Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 18-31 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 17-29 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 30-32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the applicant’s arguments beginning on page 1 of Remarks, the applicant argues that De Carolis fails to disclose all of the claimed limitations of independent claim 17.
On page 1, the applicant argues “In reference to Figs. 1 and 2 of De Carolis, the examiner contends that De Carolis discloses, among other elements of claim 17, plug modules 19, electronics modules 26, and two housing limbs of the electronic modules. Reference numerals 18, 19 and 20 are noted by the examiner as the I/O modules 18, clips 20 connecting the I/O modules together, and plug module 19. Reference 22 is considered one limb of the electronics modules, and reference numeral 20, noted as a clip, is also referenced by the examiner as a limb of the electronics module. Applicant respectfully disagrees with the examiner's analysis.” However, in the Office action dated 11/3/2025, Element 18 corresponds to I/O modules, Element 20 corresponds to connection clips, Element 19 corresponds to an electronics housing, Element 26 corresponds to I/O fittings having a commercially acceptable five pin connection that can be used to power and communicate with a variety of sensors and devices, and Element 22 corresponds to a graphical display. As recited on page 4 of the Office action dated 11/3/2026, I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20. The graphical display 20 of each module is provided orthogonally to the electronics housing 19 series mounted direction. The graphical display 20 and electronics housing 19 are provided orthogonally to one another relative to a series mounting direction of the clips.
The applicant’s arguments appear to rely on a different mapping of recited elements in the Office action to elements in the prior art. Therefore, the arguments pertaining to claim 17 are rendered moot. The previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
With respect to claim 32, the applicant argues “Turning to claim 32, Applicant has amended that claim for clarity to define measuring temperature, voltage or current at a metal assembly of a plug module with a measuring device that is plugged into the plug module and contacts or is in the vicinity of the metal assembly. Neither De Carolis nor Hemmah disclose the method having a measuring device plugged into a plug module as described to measure temperature, voltage or current. Accordingly, claim 32 is believed to be allowable over the cited references.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As disclosed with respect to Element 26 of De Carolis, Element 26 corresponds to I/O fittings having a commercially acceptable five pin connection that can be used to power and communicate with a variety of sensors and devices. Therefore, the modular electrical bus system De Carolis is adaptable to receive plugged in sensors to measure variables. The previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Carolis et al. (hereafter De Carolis)(US PgPub 2010/0251159).
Regarding claim 17, De Carolis discloses a modular plug connector having a strip-shaped configuration and being adapted to plug together with a corresponding mating plug connector (Figures 1-2), the modular plug connector comprising a plurality of modules arranged in series and mechanically connected to one another directly with mechanical connecting mechanisms to form the strip-shaped configuration (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 20 and Paragraphs 0032-0039 where the I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20), comprising a plurality of plug modules and one or more electronics modules (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings provide connections for the electronics of the housing), wherein the electronics module each have two housing limbs orientated at an angle relative to one another, one being a series-mounting limb that can be mounted in series between two of the plug modules and the other being a transverse limb orientated at a right angle thereto and which is arranged on a housing side of one or more of the plug modules, the housing side being orientated at a right angle relative to the series-mounting direction (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 19, 20, 22 and Paragraphs 0032-0039, 0042-0049 and 0054 where the module housing(s) are connected in series by the clips. The graphical display of each module is provided orthogonally to the housing series-mounting direction).
Regarding claim 18, De Carolis discloses wherein the plurality of plug modules each have a metal assembly with at least one plug terminal and at least one conductor terminal, the transverse limb of the respective associated electronics module for the plug module having one of at least one measuring contact and a contactless measuring sensor to contact the metal assembly of the respective plug module that it engages over, that it comes to rest with, or that is situated in the vicinity of the metal assembly of the respective plug module when the module is plugged in (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings provide connections for the electronics of the housing. The fittings are further provided with sensors measuring variables proximate to the fittings).
Regarding claim 19, De Carolis discloses wherein a module housing of the electronics module has an L-shape or a T-shape in at least one side view in the plugging direction of the plug connector (Figures 1-3, Element 19 where the housing provides an L shape relative to a plugging direction).
Regarding claim 20, De Carolis discloses wherein the series-mounting limb of each electronics module and the module housings of each plug module have corresponding mechanical connecting mechanisms at which they can be affixed to one another in a row (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 20 and Paragraphs 0032-0039 where the I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20).
Regarding claim 21, De Carolis discloses wherein the at least one measuring contact is a pin contact which engages the module housing of the plug module it engages over to resiliently contact a busbar of the respective metal assembly (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings provide connections for the electronics of the housing).
Regarding claim 22, De Carolis discloses wherein the at least one measuring contact is a pin contact which engages the module housing of the plug module it engages over, wherein it is arranged in the vicinity of the metal assembly without touching it (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings provide connections for the electronics of the housing. The fittings are further provided with sensors measuring variables proximate to the fittings).
