DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of a holder in claim 1, means of axially acting force in claim 4, means of ball bearings in claim 16, means of a plug-in connection in claim 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, 13, 26 recites the limitation "the conveying helix" in lines 3, 3, 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14, 17-19, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102()() as being anticipated by Tseng (US 2018/0296037, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches a gravimetric metering unit for bulk materials, comprising a metering device(1, Fig 1-2), which has a container (10 & 20) for bulk material to be metered and a base unit, the base unit having a conveying screw (32), which is operably held in position and driven (via 31) by means of a holder (33), it being possible to axially assemble the conveying screw and the holder to one another (Fig 1-2) and said conveying screw and holder being designed such that they can be operably fastened to each other by means of a plug-in connection (311 into 331, ¶[28]), wherein the plug-in connection is a magnetic connection (¶ [28).
Tseng further teaches in claim 2 wherein the magnetic connection is designed such that the fastening magnetic force acts on the conveying screw in an axial direction and pulls it against the holder (¶ [28); and
in claim 14 wherein the holder has a magnet (332) at the bottom of the opening.
Regarding claim 17, Tseng teaches a conveying arrangement (10) for a metering device, comprising a conveying screw (32) and a holder (33) for said conveying screw, it being possible to axially plug the conveying screw and the holder together (Fig 1-2) and these being designed such that they can be operably fastened to each other by means of a plug-in connection (311 into 331, ¶[28]), wherein the plug-in connection is a magnetic connection (¶ [28]).
Regarding claim 18, Tseng teaches a conveying screw (10) for a metering device, comprising a conveyor spiral (32), wherein said conveying screw has a shaft which has a magnetic element at the end face.
Tseng further teaches in claim 19 wherein the magnetic element is designed as a permanent magnet (¶ [28]);
in claim 24 wherein the shaft is limited by a stop element (331a) projecting radially therefrom; and
in claim 25 wherein the stop element is designed as a stop shoulder (¶ [28]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng.
Regarding claim 4, Tseng is silent wherein the magnetic connection fastens the conveying screw in its position during operation by means of an axially acting force of 5 N to 20N, directed against the holder. Tseng does not mention any amount of forces.
The Federal Circuit has held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) (discussing Gardner v. Tec Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s device to have any suitable dimensions, including those claimed. Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on any particular force and it appears that Tseng’s device would work equally well if made within the claimed range of force.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-10, 12, 15-16, 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11, 13, 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN118790762A to Wu et al is directed to the state of the art as a relevant teaching of the claimed invention.
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754