Claims 1-12 are under examination on the merits.
Claims 13-15 are canceled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to replace “comprising” in line 5 with “comprises”.
Claim 12 should also be amended to replace “comprising” in line 4 with “comprises”. In addition, claim 12 should be amended to replace “the botulinum toxin” in line 2 with “a botulinum toxin”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 10-11, applicant compares the values of compound muscle action potential of muscles adjacent to muscle of instant formulation administration site with the corresponding values of a control formulation comprising an animal protein-containing administration site and claims higher or lower values.
It is unclear which specific target and/or target-adjacent muscles are referred to. As applicant is aware, instant invention is utilizing a topical composition and skin covers many muscles in the body such as leg muscles, neck muscles, hand muscles, stomach muscles etc. It is unclear what specific muscles are targeted in claims 10-11 respectively. It is further vague as to whether the higher or lower numbers are the result of physiological properties of targeted muscles or whether said higher or lower values are the result of specific Botox composition dosages administered. If the compound muscle action potential is a function of dosages utilized, then said dosages need to be recited in claims 10-11. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ruegg (CN 102666396, 5/2015) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ruegg, see its English machine translation, attached).
Ruegg (see abstract) teaches about methods of purifying botulinum toxin (Botox) in high purity, to be used as an active ingredient in pharmaceutical preparations.
In [0004}, Ruegg teaches about the application of Botox for treatment of wrinkles and eyelid spasms.
In [0060], said patent teaches that its Botox many be non-complex.
In [0023], said patent discloses that its method results in a Botox basically, substantially or completely free of animal products. Storage stable basically, substantially or completely free of ability of toxin product of animal product further reduces potential risk associated with animal source product. Ruegg further indicates that a botulinum toxin form particularly suitable for pharmaceutical application in terms of safety, for example, can be prepared and stored substantially, or completely free of animal products of pharmaceutical composition.
In [0076], according to Ruegg, in some embodiments, its invention provides a purified botulinum toxin molecule is administered to a patient. The invention provides a pharmaceutical composition "applied" points to a subject or patient. pharmaceutical composition can be produced by any method known in the art, including, for example, in muscle, intradermal, intranasal or subcutaneous administration, intrathecal administration, intracranial, intraperitoneal in ( topical (transdermal) administration and slow-release device for implantation (e.g. embedded) pathway. In some preferred embodiments, the composite of purified botulinum toxin in the composition is topically or administered by injection, such as U.S. patent application No. 09/910, 432, 10/793, 138, ;11/072, 026, ;11/073, 307, 11/824, 393 and 12/154, 982.
In [0075], said Chinese patent recites that the "pharmaceutical composition" refers to the active ingredient may be a preparation of botulinum toxin. preparation containing at least one kind of additional component and adapted to subject (such as a human patient), diagnostic, therapeutic and/or cosmetic administration. a pharmaceutical composition can be liquid or solid, and may be a single component or multi-component system, such as diluent (such as saline) reconstruction of the lyophilized composition, anticipating claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 12, or in the least renders them obvious.
Regarding claim 9, the slow-release device or the implant of Ruegg inherently reduces diffusion effect or extends its duration upon two or many more topical or other administration attempts, rendering said claim obvious.
Similarly, regarding claims 10-11, many of the above-mentioned topical preparations of Ruegg inherently modulate (i.e. enhance or reduce) the muscle action potential of the muscles adjacent to the muscle at the administration site of the patient relative to muscle action potential of the muscles adjacent to the muscle at the administration site of untreated patient, again rendering said claims obvious.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruegg (cited above) further in view of Fraunhofer et al., “Fraunhofer” (US patent No. 8,883,146, 11/2014, see also its corresponding patent publication US 2013/0156760, 6/2013, which will be used to cite relevant text).
As stated above, Ruegg teaches methods of improving wrinkles and methods of treating spasms, utilizing compositions comprising Botox together with other pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, for topical administration, injection etc., wherein said compositions may optionally be lyophilized, prior to this invention.
Said patent does not mention which specific excipients were present in its composition comprising Botox.
Fraunhofer (see abstract) discloses an aqueous formulation comprising water and a protein, and methods of making the same. The aqueous formulation of the invention may be a high protein formulation and/or may have low levels of conductivity resulting from the low levels of ionic excipients.
In [0024], according to said publication, the formulation may further comprise a non-ionizable excipient. Examples of non-ionizable excipients include, but are not limited to, a sugar alcohol or polyol (e.g., mannitol or sorbitol), a non-ionic surfactant (e.g., polysorbate 80, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60), and/or a sugar (e.g., sucrose), see also claim 14.
In [0120], it is recited that the therapeutic protein in the formulation may be Botox (type A or type B).
In [0076], Frauhofer recites that its formulations may comprise antioxidants such as methionine to prevent deterioration of its preparations due to oxidative stress.
Before the effective filing of this application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to start with the method of Ruegg and prepare its liquid composition comprising Botox together with methionine and polysorbate and /or sugars and sugar alcohols as taught by Fraunhofer.
One of ordinary skill in the art is motivated in preparing the Botox liquid compositions of Ruegg with methionine, polysorbate and/or sugars and alcohol sugars of Fraunhofer as excipients. This is because as mentioned above, methionine helps preserve the integrity of Botox against oxidation and polysorbate is a cryoprotectant which will be useful and protective against protein denaturation due to lyophilization of its aqueous formulations, rendering tis invention obvious.
Finally, one of ordinary skill in the art has a reasonable expectation of success in starting with the method of preparing non-complex Botox compositions free of animal proteins of Ruegg and add the methionine and polysorbate and sugars of Fraunhofer thereto because such procedures were fully established in the prior art, before the effective filing of this application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35-38 of copending Application No.18/006,201.
The methods of said copending application are directed to a method of use of a composition that has a narrower scope than this invention as the composition used has an additional antibody. Since instant invention uses comprising language in instant claim 1, and does not exclude the presence of additional components than Botox and excipients, the scope of instant claims overlaps with the scope of claims in said copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
No claim is allowed.
/MARYAM MONSHIPOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651