DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 01/16/2026. Claims 1-
11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-
AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and
distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or
for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 9 states “A storage chip, comprising: the storage controller of claim 8; and a memory” however it is unclear how the method in claim 1 is applied to the storage chip. It is unclear in the claim if the storage chip performs the steps of claim 1. Claim 10 states “A network card, comprising: a main control chip and a storage chip” however, it is unclear how the method in claim 1 is applied to the network card. It is unclear in the claim if the network card performs the steps of claim 1”.
Also, from MPEP:
2173.05(p) Claim Directed to Product-By- Process or Product and Process
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission workstand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Tsai et al. (US 20160364179 A1) in view of KANG et al. (US 20160291878 A1) hereinafter Tsai and KANG.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches A storage control method applied to a storage controller: wherein and where first queue is configured to perform information interaction between the host and the storage controller (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0028], illustrates a method for command queuing in a memory system where queued command request 240 indicates plurality of queued requests and where information as queued command request 240-1 are exchanged between host and memory system)
and receiving, from the host, a-storage commands corresponding to the plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue, in one-time transfer (See Fig. 4B, paragraph [0034], illustrates once the host 402 has sent one or more commands to the command queue in the memory system 404, the host 402 can send one ready to transfer command 450 to transfer data)
KANG teaches Flash storage control method for command queue management. However, KANG does not explicitly teach receiving, from a host, a plurality of queue request messages for a first queue, and accumulating, the plurality of queue request messages in the first queue
sending one command acquisition request for the first queue to the host,
wherein the one command acquisition request corresponds to plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue;
On the other hand, KANG which also relates to storage control method for command queue management teaches receiving, from a host, a plurality of queue request messages for a first queue, and accumulating, the plurality of queue request messages in the first queue (See Fig. 1 and 3, paragraph [0062], illustrates at step S110 plurality of host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm from the host may be queued or accumulated in the host command que HCQ)
sending one command acquisition request for the first queue to the host, (See Fig. 6, paragraph [0082], illustrates at step S310 the memory controller 100 may receive one execution command or request from the host)
wherein the one command acquisition request corresponds to plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue; (See Fig. 1 and 6, paragraph [0082], illustrates execution command may include the information for identifying the first to m.sup.th task IDs TKID1 to TKIDm corresponding to host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm and through the execution command, one or more ready and available host command may be selected from the first to m.sup.th host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm)
Both Tsai and KANG relate storage control method for command queue
Management (see Tsai, abstract, and see KANG, abstract, regarding command queue management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine Tsai with KANG by incorporating storage control method for command queue management, as taught by KANG, to illustrate at step S110 plurality of host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm from the host may be queued or accumulated in the host command que HCQ and at step S310 the memory controller 100 may receive one execution command or request from the host and also execution command may include the information for identifying the first to m.sup.th task IDs TKID1 to TKIDm corresponding to host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm and through the execution command, one or more ready and available host command may be selected from the first to m.sup.th host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm. The combined system of Tsai – KANG allows memory controller to receive execution commands for part of the plurality of host commands, which is selected by the host as mentioned in paragraph [0011]. Therefore, the combination of Tsai - KANG improves operation speed and the operating method. See KANG, paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 2, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 1. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach The storage control Method of claim 1, wherein before sending the command acquisition request for the first queue to the host, the storage control method further comprises: determining a queue corresponding to a flag register which is enabled in a first flag register table of at least one flag register table as the at least one first queue, wherein each of the at least one flag register table comprises a plurality of flag registers respectively corresponding to the plurality of queues, and
the flag register which is enabled represents that the corresponding queue has accumulated a plurality of queue request message.
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for command queue management teaches The storage control Method of claim 1, wherein before sending the command acquisition request for the first queue to the host, the storage control method further comprises: determining a queue corresponding to a flag register which is enabled in a first flag register table of at least one flag register table as the at least one first queue, wherein each of the at least one flag register table comprises a plurality of flag registers respectively corresponding to the plurality of queues, and (See Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph [0022] and paragraph [0028], illustrates status register 127 and command description register 244 can be registers that stores status information which may include command enabled or not for each of the commands in the command queue 126)
the flag register which is enabled represents that the corresponding queue has accumulated a plurality of queue request message. (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0028], illustrates command descriptor block 244 includes information regarding the command that enables the host 202 and the memory system 204 to execute the command when they are ready to execute commands)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai and KANG
as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 1. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach The storage control method of claim 1, wherein sending the command acquisition request for the first queue to the host comprises: generating a command acquisition request for the any first queue according to the plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue, wherein a number of storage commands corresponding to the command acquisition request for the any first queue is equal to a sum of numbers of storage commands corresponding to all the plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue; and sending the command acquisition request for the any first queue.