Regarding claim 23, De Carolis discloses wherein the one or more electronics modules has an evaluation device for evaluating a measurement value tapped at one of the plug modules (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings provide connections for the electronics of the housing. The fittings are further provided with sensors measuring variables proximate to the fittings).
Regarding claim 24, De Carolis discloses wherein the one or more electronics modules includes a display device having at least one LED to display the result of the evaluation of a measurement value (Figures 1-2, Element 22 and Paragraphs 0032, 0036 and 0051 where the modules are provided with a display that provide status or information related to detected parameters from sensors).
Regarding claim 25, De Carolis discloses wherein the transverse limbs of the one or more electronics modules each have bus contacts (Figures 1-4, Element 22 and Paragraphs 0032-0039, 0042-0049 and 0054 where the display includes contact elements).
Regarding claim 26, De Carolis discloses wherein a plurality of electronics modules are provided the transverse limbs of the plurality of electronics modules adjoin one another and the bus contacts of the electronics modules contact one another in and against the series-mounting direction, whereby when the plug connector is mounted together, one of a data bus, an energy bus, or both extends over the electronics modules to a communication module of the plug connector to which a higher-level unit can be connected (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 19, 20, 22 and Paragraphs 0032-0039, 0042-0049 and 0054 where the module housing(s) are connected in series by the clips. The fittings are mated to further electronics).
Regarding claim 27, De Carolis discloses wherein the mechanical connecting mechanisms have one or more locking hook and one or more corresponding locking trap (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 20 and Paragraphs 0032-0039 where the I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20).
Regarding claim 28, De Carolis discloses wherein the mechanical connecting mechanisms have one or more peg and one or more corresponding receiving hole (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 20 and Paragraphs 0032-0039 where the I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20).
Regarding claim 29, De Carolis discloses a method for using the one or more electronics modules of a plug connector according to claim 1, wherein the one or more electronics modules is used to perform a measurement and one of evaluate a measurement result, display a measurement result, and evaluate and display a measurement result (Figures 1-2, Element 22 and Paragraphs 0032, 0036 and 0051 where the modules are provided with a display that provides status or information related to detected parameters from sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. (hereafter De Carolis)(US PgPub 2010/0251159) and in view of Hemmah et al. (hereafter Hemmah)(US PgPub 2007/0082550).
Regarding claim 30, De Carolis does not specifically disclose wherein the measurement is or includes a measurement of temperature. In the same field of endeavor, Hemmah discloses a connector module housing where parameters such as temperature, voltage and current are detected to determine faults/abnormalities within the system (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0011, 0021 and 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature sensing to determine faults/abnormalities of the system of Hemmah to the modular electrical bus system of De Carolis, motivation being to detect faults/abnormalities in the bus system which increases system safety.
Regarding claim 31, De Carolis does not specifically disclose wherein the measurement is or includes a measurement of voltage or current. In the same field of endeavor, Hemmah discloses a connector module housing where parameters such as temperature, voltage and current are detected to determine faults/abnormalities within the system (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0011, 0021 and 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the voltage and current sensing to determine faults/abnormalities of the system of Hemmah to the modular electrical bus system of De Carolis, motivation being to detect faults/abnormalities in the bus system which increases system safety.
Regarding claim 32, De Carolis discloses a method of measuring parameters at conductor terminal at a modular plug connector (Figures 1-2), comprising the steps of: a) providing modular plug connector (Figures 1-2, Elements 18, 20 and Paragraphs 0032-0039 where the I/O modules are connected in series by clips 20); b) measuring a parameter at a metal assembly of a plug module with a measuring device plugged therein which contacts or is arranged in the vicinity of the metal assembly of the plug module (Figures 1-2, Elements 19, 26 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0039 where the fittings include five pin pluggable connections for the electronics of the housing. The fittings are further connected with sensors measuring variables proximate to the fittings. The modular electrical bus system is adaptable to receive plugged in sensors to measure variables); and c) at least one of displaying the measurement, displaying a result of the measurement, or forwarding the measurement to a communication module (Figures 1-2, Element 22 and Paragraphs 0032, 0036 and 0051 where the modules are provided with a display that provide status or information related to detected parameters from sensors). De Carolis does not specifically disclose measuring a temperature, a voltage or a current at a metal assembly. In the same field of endeavor, Hemmah discloses a connector module housing where parameters such as temperature, voltage and current are detected to determine faults/abnormalities within the system (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0011, 0021 and 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature, voltage and current sensing to determine faults/abnormalities of the system of Hemmah to the modular electrical bus system of De Carolis, motivation being to detect faults/abnormalities in the bus system which increases system safety.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686