DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) are rejected under 102, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued in the remark that prior art does not disclose not terminal beam capability reporting.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. , Liu discloses 0038, The UE may report its own multi-beam measurement capability information to the base station and may also report its own single-beam measurement capability information to the base station. An [0040] The base station receives the multi-beam measurement capability information reported by the UE, to generate the first measurement configuration information according to the multi-beam measurement capability information. If the UE has a multi-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure a single-beam or multi-beam measurement capability for the UE, and if the UE has the single-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure the single-beam measurement capability for the UE only.
Applicant argued in the remark that Claim 1 requires the first type terminal to send capability reporting signaling to a network device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Liu discloses 0008 a base station, i.e. a network device, includes: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive multi-beam measurement capability information reported by UE; generate first measurement configuration information for the UE according to the multi-beam measurement capability information, the first measurement configuration information including multiple beams configured for the UE by the base station; send the first measurement configuration information to the UE such that the UE generates first measurement signals according to the multiple beams in the first measurement configuration information; and receive the first measurement signals reported by the UE.
Applicant argued in the remark that Ganesan does not disclose that a single capability reporting signaling carries beam capability information indicating both a beam capability corresponding to the first link and a beam capability corresponding to the second link supported by the first type terminal.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ganesan discloses 0052 beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information (“CSI”) reference signal (“RS”) (“CSI-RS”) transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information (“SCI”), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel (“PSFCH”) transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14,29-30, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al US 2023/0361955 in view of Liu US 2020/0053588.
As per claim 1. Ganesan discloses a method for reporting beam capability, executed by a first type terminal, and comprising:
The first type terminal sending a beam capability, the capability reporting signaling carrying beam capability information, and the beam capability information indicating a beam capability corresponding to a first link and a beam capability corresponding to a second link supported by the first type terminal (0005 , and , 0069 fig.4, first UE 402, i.e. The first type terminal, sends the UE a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams), wherein the beam capability information is represented by the number of spatial relationships. and each spatial relationship, is used to indicate a beam direction of a specific spatial directivity ( 0069 , if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions and );
wherein the first type terminal is connected to a second type terminal through the first link, and the first type terminal is connected to the network device through the second link (0035 The remote units 102 may communicate directly with one or more of the network units 104, i.e. the network device, via UL communication signals. In certain embodiments, the remote units 102 may communicate directly with other remote units 102 via sidelink and 0052 beam establishment and best beam feedback reception for unicast with channel state information (“CSI”) reference signal (“RS”) (“CSI-RS”) transmission, beamforming for the transmission of 1st sidelink control information (“SCI”), 2nd SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (“PSSCH”), configuration of sidelink dedicated transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) table for unicast, TCI and/or cast type state indication in SCI for receiving 2nd SCI and PSSCH and a beamforming aspect for physical sidelink feedback channel (“PSFCH”) transmission. ).
Ganesan fails to disclose sending capability reporting signaling to a network device.
However, Liu discloses sending capability reporting signaling to a network device ( 0038, The UE may report its own multi-beam measurement capability information to the base station and may also report its own single-beam measurement capability information to the base station. And [0040] The base station receives the multi-beam measurement capability information reported by the UE, to generate the first measurement configuration information according to the multi-beam measurement capability information. If the UE has a multi-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure a single-beam or multi-beam measurement capability for the UE, and if the UE has the single-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure the single-beam measurement capability for the UE only).
Ganesan and Liu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of telecommunication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide beaming to the base station.
Doing so would configure the UE based on the beaming capability, thereby increasing the channel quality of losing with the base station.
As per claim 2. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 1, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a first signaling and a second signaling, the first signaling carries first beam capability information, and the second signaling carries second beam capability information; or wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a third signaling, and the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information; wherein the first beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the first link, and the second beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the second link (0080] In the third embodiment, a TX UE may configure a sidelink TCI table based on its supported configuration of a plurality of sidelink reference signals like SL CSI-RS, SL SSB, SL positioning reference signal (“PRS”), demodulation reference signal (“DMRS”), SL phase tracking reference signal (“PTRS”), and so forth. The TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling In various embodiments, a MAC CE may signal a sidelink TCI table configuration along with a corresponding destination ID. In certain embodiments, a TX UE may signal a dedicated reference signal configuration together with a TCI state table in PC5 RRC or MAC CE. In some embodiments, a DMRS base sequence, a cyclic shift, a DMRS pattern, a DMRS resource, and so forth may be exchanged in PC5 RRC between a TX UE and a RX UE. In various embodiments, a plurality of DMRS resources (e.g., each corresponding to a beam and/or panel) may be signaled. ).
