DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “expansion device” used throughout the claims.
For the record, “expansion device” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification (see for example para. 0024) as being a pressure reducing valve or an expansion valve, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the refrigerant having a low temperature" in lines 8-9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the term “low” in this limitation is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the refrigerant having a high temperature" in lines 9-10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the term “high” in this limitation is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the refrigerant that flows out from the heat-source-side unit" in lines 12-13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the refrigerant that flows out from the associated one of the load-side units" in lines 14-15 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 improperly recite method steps within an apparatus claim, rendering the intended metes and bounds unclear. For purposes of prosecution, these claims have been interpreted such that the prior art need simply to be capable of performing these functions in order to read on the claims.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the at least one load-side unit" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation was originally introduced in claim 2, but claim 5 depends directly from claim 1.
Claims 5, 9, and 10 each recite “the expansion device of the at least one load-side unit is caused to be in a closed state.” The metes and bounds of this limitation are further unclear, since it recites only a single expansion but potentially more than one load-side unit. The Examiner suggests amending this limitation to read “the respective expansion device of each of the at least one load-side unit is caused to be in a closed state.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Okochi (US 2017/0370608 A1).
As per claim 1, Okochi discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a heat-source-side unit (51, 151) including a compressor (1, 101) and a heat-source-side heat exchanger (2, 102); a plurality of load-side units (53a, 53b) including respective expansion devices (23a, 23b) and respective load- side heat exchangers (22a, 22b); and a relay unit 52 (the flow dividing controller as shown in Figs. 1-2 is considered the equivalent of a relay unit) including a plurality of three-way valves (para. 0055 re. valves 12 and 13 being replaceable by 3-way valves) connected between the heat-source- side unit and the load-side units (Fig. 1; etc.), the three-way valves being each provided in association with an associated one of the load-side units (Figs. 1-2; etc.) and configured to switch a flow direction of refrigerant between plural flow directions (para. 0055; etc.), the relay unit being configured to supply the refrigerant having a low temperature to one of the load-side units that performs a cooling operation and supply the refrigerant having a high temperature to one of the load-side units that performs a heating operation (para. 0053, etc. re. mixed cooling and heating operations), wherein each of the three-way valves is configured to switch the flow direction of the refrigerant that flows out from the heat-source-side unit such that the refrigerant flows into an associated one of the load-side units or switch the flow direction of the refrigerant that flows out from the associated one of the load-side units such that the refrigerant flows into the heat-source- side unit, depending on an operating state (para. 0055 re controlling valves 12 and 13 according to operating state).
As per claim 3, Okochi discloses wherein when at least one of the load-side units performs the heating operation, at least one of the three-way valves that is associated with the at least one load-side unit switches the flow direction of the refrigerant that flows out from the heat-source-side unit such that the refrigerant flows into the at least one load- side unit (see controls of valves 12 and 13 in Fig. 2 and described at para. 0061; note again that Okochi discloses valves 12 and 13 being replaceable by 3-way valves).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi (US 2017/0370608 A1).
As per claim 2, Okochi discloses the heating valve arrangement in Fig. 2 and para. 0061 (see discussion of claim below), and further teaches controlling the valves 12 and 13 to switch between heating and cooling modes (para. 0055; etc.) While Okochi does not explicitly discuss the details of the cooling operation wherein when at least one of the load-side units performs the cooling operation, at least one of the three-way valves that is associated with the at least one load-side unit switches the flow direction of the refrigerant that flows out from the at least one load-side unit such that the refrigerant flows into the heat-source-side unit; given these teaching and the structural arrangements of Figs. 1 and 2, one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application would have easily understood that switching the opened and closed positions of valves 12 and 13 would provide the cooling operation as claimed, and would found it obvious to similarly perform such controls via a 3-way valve (again see para. 0055 re. valves 12 and 13 being replaceable by 3-way valves) for the same purpose of utilizing the system to provide cooling at the load-side units.
As per claim 6, see similar claim 3, above.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi (US 2017/0370608 A1)in view of Yamada et al. (US 2022/0221205 A1).
As per claims 4, 7, and 8, Okochi does not disclose wherein in a partial load stopped operation in which at least one of the load-side units is stopped, a state of at least one of the three-way valves that is associated with the at least one load-side unit is switched such that the at least one three-way valve shuts off the flow of the refrigerant. Yamada et al. teach the concept of wherein in a partial load stopped operation in which at least one of the load-side units is stopped, a state of at least one of the valves that is associated with the at least one load-side unit is switched such that the at least one valve shuts off the flow of the refrigerant (Fig. 2; para. 0082-83 when only one of the load-side units requires heating or cooling operation; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control the three-way valves of Okochi (which are already controlling flow to the respective load-side units as discussed above) in this same manner for the same purpose of preventing refrigerant flow to load-side units that are not needed to be in operation during partial load conditions.
As per claims 5, 9, and 10, Okochi does not disclose wherein the expansion device of the at least one load-side unit is caused to be in a closed state. Yamada et al. teach wherein the expansion device of the at least one load-side unit is caused to be in a closed state (again: Fig. 2; paras. 0082-0083; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control expansion valves 23 of Okochi et al. for the same purpose of preventing refrigerant flow to load-side units that are not needed to be in operation during partial load conditions.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Zhang et al. (US 2021/0333027 A1) teach an air conditioning system with partial load valve controls (para. 0031; etc.).
Shen et al. (US 2021/0318045 A1) teach an air conditioning system with multiple 3-way valves 330 within relay unit 300.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763