DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 05/13/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroteru et al. (WO 2021/132089 A1), hereinafter “Hiroteru”.
Regarding claim 1, Hiroteru discloses an image generation apparatus (HUD) (see Fig. 1, Abstract) configured to generate an image of a head-up display (see Fig. 1, Abstract), the image generation apparatus (HUD) comprising: a plurality of light sources (11) (see Figs. 2, 4, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1 of translation provided); an optical member (12) configured to transmit light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11) (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1); and a liquid crystal unit (13) configured to generate a predetermined image by the light emitted from the optical member (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1), wherein the optical member (12) includes an incident surface configured to receive the light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11), and an emitting surface configured to emit the light received by the incident surface to the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Fig. 2), and wherein the emitting surface is formed by a single curved surface (emitting surface of 12b) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Hiroteru discloses wherein in a plan view of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 2-4), wherein the plurality of light sources (11) are arranged in parallel in a longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 4, 6), and include a first light source (11; 11(3,2)) located at a center in the longitudinal direction and a second light source (11; 11(0,2)) located away from the center (see Fig. 4), and wherein a position of the first light source is different from a position of the second light source in a short direction of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 2-4, 6).
Regarding claim 3, Hiroteru discloses wherein the plurality of light sources (11) further include a third light source (11; 11(1,2)) located between the first light source and the second light source in the longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (13), and wherein an interval between the first light source and the third light source is shorter than an interval between the second light source and the third light source in the short direction of the liquid crystal unit (see Figs. 2-4, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Hiroteru discloses wherein the plurality of light sources (11) further include a third light source (11; 11(1,2)) located between the first light source and the second light source in the longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (13), and wherein an interval between the first light source and the third light source is shorter than an interval between the second light source and the third light source in the longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (see Figs. 2-4, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroteru discloses wherein the interval between the first light source and the third light source is shorter than the interval between the second light source and the third light source in the longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (see Figs. 2-4, 6).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroteru discloses wherein the optical member is a single convex lens (12b) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Hiroteru discloses a head-up display (HUD) that is to be provided in a vehicle and is configured to display an image to an occupant (Vr) of the vehicle (see Fig. 1), the head-up display comprising: an image generation apparatus (1) (see Fig. 1, Abstract) configured to generate an image of a head-up display (see Fig. 1, Abstract), the image generation apparatus (1) comprising: a plurality of light sources (11) (see Figs. 2, 4, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1); an optical member (12) configured to transmit light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11) (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1); and a liquid crystal unit (13) configured to generate a predetermined image by the light emitted from the optical member (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1), wherein the optical member (12) includes an incident surface configured to receive the light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11), and an emitting surface configured to emit the light received by the incident surface to the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Fig. 2), and wherein the emitting surface is formed by a single curved surface (emitting surface of 12b) (see Fig. 2), and a reflecting mirror (2) configured to reflect light emitted from the image generation apparatus (1) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hiroteru discloses wherein the reflecting mirror (2) is a concave mirror (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroteru (WO 2021/132089 A1) in view of Takahiro (WO 2022/130823 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hiroteru discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the optical member is a single concave lens. In the same field of endeavor, Takahiro discloses wherein the optical member (30) is a single concave lens (see Figs. 16, 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hiroteru with wherein the optical member is a single concave lens of Takahiro for the purpose of suppressing uneven illuminance (“Background – Art” of translation provided).
Regarding claim 8, Hiroteru and Takahiro teach the image generation apparatus set forth above for claim 7, Takahiro further discloses wherein the incident surface has a plurality of curved convex shapes, and wherein the curved convex shapes face the plurality of light sources, respectively (see Figs. 16, 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the image generation apparatus of Hiroteru with the teachings of Takahiro for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroteru (WO 2021/132089 A1) in view of Grief et al. (USPG Pub No. 2020/0310120), hereinafter “Grief”.
Regarding claim 9, Hiroteru discloses an image generation apparatus (HUD) (see Fig. 1, Abstract) configured to generate an image of a head-up display (see Fig. 1, Abstract), the image generation apparatus (HUD) comprising: a plurality of light sources (11) (see Figs. 2, 4, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1); an optical member (12) configured to transmit light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11) (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1); and a liquid crystal unit (13) configured to generate a predetermined image by the light emitted from the optical member (see Fig. 2, Pg. 3, Paragraph 1), wherein the optical member (12) includes an incident surface configured to receive the light emitted from the plurality of light sources (11), wherein an emitting surface configured to emit the light received by the incident surface to the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Fig. 2), wherein in a plan view of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 2-4), wherein the plurality of light sources (11) are arranged in parallel in a longitudinal direction of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 4, 6), and include a first light source (11; 11(3,2)) located at a center in the longitudinal direction and a second light source (11; 11(0,2)) located away from the center (see Fig. 4), and wherein a position of the first light source is different from a position of the second light source in a short direction of the liquid crystal unit (13) (see Figs. 2-4, 6). Hiroteru discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the optical member is a single Fresnel lens. In the same field of endeavor, Grief discloses wherein the optical member (1060) is a single Fresnel lens (Paragraph 65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hiroteru with wherein the optical member is a single Fresnel lens of Grief for the purpose of collimating the optical beams (Paragraph 65).
Prior Art Citations
Wu et al. (CN 114153066 A) is being cited herein to show an image generation apparatus relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 3/21/2026