As per claim 3. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 2, Ganesan disclsoes wherein in a case that the first link and the second link do not share beam capabilities, the first signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second signaling carries the second beam capability information; or in a case that the first link and the second link do not share beam capabilities, the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information([0075] In some embodiments, a UE may know an SSID based on a reception of a sidelink primary synchronization signal (“PSS”) and secondary synchronizations signal (“SSS”), and the SSID may inform the UE about a type of synchronization source being used for the transmission of a sidelink synchronization signal (“SLSS”). If UE1 is a synchronization reference UE and it would like to initiate a unicast transmission with UE2, UE2, after receiving a discovery request, may not still be aware that the TX UE (UE1) is also a synchronization reference UE and there is no linkage between a source-destination ID and an SSID. ).
As per claim 4. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 2, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first type terminal comprises a first antenna unit and a second antenna unit, and a physical orientation of the first antenna unit is different from or incoherent to a physical orientation of the second antenna unit; and the first link uses the first antenna unit and the second link uses the second antenna unit (0069] In certain embodiments, if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions. The UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS using the same configuration signaled by UE1 and UE2 may start SL CSI-RS transmission towards UE1 after the slot offset signaled by UE1. Moreover, the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS in a resource reserved and signaled in SCI by UE1. In some embodiments, UE2 may send a request to a gNB for mode 1 resources for CSI-RS transmission. A slot offset signaled by UE1 to UE2 may be enough to cover a processing time and/or a delay incurred due to resource allocation in finding SL CSI-RS resources (e.g., SL CSI-RS resource determination). In various embodiments, at least two sets of SL CSI-RS resources are indicated, wherein one set (e.g., a first set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE1 to UE2, and another set (e.g., a second set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE2 to UE1. ).
As per claim 5. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 2, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information are same; or wherein the first beam capability information is different from the second beam capability information([0062] In some embodiments, a gNB may configure sidelink UEs using radio resource control (“RRC”) common signaling with a reduced and/or sub-set of a CSI-RS configuration table (e.g., at least prior to PC5 RRC connection establishment) to be used for SL communication (e.g., based on a table). A number of configurations and a size of a table used may be reduced based on a UE capability in sidelink communication. ).
As per claim 6. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 1, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the capability reporting signaling carries third beam capability information ( [0058] In one example, a UE may initiate SL beam establishment or acquisition (e.g., in a frequency range above 6 GHz (e.g., mm wave frequencies such as FR2, FR3, and/or FR4)) in response to triggering an establishment of a new PC5 unicast link. The new PC5 unicast link may be used by a V2X application layer in the UE to support data transfer for a V2X service type. The V2X service type may be associated with a PC5 quality of service (“QoS”) flow identified by packet format information (“PFI”) corresponding to a particular V2X service requirement by the V2X application layer. In such an example, the SL CSI-RS resource is transmitted via a plurality of beams and/or panels at the same time with multi beam operation if a UE capability enables the transmission of the plurality of beam at the same time. In certain embodiments, CSI-RS may be beam swept at a different time instant in different spatial direction.).
As per claim 7. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 6, Ganesan disclsoes wherein, in a case that the first link and the second link share beam capabilities, the capability reporting signaling carries the third beam capability information([0034] FIG. 1 depicts an embodiment of a wireless communication system 100 for multiple sidelink reference signals. In one embodiment, the wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 102 and network units 104. Even though a specific number of remote units 102 and network units 104 are depicted in FIG. 1, one of skill in the art will recognize that any number of remote units 102 and network units 104 may be included in the wireless communication system 100. ).
As per claim 8. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 6, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first type terminal comprises one antenna unit or a plurality of antenna units, and physical orientations of the plurality of antenna units are same or coherent(0020] Modules may also be implemented in code and/or software for execution by various types of processors. An identified module of code may, for instance, include one or more physical or logical blocks of executable code which may, for instance, be organized as an object, procedure, or function. Nevertheless, the executables of an identified module need not be physically located together, but may include disparate instructions stored in different locations which, when joined logically together, include the module and achieve the stated purpose for the module. ).
