DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13-17 and the cancellation of claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, and 12.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mechanical structure between the first electric motor-driven drive 4 and the opening device 5, such that the first electric motor-driven drive can actuate the opening device, as recited in claim 1, and the mechanical structure between the second electric motor-driven drive 18 and the opening device, such that the second electric motor-driven drive can actuate the opening device, as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, it is unclear how the first electric motor-driven drive actuates the opening device. Paragraphs 39 and 40 of the specification state that the adjusting lever 17 of the first electric motor-driven drive 4 has some mechanical connection to the opening device, but the specification and drawings do not provide an adequate description of the mechanical connection between the first electric motor-driven drive and the opening device such that one of ordinary skill in the art can ascertain how applicant intends for the opening device to be actuated by the first electric motor-driven drive.
In regards to claim 1, it is unclear how the second electric motor-driven drive 18 actuates the opening device 5, since the specification and the drawings do not provide a description of the mechanical connection between the second electric motor-driven drive and the opening device such that one of ordinary skill in the art can ascertain how applicant intends for the opening device to be actuated by the second electric motor-driven drive.
In regards to claim 1, it is unclear how a position can be “unlocked and secured” simultaneously, since the term “unlocked” suggests release and the term “secured” suggests something being held and not released. For examination purposes, the claim will be given a broad interpretation.
In regards to claim 1, the relationship between the “predefined gap position in relation to a motor vehicle body,” as recited in lines 14 and 15, and the “predefined gap position in relation to a motor vehicle body,” as recited in lines 8 and 9, is unclear from the claim language. It is assumed that the “predefined gap position” in lines 14 and 15 is equivalent to the “predefined gap position” in lines 8 and 9, and will be examined as such.
In regards to claim 4, based on the language of claim 1 that recites that the closure device has open and unlocked and secure positions, then the closure device must refer to movable components of the rotary latch and the pawl alone, and not a stationary structure into which the opening device can be integrated as recited in claim 4. For examination purposes, the claim will be given a broad interpretation.
In regards to claims 13 and 14, based on the language of claim 1 that recites that the closure device has open and unlocked and secure positions, then the closure device must refer to movable components of the rotary latch and the pawl alone, and not a stationary structure into which the first and second electric motor-driven drives can be integrated as recited in claims 13 and 14. For examination purposes, the claims will be given a broad interpretation.
In regards to claim 17, the claim depends from canceled claim 5. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as depending from claim 1.
In regards to claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, and 16, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogorats et al. (DE 102018126968 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Bogorats et al. discloses a motor vehicle door arrangement, comprising: first 14 and second 38 electric motor-driven drives for acting on a door leaf 1, a closure device including a rotary latch 5 and a pawl 6, and an opening device 10, 16, 20 that directly acts on a lock holder 7, wherein the opening device is separate from the rotary latch and the pawl (Figure 2), wherein the first electric motor-driven drive is configured to both actuate the opening device to open the door leaf into a predefined gap position in relation to a motor vehicle body 4 (Figure 3b) and additionally to actuate the closure device to implement a safety position corresponding to “an unlocked and secure position” of the closure device (the safety position refers to the position of component 13 engaging with the rotary latch in Figure 5a, in which the rotary latch is unlocked because it is not completely locked as in Figure 5b, but is also “secure” because the rotary latch is held in this position by pawl 6 in Figure 5a), and wherein the second electric motor-driven drive is configured to both actuate the opening device to open the door leaf into the predefined gap position (the drive actuates element 19 back to the original state in Figure 2 to actuate or place the opening device in the state in Figure 2, such that the opening device can then be subsequently actuated by the first electric motor-driven drive) and additionally actuate the closure device to implement an open position of the closure device (Figure 4a).
In regards to claim 4, Bogorats et al. discloses that the opening device is cooperatively located relative to the closure device (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 10, Bogorats et al. discloses that each of the first and second motor-driven drives is a single electric motor-driven drive (Figure 2, with the second drive including a single motor of drive 23).
In regards to claim 13, Bogorats et al. discloses that the first electric motor-driven drive is cooperatively located relative to the closure device (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 14, Bogorats et al. discloses that the second electric motor-driven drive is cooperatively located relative to the closure device (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 16, Bogorats et al. discloses that the opening device comprises a toggle lever 16 and a slider 10 that is extended or retracted by operation of the toggle lever (component 10 is considered as a slider because it moves smoothly along the surface of the rotary latch, Figures 2-4).
In regards to claim 17, Bogorats et al. discloses an adjusting lever 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogorats et al. (DE 102018126968 A1) in view of Reddmann (EP 1191172 A2).
In regards to claim 7, Bogorats et al. fails to disclose at least one sensor for determining a position of the door leaf. Reddmann teaches at least one sensor 11 for detecting an open position of a door leaf 5 (based on the position of the rotary latch 2, Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention to include at least one sensor, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitor the position of the door leaf.
In regards to claim 8, Reddmann teaches that the at least one sensor comprises a sensor located in an opening device or a closure device (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 11, Bogorats et al. fails to disclose a sensor for determining a position of the door leaf, with the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotary latch. Reddmann teaches a sensor 11 for detecting an open position of a door leaf 5 (based on the position of the rotary latch 2, Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation), the sensor being configured to detect a position of the rotary latch (Paragraphs 20, 21, and 27 of the Computer Generated Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a sensor, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitor the position of the door leaf via the position of the rotary latch.
In regards to claim 15, Reddmann teaches a control unit 13 configured to process signals from the at least one sensor and to control at least one electric motor- driven drive based on the signal processing (Paragraph 21 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Response to Arguments
In regards to applicant’s remarks concerning the Bogorats et al. reference and the amendments to claim 1, applicant is referred to the new interpretation of the Bogorats et al. reference applied to claim 1 above and made in light of the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the drawing objections, the claim objections, and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, new drawing objections and new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are set forth in the current Office Action based on applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 September 9, 2026