DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keller et al (US 2004/0249068, ‘068 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-9, ‘068 discloses a polymer composition comprising polyvinyl butyral (PVB) resin and non-ionic surfactant reading upon amphiphilic oligomer plasticizer ([0009]-[0010], Examples), wherein the surfactant can be a nonylphenol-EO6 satisfying presently claimed formula 1a ([0015], [0025], MARLOPHEN NP6, R1 being a C9-aliphatic hydrocarbon group ); or a fatty alcohol or butyloctanol-5EO ([0015], [0028] MARLIPAL-O-13/40, fatty alcohol may include lauryl, cetyl, stearyl or oleyl groups, ISOFOL12+5EO, R2 being C12-aliphatic hydrocarbon group), satisfying presently claimed formula 1b and limitations of claims 2 and 8-9. ‘068 also discloses that the amount of the surfactant can be up to 10% by weight ([0010], [0016]), satisfying present claim 6. ’608 does not expressly set forth that the surfactant has HLB value as in present claims 3-5, however, ‘068 discloses the surfactants used in the composition having chemical structure being identical to the amphiphilic oligomer plasticizer as presently claimed, thus it is reasonable to expect that the surfactants of ‘068 would have possessed the same HLB as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. "Case law holds that a product and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).( See MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2016/0160023, ‘023 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-8, ‘023 discloses a polymer composition comprising polyvinyl butyral (PVB) resin and a blending agent being a nonylphenol-nEO ether satisfying presently claimed formula 1a which reads upon amphiphilic oligomer plasticizer ([0009], [0048]-[0049], [0080], SURFONIC N-40 and N-60 are nonylphenol-4EO and nonylphenol-6EO ether, Examples DL-1 to DL-5), and also satisfies the limitations of claims 2 and 8; wherein the blending agent has HLB in a preferred range of 8 to 14 ([0049]), satisfying present claims 3-5. ‘023 also discloses that the amount of the surfactant can be 10 to 25% by weight (Examples DL-1 to DL-5), satisfying present claims 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2016/0160023, ‘023 hereafter).
Regarding claim 10, ‘023 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘’023 discloses that the blending agent can be a nonylphenol-nEO ether, but does not specifically set forth that the blending agent is polyoxyethylene octaphenyl ether. However, the presently claimed polyoxyethylene octaphenyl ether, which has R1 being C8 aliphatic hydrocarbon group as in formula 1a (see present claim 1), is a homologue of nonylphenol-nEO ether, wherein R1 is a C9 aliphatic hydrocarbon group. Case law holds that homologues or position isomers are prima facie structurally obvious even in the absence of an explicit teaching to modify. “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). (See MPEP 2144.09 II).
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Karagiannis et al (US 2016/0160031). Karagiannis discloses a polymer blend comprising PVB and a cellulose ester [0009]-[0011]), wherein an amphiphilic oligomer satisfying present formula 1a or 1b in an amount of 5 to 40% by weight is used as a compatibilizer in the composition ([0105]-[0109]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782