DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a typo graphical omission in line 8 from the bottom reciting “axial end portion)”. The closed parenthesis needs to be removed as there does not appear to be a starting parenthesis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9,11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nuss et al. (DE 102018204691).
Regarding claim 1, Nuss et al. disclose:
A transmission mechanism (pre-amble, patentable weight not given) having a cooling flow path (abstract), comprising:
a shaft assembly (10, Fig 5),
wherein a shaft hole (H) and a discharge hole (13) are formed in the shaft assembly,
the shaft hole (H) extends along an axial direction of the shaft assembly,
an inlet (12) of the shaft hole (H) is formed at one axial end portion of the shaft assembly, and
the discharge hole (13) extends through a wall of the shaft hole (H); and
an inner cylinder (2),
wherein the inner cylinder (2) is accommodated in the shaft hole (H),
an intermediate space (by numeral 10) is formed between an outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) and an inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10),
a central hole (3) and a communication hole (6) are formed in the inner cylinder (2),
the central hole (3) extends along an axial direction of the inner cylinder (2) and is in communication with the inlet (12),
the communication hole (6) extends through a wall of the central hole (3),
one or more first annular rib portions (8) are formed on the outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) at one axial end portion,
the one or more first annular rib portions (8) abut against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10), to seal a gap between the one axial end portion of the inner cylinder (2) and the shaft assembly (10),
one or more second annular rib portions (8) are formed on the outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) at the other axial end portion (Fig 5), and
the one or more second annular rib portions (8) abut against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10), to seal a gap between the other axial end portion of the inner cylinder (2) and the shaft assembly (10, see annotated Fig 5 below),
wherein the intermediate space (by numeral 10) is in communication with a space outside the shaft assembly (10) through the discharge hole (13), and
the central hole (3) is in communication with the intermediate space (by numeral 10) through the communication hole (6), so that a cooling medium entering from the inlet (12) is discharged out of the shaft assembly (10) through the central hole (3), the communication hole (6), the intermediate space (by numeral 10) and the discharge hole (13).
Regarding claim 2/1, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the inner cylinder comprises a plurality of circumferential portions (by 6a,6b, Fig 5) made of plastic (paras 36,37, 46), the plurality of circumferential portions extend along a circumferential direction of the inner cylinder (2), a rib portion (see annotated Fig 5 below) abutting against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10) is formed on each of the plurality of circumferential portions (by 6a,6b), and the rib portion is configured such that the plurality of circumferential portions (6a,6b) are engaged with each other to jointly define the central hole (3).
Regarding claim 3/2, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the plurality of circumferential portions (see annotated Fig 5 above) comprise a first circumferential portion (by 6a) and a second circumferential portion (by 6b), the first circumferential portion comprises a first arc-shaped main body (since they are arc shaped apertures), the second circumferential portion comprises a second arc-shaped main body (since they are arc shaped apertures) fitting with the first arc-shaped main body, the first arc-shaped main body and the second arc-shaped main body extend along the axial direction of the inner cylinder (2) and each have an arc-shaped cross section, and a circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body abuts against a circumferential end portion of the second arc-shaped main body in a state that the first circumferential portion and the second circumferential portion are engaged with each other (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Nuss et al. disclose:
An e-axle (pre-amble, patentable weight not given) drive system (abstract) comprising:
a transmission having a cooling flow path (abstract, para 1), the transmission including:
a shaft assembly (10, Fig 5),
wherein a shaft hole (H) and a discharge hole (13) are formed in the shaft assembly,
the shaft hole (H) extends along an axial direction of the shaft assembly,
an inlet (12) of the shaft hole (H) is formed at one axial end portion of the shaft assembly, and
the discharge hole (13) extends through a wall of the shaft hole (H); and
an inner cylinder (2),
wherein the inner cylinder (2) is accommodated in the shaft hole (H),
an intermediate space (by numeral 10) is formed between an outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) and an inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10),
a central hole (3) and a communication hole (6) are formed in the inner cylinder (2),
the central hole (3) extends along an axial direction of the inner cylinder (2) and is in communication with the inlet (12),
the communication hole (6) extends through a wall of the central hole (3),
one or more first annular rib portions (8) are formed on the outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) at one axial end portion,
the one or more first annular rib portions (8) abut against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10), to seal a gap between the one axial end portion of the inner cylinder (2) and the shaft assembly (10),
one or more second annular rib portions (8) are formed on the outer circumferential wall of the inner cylinder (2) at the other axial end portion (Fig 5), and
the one or more second annular rib portions (8) abut against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10), to seal a gap between the other axial end portion of the inner cylinder (2) and the shaft assembly (10, see annotated Fig 5 above),
wherein the intermediate space (by numeral 10) is in communication with a space outside the shaft assembly (10) through the discharge hole (13), and
the central hole (3) is in communication with the intermediate space (by numeral 10) through the communication hole (6), so that a cooling medium entering from the inlet (12) is discharged out of the shaft assembly (10) through the central hole (3), the communication hole (6), the intermediate space (by numeral 10) and the discharge hole (13).
Regarding claim 11/9, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the inner cylinder comprises a plurality of circumferential portions (by 6a,6b, Fig 5) made of plastic (paras 36,37, 46), the plurality of circumferential portions extend along a circumferential direction of the inner cylinder (2), a rib portion (see annotated Fig 5 below) abutting against the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly (10) is formed on each of the plurality of circumferential portions (by 6a,6b), and the rib portion is configured such that the plurality of circumferential portions (6a,6b) are engaged with each other to jointly define the central hole (3).
