DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/13/2024, 11/8/2024, 1/31/2025 and 3/3/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (JPH05187730A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito teaches a refrigerating and air-conditioning apparatus [fig 1] comprising:
an outdoor unit including a compressor [1] and an outdoor heat exchanger [0002];
a plurality of indoor units each including an indoor expansion valve [6] and an indoor heat exchanger [7; 0002];
a relay unit connected between the outdoor unit and the plurality of indoor units and including a plurality of three-way valves [8], the plurality of three-way valves each being configured to switch flows of refrigerant and to adjust a flow rate of the refrigerant that passes through the three-way valve, the plurality of three-way valves being provided in number relative to the number of the plurality of indoor units the relay unit being configured to distribute the refrigerant in a low-temperature state to each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform cooling operations and the refrigerant in a high-temperature state to each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform heating operations [0002; 0007]; and
a controller [20] configured to control switching and opening degrees of the plurality of three- way valves [0011],
the plurality of indoor units each including an indoor-side pressure sensor [16] configured to detect an indoor-side pressure, the indoor-side pressure being a pressure of the refrigerant that passes through the indoor heat exchanger [0011],
the controller being configured to control, with reference to the indoor-side pressure of each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform cooling operations, the opening degree of a corresponding three-way valve of the plurality of three-way valves such that the controller is configured to adjust the flow rate of the refrigerant passing through the corresponding three-way valve [0012].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JPH05187730A) in view of Yasuda et al. (JPH10253187A).
Regarding Claim 3, Ito teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the outdoor unit further includes an outdoor expansion valve configured to depressurize and expand the refrigerant, an outdoor-side pressure sensor configured to detect a suction pressure, the suction pressure being a pressure of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor, and an outdoor-side temperature sensor configured to detect a suction temperature, the suction temperature being a temperature of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor, and wherein the controller is configured to derive an evaporating temperature from the suction pressure, calculate a degree of superheat from the suction temperature and the evaporating temperature, and control an opening degree of at least one of the corresponding three-way valve, the outdoor expansion valve, and the corresponding indoor expansion valve when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to a set degree of superheat, which is predetermined.
However, Yasuda teaches an air conditioner [0001] wherein the outdoor unit further includes an outdoor expansion valve [4] configured to depressurize and expand the refrigerant [0022],
an outdoor-side pressure sensor [14] configured to detect a suction pressure, the suction pressure being a pressure of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor [0022], and
an outdoor-side temperature sensor [13] configured to detect a suction temperature, the suction temperature being a temperature of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor [0022], and
wherein the controller [at 0026] is configured to derive an evaporating temperature from the suction pressure, calculate a degree of superheat from the suction temperature and the evaporating temperature [0022], and
control an opening degree of at least one of the corresponding three-way valve, the outdoor expansion valve, and the corresponding indoor expansion valve when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to a set degree of superheat, which is predetermined [0022; where the outdoor expansion valve is controlled and where the claim is recited in the alternative] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system having operational stability [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Ito to have wherein the outdoor unit further includes an outdoor expansion valve configured to depressurize and expand the refrigerant, an outdoor-side pressure sensor configured to detect a suction pressure, the suction pressure being a pressure of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor, and an outdoor-side temperature sensor configured to detect a suction temperature, the suction temperature being a temperature of the refrigerant that is sucked into the compressor, and wherein the controller is configured to derive an evaporating temperature from the suction pressure, calculate a degree of superheat from the suction temperature and the evaporating temperature, and control an opening degree of at least one of the corresponding three-way valve, the outdoor expansion valve, and the corresponding indoor expansion valve when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to a set degree of superheat, which is predetermined in view of the teachings of Yasuda where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system having operational stability.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JPH05187730A) in view of Kasahara (JP2007292429A).
Regarding Claim 6, Kasahara teaches the invention of claim 3 above but does not teach wherein the controller is configured to, in a cooling main operation or in a cooling only operation, reduce, when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to the set degree of superheat, the opening degree of the indoor expansion valve of each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform heating operations.
However, Kasahara teaches an air conditioner [0001] having wherein the controller [at 0069] is configured to, in a cooling main operation or in a cooling only operation, reduce, when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to the set degree of superheat, the opening degree of the indoor expansion valve of each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform heating operations [0105-0107; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. optimizes the ability to determine refrigerant amount and thereby improve the system [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Ito to have wherein the controller is configured to, in a cooling main operation or in a cooling only operation, reduce, when the degree of superheat is lower than or equal to the set degree of superheat, the opening degree of the indoor expansion valve of each of ones of the plurality of indoor units that perform heating operations in view of the teachings of Sumi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. optimizes the ability to determine refrigerant amount and thereby improve the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JPH05187730A) in view of Sumi et al. (US4941326).
Regarding Claim 8, Ito teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein at least one of the plurality of indoor units is configured to take in outdoor air and blow conditioned air to a corresponding one of the indoor spaces.
However, Sumi teaches an air conditioner having an outdoor air introducing mechanism [col 1, lines 6-11] wherein at least one indoor unit is configured to take in outdoor air and blow conditioned air to a corresponding indoor space [col 2, line 60-col 3, line 38; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. optimizes the ability to cool outdoor air in response to changes in the cooling load and/or ventilation rate [col 1, lines 6-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Ito to have wherein at least one of the plurality of indoor units is configured to take in outdoor air and blow conditioned air to a corresponding one of the indoor spaces in view of the teachings of Sumi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. optimizes the ability to cool outdoor air in response to changes in the cooling load and/or ventilation rate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 5 is objected to because of dependency.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763