DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
In IDS submitted on 8/13/2024, reference # US 2022/030549 is not a valid PG Publication. It has been lined through.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “angle is no greater than 80 degrees” in claims 10 & 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because said abstract begins with “A a fluidic device, is provided…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leblanc et al (US 2012/0244043, cited in IDS), hereinafter Leblanc.
Regarding claim 1 (interpreted as product-by-process claim), Leblanc teaches a fluidic device comprising: a fluid chamber (¶ [99-101]) containing apolar fluid (¶[39]); the fluid chamber comprising an input port (¶[109-111, Fig 1-4) and a channel fluidly connected to the input port (¶[52, 109]); wherein the input port is formed with an opening (Fig 2-4; ¶[99]) to receive a pipette tip (Fig 3-4) and impart a droplet of polar fluid into the channel (¶[70, 109]); and wherein insertion of the pipette tip into the fluid chamber causes displacement of the apolar fluid in the fluid chamber such that when the pipette tip is retracted from the fluid chamber, apolar fluid displaces the polar fluid from the surface of the pipette tip to form a droplet of polar fluid surrounded by apolar fluid in the channel of the fluid chamber (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113).
Leblanc further teaches in claim 2 wherein the input port comprises a lower surface facing into the fluid chamber (Fig 2-4);
in claim 3 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the input port comprises a resilient seal (Fig 3) formed across the opening of the input port, wherein the resilient seal is formed to create a mechanical seal via an interference fit around the pipette tip received in the input port (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113);
in claim 4 wherein the lower surface of the input port is a lower surface of the resilient seal (Fig 4);
in claim 5 wherein the material of the lower surface of the input port has a greater surface wettability with the apolar fluid than with the polar fluid (¶50);
in claim 6 wherein a wall extends from the lower surface of the resilient seal into the fluid chamber (Fig 9A);
in claim 7 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the wall and lower surface of the resilient seal form a fluidic seal such that apolar fluid is provided around the pipette tip to displace the polar fluid from the surface of the pipette tip as the pipette tip is retracted (¶[109]; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113); and
in claim 8 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the input port is shaped to direct the pipette tip to a channel inlet (Fig 2-4; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 15 (interpreted as product-by-process claim), Leblanc teaches a fluidic device comprising: a fluid chamber (¶ [99-101]) fillable with apolar fluid (¶[39]); the fluid chamber comprising an input port (¶[109-111, Fig 1-4) for receiving a pipette tip (Fig 3-4) to inject a polar fluid into the channel (¶[70, 109]); wherein the input port comprises a resilient seal formed across an opening of the input port (Fig 3), the resilient seal formed to seal around a pipette tip received in the input port (Fig 4; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113).
Leblanc further teaches in claim 16 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the fluid chamber further comprises a channel fluidly connected to the input port (¶[52, 109]), and the input port is shaped to direct a pipette tip into the apolar fluid (Fig 3-4) when the fluid chamber contains the apolar fluid, such that the polar fluid injected from the pipette tip is surrounded by apolar fluid in the channel of the fluid chamber (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113);
in claim 17 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the input port comprises a lower surface facing into the fluid chamber (Fig 2-4), and the device is configured such that upon retraction of the pipette tip from the input port, apolar fluid in the fluid chamber is drawn across the lower surface of the input port and the polar fluid is retained in the channel (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113);
in claim 18 wherein the lower surface is a lower surface of the resilient seal (Fig 4);
in claim 19 wherein the lower surface has a greater wettability with the apolar fluid than with the polar fluid (¶50);
in claim 20 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the device is shaped such that when a pipette tip is received in the input port, a space is formed between the pipette tip and a wall of the device in the fluid chamber (¶[124-125]; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113);
in claim 21 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the wall is formed on the resilient seal and extends into the fluid chamber, wherein the space is formed between the pipette tip and the wall (¶[124-125]; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) See MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leblanc, in view of Lay et al (US2016/0016170, cited in IDS), hereinafter Lay.
Regarding claims 9-10, 22-23 (treated together because claim limitations are the same; also claims 9 and 22 are interpreted as product-by-process claims), Leblanc is silent wherein the input port is shaped to direct the pipette into the fluid chamber at a non-perpendicular angle with respect to a bottom surface of the fluid chamber facing the input port and wherein the angle is no greater than 80 degrees.
Attention is directed to Lay that teaches wherein the input port (22, Fig 2-3) is shaped to direct the pipette tip (18) into the fluid chamber (13) at a non-perpendicular angle with respect to a bottom surface of the fluid chamber facing the input port (Fig 2-3) and wherein the angle is no greater than 80 degrees (as shown in Fig 2, the insertion degree is 68 and in Fig 3, the insertion degree is 75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create input ports to direct the pipette tip at non-perpendicular angle less than 80 degrees, in view of Lay's teaching. Inserting at non-perpendicular angles allows for flexibility.
Regarding claim 24, in addition to the limitations of claim 22, the already modified product further teaches wherein the input port comprises an extended guide (Lay: upper portion of 24, Fig 1-3) for receiving the pipette tip and directing the pipette tip towards the resilient seal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0353958 to Hinojosa et al is directed to the state of the art as a relevant teaching of the claimed invention.
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754