As per claim 9. Ganesan disclsoes A method for reporting beam capability, executed by a network device, and comprising:
a first type terminal sending a beam capability, the capability reporting signaling carrying beam capability information, and the beam capability information indicating a beam capability corresponding to a first link and a beam capability corresponding to a second link supported by the first type terminal (0005 , and , 0069 fig.4, first UE 402 sends the UE a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams), wherein the beam capability information is represented by the number of spatial relationships. and each spatial relationship, is used to indicate a beam direction of a specific spatial directivity ( 0069 , if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions and );
wherein the first type terminal is connected to a second type terminal through the first link, and the first type terminal is connected to the network device through the second link (0035 The remote units 102 may communicate directly with one or more of the network units 104, i.e. the network device, via UL communication signals. In certain embodiments, the remote units 102 may communicate directly with other remote units 102 via sidelink ).
Ganesan fails to disclose receiving capability reporting signaling to a network device.
However, Liu discloses receiving capability reporting signaling to a network device.( 0038] The UE may report its own multi-beam measurement capability information to the base station and may also report its own single-beam measurement capability information to the base station. And [0040] The base station receives the multi-beam measurement capability information reported by the UE, to generate the first measurement configuration information according to the multi-beam measurement capability information. If the UE has a multi-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure a single-beam or multi-beam measurement capability for the UE, and if the UE has the single-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure the single-beam measurement capability for the UE only).
Ganesan and Liu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of telecommunication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide beaming to the base station.
Doing so would configure the UE based on the beaming capability, thereby increasing the channel quality of losing with the base station.
As per claim 10. Ganesan and Liu discloses the method according to claim 9, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a first signaling and a second signaling, the first signaling carries first beam capability information, and the second signaling carries second beam capability information; or wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a third signaling, and the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information; wherein, the first beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the first link, and the second beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the second link(0080] In the third embodiment, a TX UE may configure a sidelink TCI table based on its supported configuration of a plurality of sidelink reference signals like SL CSI-RS, SL SSB, SL positioning reference signal (“PRS”), demodulation reference signal (“DMRS”), SL phase tracking reference signal (“PTRS”), and so forth. The TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling In various embodiments, a MAC CE may signal a sidelink TCI table configuration along with a corresponding destination ID. In certain embodiments, a TX UE may signal a dedicated reference signal configuration together with a TCI state table in PC5 RRC or MAC CE. In some embodiments, a DMRS base sequence, a cyclic shift, a DMRS pattern, a DMRS resource, and so forth may be exchanged in PC5 RRC between a TX UE and a RX UE. In various embodiments, a plurality of DMRS resources (e.g., each corresponding to a beam and/or panel) may be signaled ).
As per claim 11. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 10, Ganesan disclsoes further comprising: determining, in a case that the first signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second signaling carries the second beam capability information, that the first link and the second link do not share beam capabilities; determining, in a case that the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information, that the first link and the second link do not share beam capability (([0075] In some embodiments, a UE may know an SSID based on a reception of a sidelink primary synchronization signal (“PSS”) and secondary synchronizations signal (“SSS”), and the SSID may inform the UE about a type of synchronization source being used for the transmission of a sidelink synchronization signal (“SLSS”). If UE1 is a synchronization reference UE and it would like to initiate a unicast transmission with UE2, UE2, after receiving a discovery request, may not still be aware that the TX UE (UE1) is also a synchronization reference UE and there is no linkage between a source-destination ID and an SSID).
As per claim 12. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 10, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information are same; or wherein the first beam capability information is different from the second beam capability information (0069] In certain embodiments, if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions. The UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS using the same configuration signaled by UE1 and UE2 may start SL CSI-RS transmission towards UE1 after the slot offset signaled by UE1. Moreover, the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS in a resource reserved and signaled in SCI by UE1. In some embodiments, UE2 may send a request to a gNB for mode 1 resources for CSI-RS transmission. A slot offset signaled by UE1 to UE2 may be enough to cover a processing time and/or a delay incurred due to resource allocation in finding SL CSI-RS resources (e.g., SL CSI-RS resource determination). In various embodiments, at least two sets of SL CSI-RS resources are indicated, wherein one set (e.g., a first set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE1 to UE2, and another set (e.g., a second set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE2 to UE1).
