Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 claims properties of coefficient of thermal expansion and coefficient of hygroscopic expansion. It is unclear if the properties pertain to the polyimide film, the core layer, the first skin layer, or the second skin layer. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-20200120492 to Sung Yul et al. (Cited on IDS).
As to claims 1-4, Sung Yul discloses a multilayered polyimide film comprising a polyimide core and polyimide skin layers wherein the skin portion exists on at least one outer surface of the core portion and more preferably a 3-layer film wherein the skin portion is in contact with each of the outer surfaces of the core portion and the back surface of the outer surface (0050-0052). Sung Yul discloses a core portion comprising a polyimide prepared from 9.33 kg of m-tolidine, 4.75 kg of PPD, 12.92 kg of BPDA, and 9.03 kg of PDMA (0203). Sung Yul discloses at least one skin layer prepared from 8.37 kg of m-tolidine, 1.69 kg of ODA, 0.91 kg of PPD, 6.63 kg of BPDA, and 7.02 kg of PMDA (0205).
In the core portion, the content of BPDA is 59%, the content of PDMA is 41%, the content of PPD is 33%, and the content of m-tolidine is 66%.
In the skin portion, the content of BPDA is 52%, the content of PDMA is 48%, the content of PPD is 8%, the content of ODA is 16%, and the content of m-tolidine is 76%.
Sung Yul does not expressly disclose the thermal expansion coefficient and the hygroscopic expansion coefficient. However, the references teach the same type of multilayered polyimide film comprising core and skin layers of polyimides with overlapping and inclusive amounts of the same reactant components. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. thermal and hygroscope expansion would implicitly be achieved by a composite with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicants’ position; and (2) it would the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
As to claim 5, Sung Yul discloses a core portion wherein the contents of BPDA is 59%, PDMA is 41%, PPD is 33%, and m-tolidine is 66%.
As to claim 6, Sung Yul discloses a skin portion wherein the contents of BPDA is 52%, the content of PDMA is 48%, the content of PPD is 8%, the content of ODA is 16%, and the content of m-tolidine is 76%.
As to claim 7, Sung Yul discloses a co-extrusion manufacturing method for preparing the multi-layer film (0136).
As to claims 8-9, Sung Yul discloses flexible metal-clad laminates comprising the multi-layer polyimide film and an electrically conductive metal oil wherein the laminates are suitable in electronic components (0189-0195, 0198).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763