Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In lines 2-3 of claim 50, “enabling wireless communications with one or more base stations”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“clamping means” in line 3 of claim 31 and line 2 of claim 34.
“first clamping element” in line 2 of claim 34 and line 2 of claim 42.
“second clamping element” in line 3 of claim 34 and line 2 of claim 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the hoist line" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 35-40 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beaulieu (US9269255B2).
Regarding claim 31, Beaulieu discloses a crane mounted device (110; Figures 1A-2D) for monitoring a construction site, the device (110) comprising a housing (201) for containing monitoring equipment (214-217), the housing (201) configured to be releasably secured via clamping means (column 7, lines 40-55, housing 201 couples about load line 112) to a hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) of the crane (120) above an object (104) to be lifted, the housing (201) locatable about the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) to have line-of-sight along the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) and to the object (104) to be lifted wherein, in use, a weight of the housing (201) is wholly supported by the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) via the clamping means while the weight of the object (104) is transferred via the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) directly to the crane (120), such that the weight of the object (104) bypasses the housing (201).
Regarding claim 32-33, Beaulieu discloses wherein the housing (201) is configured to be releasably secured to a hoist line (112) of the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) of the crane (120);
wherein the housing (201) is configured to allow the hoist line (112) to extend through the housing (201; Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 34-40, Beaulieu discloses wherein the housing (201) comprises a mounting arrangement (202) having clamping means, the clamping means comprising a first clamping element (201A) and a second clamping element (201B), the first clamping element (201A) being configured to engage the second clamping element (201B) to trap and retain a portion of the hoist line (112) therebetween;
wherein the first and second clamping elements (201A, 201B) are configured to be interconnected in engagement with the hoist line (112);
wherein the mounting arrangement (202) provides an aperture (A; see Beaulieu annotated Figure 2A below) for receiving the hoist line (112);
wherein the aperture (A) is a slot (S) configured for receipt of a chain link (column 4, lines 26-29, load line may be a chain) of the hoist line (112) and orientated such that an adjacent chain link of the hoist line (112; the housing is fixed to the hoist chain) is prevented from passing therethrough;
wherein the housing (201) comprises an outer shell (201A, 201B) that is releasably secured to the mounting arrangement (202);
wherein the outer shell (201A, 201B) covers the mounting arrangement (202);
wherein the outer shell (201A, 201B) is made from a polymeric material (column 7, lines 40-45).
Beaulieu, Annotated Figure 2A
Regarding claims 41-43, Beaulieu discloses wherein the housing (201) is configured to be releasably secured to a hook block (111; Figure 2D) on the hoist (hoist line 112; hook 111) of the crane (120);
wherein the housing (201) comprises a mounting arrangement (202) having a first clamping element (201A) and a second clamping element (201B);
wherein the first and second clamping elements (201A, 201B) are configured to engage with discrete mounting points of the hook block (111; central portion of hook block 111).
Regarding claims 44-45, Beaulieu discloses wherein the housing (201) comprises at least one internal platform (MP; see Beaulieu annotated Figure 2A above) for supporting the monitoring equipment (213-217);
wherein the monitoring equipment (214-217) comprises an electronic component selected from at least one of: an environmental sensor (213-214); a battery (217); a controller (216, 320; Figures 1-3); a transmitter and a receiver (215, transceiver).
Regarding claims 46-48, Beaulieu discloses wherein the electronic component includes the environmental sensor (213-214) selected from at least one of: a noise sensor (934; Figure 9); a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor (column 17, line 11 – column 18, line 12); an accelerometer (column 8, line 15); and a camera (214A, 214B);
wherein the environmental sensor (213-214) is a camera (214A, 214B; column 8, lines 10-13);
wherein the camera (214A, 214B; Figure 2A) is downward facing thereby, in use, providing a view of an area directly below the device (110).
Regarding claim 49, Beaulieu discloses wherein the electronic component includes the battery (217), the battery (217) comprising a plurality of discrete units (217A, 218B).
Regarding claim 50, Beaulieu discloses wherein the electronic component includes the transmitter and the receiver (215, transceiver; column 7, lines 25-30), the transmitter and the receiver (215) enabling wireless communications with one or more base stations (113A, 113B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654