DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see remarks and claims, filed 05/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant argues that the references provided do not disclose “notify the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device that the implantable pacemaker device is going to emit.”. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the following:
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3348306A1 to Mussig et al. (hereinafter “Mussig” – previously presented) in view of US Pat Pub no 20070088394 to Jacobson.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussig as modified by Jacobson as provided in claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub no 20180207433 to Koop et al. (hereinafter “Koop” – previously presented).
See details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3348306A1 to Mussig et al. (hereinafter “Mussig”) in view of US Pat Pub no 20070088394 to Jacobson.
Regarding claims 1 and 15. (Currently Amended) Mussig discloses an implantable therapy system for an antibradycardia and antitachycardia stimulation (e.g., para 0008, 0018 etc.) , comprising: an implantable pacemaker device but fails to disclose notify the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device that the implantable pacemaker device is going to emit.
Jacobson, from a similar field of endeavor teaches the implanted cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD) configured to receive and transmit conducted communication using a pulse modulated or frequency modulated carrier signal whereby the ICD 106 can detect communication pulses from co-implanted leadless cardiac pacemakers and transmit programming information to the co-implanted leadless cardiac pacemakers (para 0108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig with the teachings of Jacobson to provide the predictable result of allowing the defibrillator and pacemaker to communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 2. (Currently Amended) Mussig as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, wherein the implantable pacemaker device is a leadless pacemaker device (e.g., para 0008, 0010 “an implantable leadless pacemaker”).
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) Mussig as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, wherein the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device comprises a lead to be implanted extracardially and a shock electrode arranged on the lead (para 0013).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Mussig as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, wherein the implantable pacemaker device comprises cardiac a signal generation path for generating said cardiac stimulation signal (para 0008, “the leadless pacemaker is configured to apply electrical (e.g. low voltage) pacing pulses to the heart (e.g. to said chamber)”, 0037 “a pulse generator 10b for generating said pacing pulses”).
Regarding claim 10. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 7, wherein the implantable pacemaker deviceThe claim does not provide any details regarding what the threshold is. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, any communication could read over the claimed limitation).
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussig as modified by Jacobson as provided in claims above, and further in view of US Pat Pub no 20180207433 to Koop et al. (hereinafter “Koop” – previously presented).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) Mussig as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the implantable pacemaker device is configured to generate said advertising signal such that said advertising signal is indicative of a timing of said cardiac stimulation signal. However, Mussig teaches ICD ideally doesn't need any heart beat sensing capabilities but is merely listening to commands from the implantable leadless pacemaker” (para 0008, 0009, 0013), as such, the signal outputted to the ICD would require all the necessary information for the ICD to perform its functions.
Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that the communication between the devices (ICD and LCP) is time-dependent, due to the physiological changes in the patient, such as but not limited to the heart H beating and/or the patient breathing (para 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig as modified by Jacobson with the teachings of Koop, because doing so would allow for considering the timing to provide the predictable result of improving therapy. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) Mussig as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the implantable pacemaker device is configured to generate said advertising signal such that said advertising signal contains information with respect to at last one of a stimulation timing used for emitting said cardiac stimulation signal, a stimulation channel used for emitting said cardiac stimulation signal, a stimulation energy used for emitting said cardiac stimulation signal, a stimulation energy used for emitting said cardiac stimulation signal, and a status information of the implantable pacemaker device.
Mussig teaches ICD ideally doesn't need any heart beat sensing capabilities but is merely listening to commands from the implantable leadless pacemaker” (para 0008, 0009, 0013), as such, the signal outputted to the ICD would require all the necessary information for the ICD to perform its functions.
Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that the communication between the devices (ICD and LCP) is time-dependent, due to the physiological changes in the patient, such as but not limited to the heart H beating and/or the patient breathing (para 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig as modified by Jacobson with the teachings of Koop, because doing so would provide the predictable result of improving therapy. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 8. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 7, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the implantable pacemaker device is configured to generate the advertising signal using the signal generation path. Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it is known for the LCP (pacemaker) to have pulse generator module to generate pulsing signal (para 0070, 0071, 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig as modified by Jacobson with the teachings of Koop, because doing so would allow for communicating commands between devices to provide therapy (Mussig, para 0009, Koop, 0052).
Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson and Koop renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 8, wherein the implantable pacemaker device
Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the implantable pacemaker device is configured to generate said advertising signal as a coded pulse sequence indicative of a subsequent emission of said stimulation signal.
Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that the communication between the devices are encoded communication information (para 0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig as modified by Jacobson with the teachings of Koop, because doing so would allow for communicating encoded information between devices to provide therapy (Koop, 0089).
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 7, wherein the implantable pacemaker device is configured to transmit the advertising signal (para 0037) but fails to disclose using a communication circuitry separate from said signal generation path. Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the circuitry of the LCP and ICD (para 0070, 0071, 0079, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig with the teachings of Koop, because doing so would allow for operating the device to provide therapy (Koop, 0071). Additionally, it is noted that making components separate, without providing examples of criticality, is considered obvious. See In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 1, wherein the implantable comprises at least one sensing electrode for sensing a cardiac signal and control circuitry for processing a sensed cardiac signal (para 0012), wherein the device is configured, for modifying said at least one processing function, to modify said processing of said sensed cardiac signal in response to receiving said advertising signal (para 0008-0009, 0015).But fails to disclose wherein the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device comprises at least one sensing electrode.
Koop, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches the ICD (defibrillator) to sense electrical activity generated by the heart as well as provide electrical energy to the heart (para 0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinally skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Mussig as modified by Jacobson with the teachings of Koop to provide the predictable result of sensing electrical activity generated by the heart H as well as provide electrical energy to the heart H in order to shock the heart H from an undesired heart rhythm to a desired heart rhythm.
Regarding claim 14. (Currently Amended) Mussing as modified by Jacobson and Koop renders obvious the implantable therapy system according to claim 13, wherein the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device is configured to set a blanking window in order to blank a portion of said sensed cardiac signal in a processing path for processing said sensed cardiac signal (Koop, para 0051, para 0060 “blanking period”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20190336767 to Klepfer et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796