Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34, 40-43, 45, 51-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, in claims 34 and 45, the recitation of “through a structure of the first building section that bounds the at least part of the living space disposed between the first modular building unit and the at least one further modular building unit.” does not appear to have support in the specification or in the drawings, the examiner doesn’t know what or where is said structure, and there is no mentioning or showing in the drawings of any structure of the first building that bounds part of the living space that is between the modular units.
Claims 34, 40-43, 45, 51-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 34 and 45, the claim is indefinite because the recitation of “through a structure of the first building section that bounds the at least part of the living space disposed between the first modular building unit and the at least one further modular building unit.” is unclear. The examiner does not know what is the structure of the first building section or how it bounds the at least part of the living space. Is it enclosing some space in the first building section?.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34, 43, 45 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Barry US 2011/0179721 A1 (hereinafter ‘Barry’).
In regard to claims 34 and 45, Barry teaches a hybrid residential building system (multi-unit housing structure -see Abstract) comprising:
a first building section (housing unit) constructed on-site at a final location for a building and defining an internal volume that provides a living space (the non-shaded sections in fig. 1A) within the building (see [0051]), the internal volume being formed entirely at the final location (see fig. 5, step 500); and
a second building section (see shaded sections in fig. 1A) comprising a plurality of modular building units (102, 104), each constructed to a substantially assembled form at a location away from the final location, the modular building units forming the second building section each defining an internal volume;
wherein the first and second building sections are connected at the final location to form the building (see [0082] and fig. 1A);
wherein the modular building units are spaced apart at a common level within the building (shown in fig. 1A) so that they are not in contact with one another, with at least part of the living space provided by the first building section disposed between a first modular building unit and at least one further modular building unit (see fig. 1A showing the first (102) and further (104) modular building units) being arranged so that a first modular building unit services at least a further modular building unit (bathroom 104 see [0053]) with one or more service selected from the group comprising water, sewerage, gas, heating, electricity, telecommunications and ventilation (see [0063] “all service connections for a housing unit may be made through a building module 102”), the one or more services passing from the first modular building unit to the further one through a structure of the first building section (note that the building units are connected via structure 306 (see [0077] “utility hookups or connection between” the modules) which is part of the first building unit and, as best understood, bounds the at least part of the living space disposed between the units (see fig. 1A).
It is noted that, as best understood, the claim contains product-by-process limitations. Patentability of a product is based on the product itself and not on its method of production. The product-by-process limitations such as “constructed on-site final location” and “constructed to a substantially assembled form at a location away from the final location” are not expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. Barry’s final product teaches a formed internal volume and the units constructed thus the claim is met (see MPEP 2113).
With respect to the method steps, see fig. 5. Note that as noted above, the sections of Barry are constructed, transported (see [0084]) and arranged as claimed.
In regard to claims 43 and 54, Barry teaches the claimed invention in which the first building section is arranged defining an outer perimeter of the building (see fig. 1A), and the modular building units are positioned within the outer perimeter defined by the first building section (fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 41, 42, 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry.
In regard to claims 40 and 51, Barry does not explicitly teach constructing a further building section at a location away from the final location, transported to the final location and arranged spaced from and out of touch with one or both of the first and second building sections, and provided with services by the second building section.
Barry does teach, however, that a plurality of prefabricated building modules can be used to define the living space, and that in addition to modules 102, and 104, the remaining space may also include a further module to define a further living space (see [0082]). It would have been obvious that such further prefabricated module is shipped to the final location in the same manner that the first and second modules are (see [0084]). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to arrange the further building section spaced from and out of contact from at least one other one as a matter of design choice, so as to provide different configurations of units based on owner preferences.
In regard to claims 41, 42, 52 and 53, Barry teaches the claimed invention wherein the first modular building comprises a services hub. Note that the first modular building unit is the services hub per [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to provide a plant room forming the services hub of Barry so as to enable the delivery of the utilities and their connections to the outlets as disclosed in [0063]).
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry in view of Russell et al. US 2013/0014451 A1 (hereinafter ‘Russell’).
In regard to claim 55, Barry teaches the modular building units forming the second building section are transported to the site (see [0084]).
Barry does not explicitly teach constructing the first building section around the second building section after positioning the modular building units at the final location.
Russell teaches a method of constructing a building in which a modular building unit is placed at the final location, and then another building section is constructed around it (see fig. 6 and [0044]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to construct the first building section of Barry around the modular building units of the second building section, as taught by Russell, so as to facilitate an expedited construction process which is beneficial particularly in cases of emergency (see Russell [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the space 306 of Barry is not disclosed as providing the intervening living space separating the modular building units.
The Examiner maintains the rejection as noted above, note that space or structure 306 of Barry is part of the living space provided by the first building section and thus meets the claim. Although the recitation of such structure “bounding” the space is unclear, under broadest reasonable interpretation one can conclude that the walls of structure 306 “bound” a space in the first building unit which is the space enclosed by the structure. Again, the space and the structure are part of the first building structure thus providing for the living space. Note that the living space is all the space in the level shown in fig 1A, minus the modular units 102 and 104.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAOLA AGUDELO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633