POS terminal.
Wherein, when a new supply device and a new display object are registered , the information processing apparatus updates the association information such that a code displayed by a new display object is linked to the new supply device. (See at least Weston [0044] Although FIG. 3 illustrates one method for conducting, transparent or seamless fuel dispenser transactions between a fuel dispenser and a POS terminal, other methods may have additional or fewer steps. Also, some steps in method 300 may be done in parallel to other steps. For instance, the payment module may receive and store multiple user responses prior to translating each dispenser keypad location corresponding to the stored user responses into terminal keypad locations for the user responses. As one example, the payment module may allow entry of a multiple digit customer PIN. Rather than translating each digit of the PIN and transmitting the corresponding terminal keypad locations after each digit's entry, the payment module may store the digits until PIN entry is complete and then transmit the corresponding terminal keypad locations all at once (serially or in parallel) to the POS terminal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device of Perry in view of the conducting fuel dispensing transactions as taught by Weston in order to help to prevent fraud and/or a theft of a fuel dispenser customer's personal and financial information.” (Weston [0010])
Regarding claim 2
Perry teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the identification information on the code, and sets, when the user has specified that a maximum amount of energy that can be supplied at one time to a user's article is to be supplied, that the specified amount of money cannot be used from the balance of the account of the user, and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device to supply an amount of energy which is equal to or less than the amount in accordance with the specified amount of money and the unit cost to the user. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
Regarding claim 3
Perry teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the identification information on the code, and sets, when the user has specified that an amount of energy that corresponds to a specified amount of money is to be supplied, that the specified amount of money cannot be used from the balance of the account of the user, and (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the control means controls the at least one processor is configured to transmit a command for instructing the supply device to supply an amount of energy which is equal to or less than an amount in accordance with the specified amount of money and the unit cost to the user. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
Regarding claim 4
Perry teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a unit cost of the energy to be supplied from the supply device to the user based on the identification information on the code, and sets, when the user has specified that a specified amount of energy is to be supplied, that a first amount of money in accordance with the specified amount cannot be used from the balance of the account of the user, and ((See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
the at least one processor is configured to control the supply device in such a way that the supply device supplies an amount of energy which is equal to or less than the amount in accordance with the first amount of money and the unit cost to the user. (See at least Perry (Col 11 lines 10-29) When fuel pump 104 receives this information, at block 213, fuel pump 104 is activated and consumer 103 or a service station attendant places the pump nozzle into the fuel tank. Fuel pump 104 begins pumping fuel when consumer 103 or the service station attendant physically activates the nozzle or when consumer 103 taps icon 104 to indicate pumping should start. As fuel is being pumped, the amount of fuel pumped and the value of fuel pumped changes on fuel pump 104 and these changes may also be reflected in the emulation on mobile device 101. Fuel pump 104 may send these changes to mobile device 101 via processor 100-P. Consumer 103 may use icon 303 to send instructions to preset a fuel amount or a dollar amount at which pumping should stop. Alternatively, consumer 103 may stop fueling by activating icon 304 to send instructions to fuel pump 104 to stop pumping. These instructions may be sent to processor 100-P, which, in turn, sends the information to fuel pump 104. In this way, except for the insertion of the nozzle into vehicle 106, consumer 103 controls the fuel transaction from mobile device 101.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 11,170,434 B1) in view of Butsch et al. (US 2017/0083988 A1) and further in view of Weston et al. (US 2009/0089214 A1) and Sakuma et al. (US 2019/0118667 A1).
Regarding claim 5
However, Perry does not specifically teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit a first authentication code to the user's terminal, and controls, when the first authentication code has been input to the supply device, the supply device to supply energy to the user.
However, Sakuma teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit a first authentication code to the user's terminal, and controls, when the first authentication code has been input to the supply device, the supply device to supply energy to the user. (See at least Sakuma [0168]-[0171]: [0168] When server 200 receives the user ID and the OTP request information in S104, OTP generator 222 of server 200 generates an OTP. Here, the OTP is generated in the following manner. OTP generator 222 makes reference to the provision DB so as to extract the seed code corresponding to the provision facility reserved using the transmitted user ID. OTP generator 222 generates the OTP by substituting, for a predetermined formula a, the extracted seed code and the reception time at which the OTP request information has been received. This formula a may be any formula. Moreover, the OTP is generated using the seed code and the reception time, but the seed code is not specified from this OTP. [0169] In S106, communicator 224 (transmitter) of server 200 transmits this OTP to in-vehicle device 22. In S108, in-vehicle device 22 transmits this transmitted OTP to power supply connector 402 through the NFC communication. [0170] When power supply connector 402 receives this OTP in S110, OTP determination device 414 determines in S112 whether or not the received OTP is correct. [0171] Here, the following describes an exemplary determination method. OTP determination device 414 holds the same formula a as formula a held by OTP generator 222 of server 200. OTP determination device 414 generates a confirmation OTP by substituting, for this formula a, the seed code stored in seed code storage 412 (the same seed code as that upon the generation of the OTP by server 200) and the reception time at which the OTP has been received in S110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of emulating a fuel pump on a mobile device of Perry and Butsch in view of the communication terminal as taught by Sakuma in order to prevent a wrongdoing in which an unauthorized user who has not appropriately made a reservation to use power supply device uses power supply device to steal power. (Sakuma [0180])
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Prior Art of Record Not Currently Relied Upon
Tingler et al. (US 2017/0178257 A1) Teaches: Service station fuel pump.
Goldberg et al. (US 2018/0121684 A1) Teaches: Power Charger authorization for a user equipment via cryptographic handshake.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY M JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692