As per claim 13. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 9, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the capability reporting signaling carries third beam capability information ( ([0062] In some embodiments, a gNB may configure sidelink UEs using radio resource control (“RRC”) common signaling with a reduced and/or sub-set of a CSI-RS configuration table (e.g., at least prior to PC5 RRC connection establishment) to be used for SL communication (e.g., based on a table). A number of configurations and a size of a table used may be reduced based on a UE capability in sidelink communication).
As per claim 14. Ganesan and Liu discloses The method according to claim 13, Ganesan disclsoes further comprising: determining, in a case that the capability reporting signaling carries the third beam capability information, that the first link and the second link share beam capabilities ( [0058] In one example, a UE may initiate SL beam establishment or acquisition (e.g., in a frequency range above 6 GHz (e.g., mm wave frequencies such as FR2, FR3, and/or FR4)) in response to triggering an establishment of a new PC5 unicast link. The new PC5 unicast link may be used by a V2X application layer in the UE to support data transfer for a V2X service type. The V2X service type may be associated with a PC5 quality of service (“QoS”) flow identified by packet format information (“PFI”) corresponding to a particular V2X service requirement by the V2X application layer. In such an example, the SL CSI-RS resource is transmitted via a plurality of beams and/or panels at the same time with multi beam operation if a UE capability enables the transmission of the plurality of beam at the same time. In certain embodiments, CSI-RS may be beam swept at a different time instant in different spatial direction).
As per claim 29. Ganesan discloses a first type terminal, comprising:
a processor; and a transceiver connected to the processor (0040 the remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204); wherein the processor is configured to:
the first type terminal sending a beam capability, the capability reporting signaling carrying beam capability information, and the beam capability information indicating a beam capability corresponding to a first link and a beam capability corresponding to a second link supported by the first type terminal (0005 , and , 0069 fig.4, first UE, i.e. the first type terminal , 402 sends the UE a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams), wherein the beam capability information is represented by the number of spatial relationships. and each spatial relationship, is used to indicate a beam direction of a specific spatial directivity ( 0069 , if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions and );
wherein the first type terminal is connected to a second type terminal through the first link, and the first type terminal is connected to the network device through the second link (0035 The remote units 102 may communicate directly with one or more of the network units 104, i.e. the network device, via UL communication signals. In certain embodiments, the remote units 102 may communicate directly with other remote units 102 via sidelink ).
Ganesan fails to disclose sending capability reporting signaling to a network device.
However, Liu discloses sending capability reporting signaling to a network device ( 0038] The UE may report its own multi beam measurement capability information to the base station and may also report its own single-beam measurement capability information to the base station. And [0040] The base station receives the multi-beam measurement capability information reported by the UE, to generate the first measurement configuration information according to the multi-beam measurement capability information. If the UE has a multi-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure a single-beam or multi-beam measurement capability for the UE, and if the UE has the single-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure the single-beam measurement capability for the UE only).
Ganesan and Liu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of telecommunication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide beaming to the base station.
Doing so would configure the UE based on the beaming capability, thereby increasing the channel quality of losing with the base station.
As per claim 30. Ganesan A network device, comprising: a processor; and a transceiver connected to the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to (0040 the remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204); wherein the processor is configured to:
The first type terminal sending a beam capability, the capability reporting signaling carrying beam capability information, and the beam capability information indicating a beam capability corresponding to a first link and a beam capability corresponding to a second link supported by the first type terminal (0005 , and , 0069 fig.4, first UE 402 sends the UE a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams), wherein the beam capability information is represented by the number of spatial relationships. and each spatial relationship, is used to indicate a beam direction of a specific spatial directivity ( 0069 , if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions);
wherein the first type terminal is connected to a second type terminal through the first link, and the first type terminal is connected to the network device through the second link (0035 The remote units 102 may communicate directly with one or more of the network units 104, i.e. the network device, via UL communication signals. In certain embodiments, the remote units 102 may communicate directly with other remote units 102 via sidelink ).
Ganesan fails to disclose sending capability reporting signaling to a network device.
However, Liu discloses sending capability reporting signaling to a network device ( 0038] The UE may report its own multi beam measurement capability information to the base station and may also report its own single-beam measurement capability information to the base station. And [0040] The base station receives the multi-beam measurement capability information reported by the UE, to generate the first measurement configuration information according to the multi-beam measurement capability information. If the UE has a multi-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure a single-beam or multi-beam measurement capability for the UE, and if the UE has the single-beam measurement capability, the base station may configure the single-beam measurement capability for the UE only).