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches The storage control method of claim 1, wherein sending the command acquisition request for the first queue to the host comprises: generating a command acquisition request for the any first queue according to the plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue, wherein a number of storage commands corresponding to the command acquisition request for the any first queue is equal to a sum of numbers of storage commands corresponding to all the plurality of queue request messages of the first queue that is accumulated in the first queue; and sending the command acquisition request for the any first queue. (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0028], illustrates if the command queue in the memory system 204 is ready to receive commands to add to the command queue the memory system 204 can send command response 242-0 with the queue busy bit set to zero (0) to the host 202 indicating that the memory system 204 is ready to add commands to the command queue. In other words, memory system is ready to add more commands to the queue if busy bit is zero and total number of commands should be the sum of all commands)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai with KANG as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 1. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach A storage controller, comprising: one or more processing units; and a storage unit having stored thereon one or more programs which, when executed by the one or more processing units, cause the one or more processing units to implement the storage control method of claim 1
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches A storage controller, comprising: one or more processing units; and a storage unit having stored thereon one or more programs which, when executed by the one or more processing units, cause the one or more processing units to implement the storage control method of claim 1. (See Fig 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0019], paragraph [0028], illustrate host 102 may include a number of processors along with the controller 125 implementing the method of queuing commands)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai with KANG as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 8. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach A storage chip, comprising: the storage controller of claim 8; and a memory
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches A storage chip, comprising: the storage controller of claim 8; and a memory. (See Fig 1, paragraph [0020], illustrates controller 125 and memory 130)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai with KANG as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 9. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach A network card, comprising: a main control chip and a storage chip, wherein the storage chip comprises the storage controller of claim 8
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches A network card, comprising: a main control chip and a storage chip, wherein the storage chip comprises the storage controller of claim 8. (See paragraph [0006], memory system may include a number of memory chips where memory chip may include control or logic units)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai with KANG as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 1. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the storage control method of claim 1
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the storage control method of claim 1 (See Fig 1, paragraph [0020], illustrates controller 125 may include hardware and firmware, software for controlling access to the memory to implement the method of commands queue)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai with KANG as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 11.
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Tsai et al. (US 20160364179 A1) in view of KANG et al. (US 20160291878 A1) and further in view of MIZUNO et al. (US 20190339905 A1) hereinafter Tsai and KANG and MIZUNO.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai in view of KANG teaches The storage control method of claim 2, further comprising: in response to a queue request message for enabling a flag register corresponding to the second queue in a second flag register table of the at least one flag register table, wherein the second queue is a queue corresponding to a flag register which is disenabled in the first flag register table. (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0028], illustrates host 202 receives command response 242 with a queue busy bit set to one (1) or queue busy bit set to zero (0) indicating if the memory system 204 is enabled or disabled to add commands to command queue)
Tsai in view of KANG teaches storage control method for command queue management above. However, Tsai - KANG combination does not explicitly teach a second queue,
On the other hand, MIZUNO which also relates to storage control method for command queue management teaches a second queue (See Fig. 6, paragraph [0100], illustrates plurality of queues with second queue being 610C, 612C designated as completion queues for posting completion of the commands)
Both Tsai, MIZUNO and Qiu relate storage control method for command queue
Management (see Tsai, abstract, see MIZUNO, abstract, and see KANG, abstract, regarding command queue management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine Tsai - KANG combination with MIZUNO by incorporating storage control method for command queue management with flag register, as taught by MIZUNO, to enable plurality of queues with second queue being 610C, 612C designated as completion queues for posting completion of the commands. The combined system of Tsai - KANG – MIZUNO allows the controller to post the command requiring a faster processing among commands for the storage device in the command queue with a higher priority as mentioned in paragraph [0017]. Therefore, the combination of Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO improves processing performance. See MIZUNO, paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 4, Tsai in view of KANG and further in view of MIZUNO teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 3. However, Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO combination does not explicitly teach The storage control method of claim 3, further comprising: in response to a plurality of queue request messages for first queue, determining whether a command acquisition request for the first queue is sent; and when the command acquisition request for the first queue is sent, enabling a flag register corresponding to the any first queue in the second flag register table
On the other hand, Tsai which also relates to storage control method for command queue management teaches The storage control method of claim 3, further comprising: in response to a plurality of queue request messages for first queue, determining whether a command acquisition request for the first queue is sent; and when the command acquisition request for the first queue is sent, enabling a flag register corresponding to the any first queue in the second flag register table. (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0028], illustrates host 202 receives command response a queue busy bit set to zero (0) indicating the memory system 204 is enabled to add commands to command queue)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Tsai – KANG combination with MIZUNO as set forth in claim 3 is equally applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Tsai in view of KANG and further in view of MIZUNO teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 3. However, Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO combination does not explicitly teach The storage control method of The storage control method of claim 3, wherein after sending the command acquisition request for each first queue to the host, the storage control method further comprises: after a command acquisition request for the any first queue is sent, clearing a flag register corresponding to the any first queue in the first flag register table. Also, Tsai does not teach after command selection is processed or fetched command selection flag turns to zero or cleared to zero.
