DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (NiOx-seeded self-assembled monolayers as highly hole-selective passivating contacts for efficient inverted perovskite solar cells”, Cite No. 2 of Non-Patent Literature Documents in IDS 12/9/2024) in view of Egbo et al. (“Room temperature sputtered Cu doped NiO1+d: p-type conductivity, stability of electrical properties and p-n heterojunction”).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising
an electron transport layer (see C60/BCP layer, figs. 1(a)-(b));
a perovskite layer (see perovskite layer, figs. 1(a)-(b)); and
a hole transport layer (see NiOx/MeO-2PACz, figs. 1(a)-(b)) comprising an inorganic substance serve as hole transport material (NiOx) and an organic layer comprising carbazole derivative (MeO-2PACz) formed on the hole transport layer (see figs. 1(a)-(b), 3(g)-(h));
wherein the inorganic substance serving as the hole transport material (NiOx) is a material mainly based on nickel oxide (NiO) and is doped with trivalent nickel (see Ni 3p described in figs. 4, table 2, page 6, e.g. NiOx is a self-doped p-type material).
Sun et al. discloses inorganic hole substance serving as the hole transport material is a material mainly based on nickel oxide (NiOx), wherein the material of the hole transport material (NiOx) is deposited through sputtering (see page 2 and conclusion). Sun et al. does not teach using nickel oxide being doped with copper, wherein the material of the hole transport material is deposited through magnetron sputtering.
Egbo et al. discloses copper doped nickel oxide (or Cu doped NiO1+d) being formed by magnetron sputtering (or RFMS) would provide low resistivity (see “This work” in table 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the perovskite solar cell of Sun et al. by using nickel oxide being doped with copper that is deposited through magnetron sputtering as taught by Egbo et al., because Egbo et al. teaches the electrical conductivity and the stability of p-type conductivity of nickel oxide (or NiOx/NiO1+d) would significantly improve by Cu doping (see abstract and conclusion and table 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Sun et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Sun et al. teaches MeO-2PACz is [2-(3,6-dimethoxy-9H-carbazol-9-yl)ethyl]phosphonic acid (see page 2, the last paragraph of the first column) which has a molecular formula as claimed in claims 2-3 with R1 and R2 are methoxy.
Regarding claim 7, modified Sun et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Sun et al. teaches the electron transport layer (C60/BCP) comprises a fullerene with 60 carbon atoms (C60 fullerene).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sun et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Sun et al. teaches the perovskite layer comprises a layer of a material of Cs0.05(FA0.83MA0.17)0.95Pb(I0.82Br0.18)3 (see “Results and Discussion”), which reads on the claimed ABX3 structure as claimed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sun et al. (“NiOx-Seeded Self-Assembled Monolayers as Highly Hole-Selective Passivating Contacts for Efficient Inverted Perovskite Solar Cells”) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Forrest et al. (US 2016/0204367).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sun et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Sun et al. teaches the 2PACz is a SAM layer, and the thickness of the SAM layer is usually below 2nm (see left column of page 2).
Modified Sun et al., or more specifically Sun et al. does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the hole transport layer is more than or equal to 1 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm, and a thickness of the organic layer comprising the carbazole derivative is more than or equal to 0.01 nm and less than or equal to 5 nm.
Forrest et al. discloses a SAM layer (115, fig. 1, [0060]) disposed on an anode buffer (110, fig. 1, [0059]) such as nickel oxide ([0026]). Forrest et al. exemplifies the thickness of the nickel oxide to be 8nm, and the thickness of the phosphonic acid SAM layer (BPA or OPA) to be 0.5nm (see [0037]). As such, the thickness of the hole transport layer is found to be 8.5nm. 8.5 nm is right within the claimed range of more than or equal to 1nm and less than or equal to 100nm, and 0.5nm is right within the claimed range of more than or equal to 0.01nm and less than or equal to 5nm. Forrest et al. also teaches optimizing the thickness of the SAM layer for peak device performance, wherein the thickness of the SAM layer is in a range from about 0.1nm to about 5nm (see [0072] and [0095]). About 0.1nm to about 5nm is right within the claimed range of more than or equal to 0.01nm and less than or equal to 5nm.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of modified Sun et al. by forming the SAM layer of phosphonic acid, e.g. 2PACz, having a thickness of 0.5nm or in the range from about 0.1nm to about 5nm, and the nickel oxide (e.g. NiOx) having a thickness of 8nm such that the thickness of the hole transport layer to be 8.5nm or from about 8.1nm to about 13nm for optimization to obtain a peak performance of the device as taught by Forrest et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues previously cited references do not teach using nickel oxide being doped with copper by magnetron sputtering as claimed. However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726