Ganesan and Liu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of telecommunication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Liu and provide beaming to the base station.
Doing so would configure the UE based on the beaming capability, thereby increasing the channel quality of losing with the base station.
As per claim 33. Ganesan and Liu discloses The first type terminal according to claim 29, Ganesan discloses wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a first signaling and a second signaling, the first signaling carries first beam capability information, and the second signaling carries second beam capability information; or wherein the capability reporting signaling comprises a third signaling, and the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information; wherein the first beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the first link, and the second beam capability information indicates the beam capability corresponding to the second link(0080] In the third embodiment, a TX UE may configure a sidelink TCI table based on its supported configuration of a plurality of sidelink reference signals like SL CSI-RS, SL SSB, SL positioning reference signal (“PRS”), demodulation reference signal (“DMRS”), SL phase tracking reference signal (“PTRS”), and so forth. The TX UE may signal a dedicated sidelink TCI table configuration to be used during sidelink unicast communication using PC5 RRC signaling In various embodiments, a MAC CE may signal a sidelink TCI table configuration along with a corresponding destination ID. In certain embodiments, a TX UE may signal a dedicated reference signal configuration together with a TCI state table in PC5 RRC or MAC CE. In some embodiments, a DMRS base sequence, a cyclic shift, a DMRS pattern, a DMRS resource, and so forth may be exchanged in PC5 RRC between a TX UE and a RX UE. In various embodiments, a plurality of DMRS resources (e.g., each corresponding to a beam and/or panel) may be signaled ).
As per claim 34. Ganesan and Liu discloses The first type terminal according to claim 33, Ganesan discloses wherein in a case that the first link and the second link do not share beam capabilities, the first signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second signaling carries the second beam capability information; or in a case that the first link and the second link do not share beam capabilities, the third signaling carries the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information (([0075] In some embodiments, a UE may know an SSID based on a reception of a sidelink primary synchronization signal (“PSS”) and secondary synchronizations signal (“SSS”), and the SSID may inform the UE about a type of synchronization source being used for the transmission of a sidelink synchronization signal (“SLSS”). If UE1 is a synchronization reference UE and it would like to initiate a unicast transmission with UE2, UE2, after receiving a discovery request, may not still be aware that the TX UE (UE1) is also a synchronization reference UE and there is no linkage between a source-destination ID and an SSID).
As per claim 35. Ganesan and Liu discloses The first type terminal according to claim 33, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first type terminal comprises a first antenna unit and a second antenna unit, and a physical orientation of the first antenna unit is different from or incoherent to a physical orientation of the second antenna unit; and the first link uses the first antenna unit and the second link uses the second antenna unit ( 0069] In certain embodiments, if beam correspondence is not supported by a UE2, then the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS towards UE-1 using a plurality of simultaneous beams if supported by the UE capability or beam swept in different spatial directions. The UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS using the same configuration signaled by UE1 and UE2 may start SL CSI-RS transmission towards UE1 after the slot offset signaled by UE1. Moreover, the UE2 may transmit SL CSI-RS in a resource reserved and signaled in SCI by UE1. In some embodiments, UE2 may send a request to a gNB for mode 1 resources for CSI-RS transmission. A slot offset signaled by UE1 to UE2 may be enough to cover a processing time and/or a delay incurred due to resource allocation in finding SL CSI-RS resources (e.g., SL CSI-RS resource determination). In various embodiments, at least two sets of SL CSI-RS resources are indicated, wherein one set (e.g., a first set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE1 to UE2, and another set (e.g., a second set) is used for SL CSI-RS transmission from UE2 to UE1).
As per claim 36. Ganesan and Liu discloses The first type terminal according to claim 33, Ganesan disclsoes wherein the first beam capability information and the second beam capability information are same; or wherein the first beam capability information is different from the second beam capability information( ([0062] In some embodiments, a gNB may configure sidelink UEs using radio resource control (“RRC”) common signaling with a reduced and/or sub-set of a CSI-RS configuration table (e.g., at least prior to PC5 RRC connection establishment) to be used for SL communication (e.g., based on a table). A number of configurations and a size of a table used may be reduced based on a UE capability in sidelink communication).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496