DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 28 are objected to because the claims are missing a period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2687628 to Stow in view of USPAP 2003/0211319 to Koehnen and (when necessary) further in view of USPN 6,145,879 to Lowe.
Claims 13, 19, 23, 24 and 28, Stow discloses a vehicle airbag nylon fabric comprising: (a) weft yarn containing from ≥1 to ≤100 weight percent of recycled polymer material, and (b) warp yarn containing equal or less recycled polymer per unit weight than the weft yarn (see entire document including [0001], [0006]-[0015], [0023]-[0029], [0041], [0045] and [0046]).
Stow discloses that the fabric has a tenacity above 40 cN/tex [0028] but does not appear to mention specific denier per filament. Koehnen discloses that it is known in the art to construct an airbag with nylon 6,6 yarns having a filament fineness of 1 to 7 dtex (0.9 to 6.3 denier) and having a tenacity of 60 to 85 cN/tex to produce an airbag fabric with desirable low air permeability (see entire document including [0007]-[0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the airbag fabric of Stow with nylon 6,6 yarns having the claimed denier per filament and tenacity to produce an airbag fabric with desirable low air permeability.
Regarding the claimed weft fluff content and the fluff content of the warp being lower than that of the weft, Stow teaches that the amount of recycled polymer material in the warp may be less than in the weft because the strength of the warp is of greater importance ([0045]-[0046]). Considering that the prior art teaches a substantially identical airbag fabric in terms of warp/weft recycled content, yarn material, filament fineness, and yarn tenacity, the claimed weft/warp yarn fluff limitations appear to be inherent or obvious motivated by a desire to construct an airbag fabric with increased strength as desired/required. It is noted that the current specification discloses that fluff content depends on variables such as yarn tenacity and the amount of recycled polymer material content. Plus, the examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art to reduce fluff (fiber breakage) content, such as claimed, to improve airbag fabric quality.
Claims 14 and 23, the warp yarn and weft yarn differ in tenacity by no more than 10% ([0014] of Koehnen).
Claim 15, the weft yarn has from ≥2 to ≤4 denier per filament ([0008] of Koehnen).
Claim 16, the warp yarn has from ≥2 to ≤4 denier per filament ([0008] of Koehnen).
Claim 17, the weft yarn contains ≥20 to ≤60 weight percent of recycled polymer material ([0014] of Stow).
Claim 18, the weft yarn contains ≥30 to ≤50 weight percent of recycled polymer material ([0014] of Stow).
Claims 20, 29 and 30, Stow does not appear to mention the recycled polymer material containing a chemical marker which identifies it as recycled material, but Stow does disclose that the recycled polymer material is weaker ([0019] and [0045]). Lowe discloses that is known in the airbag art to construct weaker fibers with a different color for identification purposes (see entire document including column 5, lines 45-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a chemical marker, such as a colorant in the recycled polymer material, to identify it as recycled/weaker.
Claims 21 and 31, the warp and weft yarns are at least partially composed of nylon ([0025] of Stow).
Claims 22 and 32, the recycled polymer material is at least partially composed of nylon ([0025] of Stow).
Claim 24, the weft yarn has from ≥1 to ≤6 denier per filament ([0008] of Koehnen).
Claim 25, the warp yarn has from ≥1 to ≤6 denier per filament ([0008] of Koehnen).
Claim 26, the weft yarn contains ≥20 to ≤60 weight percent of recycled polymer material ([0014] of Stow).
Claim 27, the weft yarn contains ≥30 to ≤50 weight percent of recycled polymer material ([0014] of Stow).
Conclusion
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789