On the other hand, MIZUNO which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches The storage control method of The storage control method of claim 3, wherein after sending the command acquisition request for each first queue to the host, the storage control method further comprises: after a command acquisition request for the any first queue is sent, clearing a flag register corresponding to the any first queue in the first flag register table. (See Fig. 7, 10 and 13, paragraph [0156], when command queues are not selected are done processing flag turns to 0 for that command. In other words, after command selection is processed or fetched command selection flag turns to zero or cleared to zero)
Both Tsai, MIZUNO and KANG relate storage control method for command
Queue Management (see Tsai, abstract, see MIZUNO, abstract, and see KANG, abstract, regarding command queue management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine Tsai - KANG combination with MIZUNO by incorporating storage control method for command queue management with flag register, as taught by MIZUNO, to enable a method of command selection after it is processed or fetched command selection flag turns to zero or cleared to zero. The combined system of Tsai - KANG – MIZUNO allows the controller to post the command requiring a faster processing among commands for the storage device in the command queue with a higher priority as mentioned in paragraph [0017]. Therefore, the combination of Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO improves processing performance. See MIZUNO, paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 6, Tsai in view of KANG and further in view of MIZUNO teaches storage control method for command queue management in claim 5. However, Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO combination does not explicitly teach The storage control method of claim 5, further comprising: in a case where all flag registers in the first flag register table are cleared, taking a flag register table used as the second flag register table as the first flag register table. Also, Tsai does not teach after all selected commands selection fetched all flags turn to zero or cleared to zero in the table.
On the other hand, MIZUNO which also relates to storage control method for
command queue management teaches The storage control method of claim 5, further comprising: in a case where all flag registers in the first flag register table are cleared, taking a flag register table used as the second flag register table as the first flag register table. (See Fig. 7, 10 and 13, paragraph [0156], when command queues are fetched for processing flag turns to 0 initialized. In other words, after all selected commands selection are fetched all flags turn to zero or cleared to zero in the table)
Both Tsai, MIZUNO and KANG relate storage control method for command
Queue Management (see Tsai, abstract, see MIZUNO, abstract, and see KANG, abstract, regarding command queue management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine Tsai - KANG combination with MIZUNO by incorporating storage control method for command queue management with flag register, as taught by MIZUNO, to enable a method where after all selected commands selection are fetched all flags turn to zero or cleared to zero in the table. The combined system of Tsai - KANG – MIZUNO allows the controller to post the command requiring a faster processing among commands for the storage device in the command queue with a higher priority as mentioned in paragraph [0017]. Therefore, the combination of Tsai - KANG - MIZUNO improves processing performance. See MIZUNO, paragraph [0018].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is claim 1 amendments mapping by
primary and secondary references in page 7 of the response: after sending the one command acquisition request to the host, the storage controller receives the storage commands corresponding to the plurality of queue request messages accumulated in the first queue during one-time transfer, that is, the host sends the storage commands corresponding to all of the plurality of queue request messages accumulated in the first queue once it receives the one command acquisition request.
Through the above technical solution, the number of the storage commands acquired from the host by the storage controller in one-time transfer is increased, and the number of times of acquiring the storage commands from the host by the storage controller is reduced, blockage and timeout caused when the storage controller acquires the storage commands from the host are be avoided, and thus the efficiency of acquiring the storage commands is increased.
None of Tsai, MIZLUNO and Qiu, discloses the above technical solution of the present application, especially, Tsai does not disclose or suggest the above technical solution of the present application.
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference Tsai and secondary references MIZUNO and Qiu do not teach amended limitations sending one command acquisition request to the host, the storage controller receives the storage commands corresponding to the plurality of queue request messages accumulated in the first queue during one-time transfer. The amendment necessitates adding secondary reference KANG in this regard. For further clarification examiner cites portion from KANG. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of KANG and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig. 1 and 3, paragraph [0062], KANG teaches at step S110 plurality of host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm from the host may be queued or accumulated in the host command que HCQ. Also at step S310 the memory controller 100 may receive one execution command or request from the host and execution command may include the information for identifying the first to m.sup.th task IDs TKID1 to TKIDm corresponding to host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm and through the execution command, one or more ready and available host command may be selected from the first to m.sup.th host commands HCMD1 to HCMDm. The cited portions clearly teach one execution command is sent to execute host command que HCQ where plurality of commands queued or accumulated. Thus, the rejection of amended claim 1 is maintained.
Conclusion
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132