DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-35 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 13, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 18, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 17 and 28 the term “in some other way” is used, it is unclear as to what is being claimed as this limitation is limitless in that any action is claimed which makes the claim unclear and indefinite. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 20-22, 26, 27, 31, 32, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent No. EP3301624 to Mueck et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,798,278 to Cornacchia (A machine translation of the foreign document is enclosed with this action and referred to herein).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, the Mueck patent teaches a method for locating and manipulating an identifier that is fastened to an item and has a unique machine-readable identity, which comprises the following method steps of:a) transporting 20 the item to a reading apparatus 14; locating and reading out the identifier 10 of the item using the reading apparatus; further handling of the item according to sorting information determined by a readout identifier. See pages 6 and 7 of the translation.
However, the Mueck patent lacks a specific teaching of mechanically manipulating the item using a manipulation apparatus if the identifier is not located successfully; and mechanically manipulating the identifier using the manipulation apparatus independently of moving the item as a whole.
The Cornacchia patent teaches a mechanically manipulating the item using a manipulation apparatus 17 if the identifier is not located successfully; and mechanically manipulating the item using the manipulation apparatus independently of moving the item as a whole. See Fig. 3 and column 6, lines 3-14.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the subject invention to modify the Mueck patent to have the manipulation apparatus as taught by the Cornacchia patent as it would have been combining known prior art elements using known methods to provide the predictable result of being able to orient the packages or luggage as needed in order to read labels or tags.
Regarding claims 20 and 31, the manipulation apparatus manipulates the identifier and/or the item by gripping movements. The term gripping movement as broadly recited in the claims is interpreted as the item does not move. See Fig. 3 of Cornacchia.
Regarding claims 21 and 32, detecting, via a detection apparatus 84, a section of the manipulation apparatus that is manipulating the identifier and/or the item. See Fig. 3 of Cornacchia.
Regarding claims 22 and 35, the detection apparatus follows a movement of the manipulation apparatus. See Fig. 3 of Cornacchia.
Regarding claim 27, manipulation apparatus is configured so as to mechanically manipulate the item in order to locate the identifier. See Fig. 3 of Cornacchia.
Regarding claim 34, said manipulation apparatus has at least two robotic arms. The term robotic arm as broadly recited in the claim is interpreted as parts 62 in Fig. 3 of Cornacchia.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 23-25, 30 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17, 18, 28 and 29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2021/0283780 to Kilibarda et al. teaches a robot end effector for packages.
U.S. Publication No. 2017/0349385 to Moroni et al. teaches tags for packages for sorting.
European Patent No. WO2019/207208 to Tuominen et al. that teaches manipulating a package for movement.
/JUSTIN HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655