Regarding claim 12/11, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the plurality of circumferential portions (see annotated Fig 5 above) comprise a first circumferential portion (by 6a) and a second circumferential portion (by 6b), the first circumferential portion comprises a first arc-shaped main body (since they are arc shaped apertures), the second circumferential portion comprises a second arc-shaped main body (since they are arc shaped apertures) fitting with the first arc-shaped main body, the first arc-shaped main body and the second arc-shaped main body extend along the axial direction of the inner cylinder (2) and each have an arc-shaped cross section, and a circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body abuts against a circumferential end portion of the second arc-shaped main body in a state that the first circumferential portion and the second circumferential portion are engaged with each other (Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuss et al. (DE 102018204691).
Regarding claim 7/1, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the shaft assembly (10) comprises a main shaft (1, Fig 16) and a shaft cap (7, Fig 20), a main shaft through-hole (better seen in Fig 5 by numerals 3,12) extending along an axial direction of the main shaft is formed in the main shaft, an opening of the main shaft through-hole at one axial end portion of the main shaft is used as the inlet (3, Fig 5), and the shaft cap (7, Fig 20) is fixed at the other axial end portion of the main shaft to seal an opening of the main shaft through-hole at the other axial end portion of the main shaft.
Nuss et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments. However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining the teachings of Nuss et al. to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would depend on cost (para 36), cooing (paras 7,9,12,14,43-44),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Nuss et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired on cost (para 36), cooing (paras 7,9,12,14,43-44),
Regarding claim 16/9, Nuss et al. disclose wherein the shaft assembly (10) comprises a main shaft (1, Fig 16) and a shaft cap (7, Fig 20), a main shaft through-hole (better seen in Fig 5 by numerals 3,12) extending along an axial direction of the main shaft is formed in the main shaft, an opening of the main shaft through-hole at one axial end portion of the main shaft is used as the inlet (3, Fig 5), and the shaft cap (7, Fig 20) is fixed at the other axial end portion of the main shaft to seal an opening of the main shaft through-hole at the other axial end portion of the main shaft.
Nuss et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments. However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining the teachings of Nuss et al. to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would depend on cost (para 36), cooing (paras 7,9,12,14,43-44),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Nuss et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired on cost (para 36), cooing (paras 7,9,12,14,43-44),
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6,8,10,13-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 4/3 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body is recessed, and the circumferential end portion of the second arc-shaped main body is inserted into the recessed circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body, so that the first circumferential portion is fixed relative to the second circumferential portion in the circumferential direction and a radial direction of the inner cylinder.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 5/3 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein one of the first circumferential portions and the second circumferential portion has a position-limiting recess, the other of the first circumferential portions and the second circumferential portion has a position-limiting protrusion, and the position-limiting recess fits with the position-limiting protrusion, so that the first circumferential portion is fixed relative to the second circumferential portion in the axial direction of the inner cylinder.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 6/2 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein each of the circumferential portions has a plurality of rib portions, and the plurality of rib portions extend along the axial direction of the inner cylinder, for one of the circumferential portions, the plurality of rib portions extend from different circumferential parts of the circumferential portion and abut against different circumferential parts of the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 8/7 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the main shaft through-hole comprises a first axial section, an intermediate section and a second axial section which are arranged from the one axial end portion of the main shaft to the other axial end portion of the main shaft and are in communication with one another (Fig 5 shows it can be divided into multiple sections), a cross-sectional area of the main shaft through-hole increases in stages as the main shaft through-hole passes through the first axial section, the intermediate section and the second axial section, the discharge hole is in communication with the intermediate section, and a part of the inner cylinder comprising the one axial end portion of the inner cylinder extends into the intermediate section, a shaft cap blind hole in communication with the main shaft through-hole is formed in the shaft cap, and a part of the inner cylinder comprising the other axial end portion of the inner cylinder extends into the shaft cap blind hole.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 10/9 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the e-axle drive system further comprises a housing, a transmission and a motor, wherein the housing comprises a first space and a second space spaced apart from each other, the transmission is accommodated in the first space, the motor is accommodated in the second space, both the inlet and the discharge hole are located in the first space, and a rotor of the motor is anti-torsion connected with a part of the transmission mechanism located in the second space.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 13/12 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body is recessed, and the circumferential end portion of the second arc-shaped main body is inserted into the recessed circumferential end portion of the first arc-shaped main body, so that the first circumferential portion is fixed relative to the second circumferential portion in the circumferential direction and a radial direction of the inner cylinder.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 14/12 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein one of the first circumferential portions and the second circumferential portion has a position-limiting recess, the other of the first circumferential portions and the second circumferential portion has a position-limiting protrusion, and the position-limiting recess fits with the position-limiting protrusion, so that the first circumferential portion is fixed relative to the second circumferential portion in the axial direction of the inner cylinder.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 15/11 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein each of the circumferential portions has a plurality of rib portions, and the plurality of rib portions extend along the axial direction of the inner cylinder, for one of the circumferential portions, the plurality of rib portions extend from different circumferential parts of the circumferential portion and abut against different circumferential parts of the inner circumferential wall of the shaft assembly.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 17/16 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the main shaft through-hole comprises a first axial section, an intermediate section and a second axial section which are arranged from the one axial end portion of the main shaft to the other axial end portion of the main shaft and are in communication with one another, a cross-sectional area of the main shaft through-hole increases in stages as the main shaft through-hole passes through the first axial section, the intermediate section and the second axial section, the discharge hole is in communication with the intermediate section, and a part of the inner cylinder comprising the one axial end portion of the inner cylinder extends into the intermediate section, a shaft cap blind hole in communication with the main shaft through-hole is formed in the shaft cap, and a part of the inner cylinder comprising the other axial end portion of the inner cylinder extends into the shaft cap blind hole”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834