DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10-17 and the cancellation of claims 2, 3, 6, and 9 filed November 21, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring-loaded eccentric or wedge, as recited in claim 12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 12-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 2, the phrase “at least one electric motor-driven drive” should be changed to “first and second electric motor-driven drives,” in line 6, the phrase “the at least one electric motor-driven drive” should be changed to “the first electric motor-driven drive,” in line 7, the phrase “and additionally to” should be changed to “and the first and second drives,” and in line 12, the phrase “the at least one electric motor-driven drive” should be changed to “the first electric motor-driven drive.”
In regards to claim 5, lines 2 and 3, the phrase “wherein the at least one electric motor-driven drive comprises a first electric motor-driven drive configured” should be changed to “wherein the first electric motor-driven drive is configured,” and in lines 4 and 5, the phrase “a second electric motor-driven drive configured” should be changed to “the second electric motor-driven drive is configured.”
In regards to claim 10, the phrase “wherein the at least one electric motor-driven drive is” should be changed to “wherein each of the first and second motor-driven drives is.”
In regards to claim 12, line 2, the phrase “the locking mechanism” should be changed to “the closure device.”
In regards to claim 13, line 2, the phrase “wherein the at least one electric motor-driven drive” should be changed to “wherein the first electric motor-driven drive.”
In regards to claim 14, line 2, the phrase “wherein the at least one electric motor-driven drive” should be changed to “wherein the second electric motor-driven drive.”
In regards to claim 15, line 3, the phrase “the at least one electric motor-driven drive based” should be changed to “the first and second electric motor-driven drives.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, the claim has been amended to include the rotary latch, pawl, and opening device, and therefore, these components cannot be operated by a single electric motor-driven drive, as suggested by the phrase “at least one electric motor-driven drive acts on the opening device for opening the door leaf to the predefined gap position.” It is understood from the specification and claim 5 that the motor vehicle door arrangement includes first and second electric motor-driven drives, such that the first electric motor-driven drive acts on the opening device. The current claim language suggests that the second electric motor-driven drive can act on the opening device in addition to the first electric motor-driven drive. For examination purposes, the claim has been examined with the language set forth in the claim objections above and supported by the specification and claim 5. See objections to claims 1, 5, 10, and 13-15 above.
In regards to claim 12, the specification and drawings do not provide an adequate description of the "spring-loaded eccentric or wedge" of claim 12 such that one of ordinary skill in the art can ascertain the structure of the eccentric or wedge and how it is incorporated into the device as fully illustrated in the drawings and fully discussed in the specification.
In regards to claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13-17, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogorats et al. (DE 102018126968 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Bogorats et al. discloses a motor vehicle door arrangement, comprising: first and second electric motor-driven drives 14 and 23 for acting on a door leaf 1, and a closure device including a rotary latch 5 and a pawl 6, and an opening device 10, 16, 20 that directly acts on a lock holder 7 (Figure 3b), wherein the opening device is separate from the rotary latch and the pawl, the first electric motor-driven drive being configured to open the door leaf into a predefined gap position (Figure 3b) in relation to a motor vehicle body 4 and the first and second electric motor-driven drives implement at least one functional position of the closure device (implement or affect positions of the closure device, as shown in Figures 2 and 3), wherein the at least one functional position of the closure device includes a safety position corresponding to an unlocked and secure position of the closure device (Figure 3a), and an open position of the closure device (Figure 4a), wherein the first electric motor-driven drive acts on the opening device for opening the door leaf to the predefined gap position (Figure 3b).
In regards to claim 4, Bogorats et al. discloses that the opening device is integrated in the closure device (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 5, Bogorats et al. discloses that the first electric motor-driven drive is configured to act on the opening device and configured to implement the safety position of the closure device (Figures 3a and 3b), and the second electric motor-driven drive is configured to act on the opening device (acts on the state of the opening device by releasing the rotary latch through movement of the pawl, Figures 2 and 3) and configured to implement the open position of the closure device (causes the movement of the pawl to release the rotary latch to the open position).
In regards to claim 10, Bogorats et al. discloses that each of the first and second motor-driven drives is a single electric motor-driven drive (Figure 2, with the second drive including a single motor of drive 23).
In regards to claim 13, Bogorats et al. discloses that the first electric motor-driven drive is integrated in the opening device (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 14, Bogorats et al. discloses that the second electric motor-driven drive is integrated in the closure device (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 16, Bogorats et al. discloses that the opening device comprises a toggle lever 16 and a slider 10 that is extended or retracted by operation of the toggle lever (component 10 is considered as a slider because it moves smoothly along the surface of the rotary latch, Figures 2-4).
In regards to claim 17, Bogorats et al. discloses an adjusting lever 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogorats et al. (DE 102018126968 A1) in view of Reddmann (EP 1191172 A2).
In regards to claim 7, Bogorats et al. fails to disclose at least one sensor for determining a position of the door leaf. Reddmann teaches at least one sensor 11 for detecting an open position of a door leaf 5 (based on the position of the rotary latch 2, Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include at least one sensor, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitor the position of the door leaf.
In regards to claim 8, Reddmann teaches that the at least one sensor comprises a sensor located in an opening device or a closure device (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 11, Bogorats et al. fails to disclose a sensor for determining a position of the door leaf, with the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotary latch. Reddmann teaches a sensor 11 for detecting an open position of a door leaf 5 (based on the position of the rotary latch 2, Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation), the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotary latch (Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a sensor, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitor the position of the door leaf via the position of the rotary latch.
In regards to claim 12, Bogorats et al. in view of Reddmann teaches that the closure device includes a spring-loaded eccentric or wedge (portion of the rotary latch extending towards component 19 in Figure 2 of Bogorats et al., with the eccentric or wedge being spring-loaded because the eccentric or wedge is part of the body of the rotary latch and the rotary latch can be spring-loaded, as taught by Reddmann in Paragraph 22 of the Computer Generated Translation) that is detected by the sensor to detect the position of the rotary latch (the eccentric or wedge of Reddmann, shown in Figure 1 below, is located so as to cooperate with sensor 11, Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 21 of the Computer Generated Translation, and therefore, the sensor taught by Reddmann could be located so as to cooperate with the eccentric or wedge of Bogorats et al.).
In regards to claim 15, Reddmann teaches a control unit 13 configured to process signals from the at least one sensor and to control at least one electric motor-driven drive based on the signal processing (Paragraph 21 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the drawing objections regarding claims 3, 6, 10, and 17 set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, the drawing objection regarding claim 12 is maintained because the eccentric or wedge is not shown in the drawings and one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain to what structure is encompassed by the phrase “a spring-loaded eccentric or wedge.”
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and most of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, new claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are set forth in the current Office Action based on applicant’s amendments. The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been maintained based on the reasons set forth in Paragraph 29 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 March 18, 2026