DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on September 5, 2026, Applicant amended claims 11-20.
Applicant added new claims 21-24.
In the non-final rejection of June 16, 2026, Examiner objected to the Abstract. Applicant amended the Abstract. Objection is withdrawn.
Examiner rejected claims 12, 15-17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant amended claims 11-12, 15, 17, and 19. Rejection is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings of September 5, 2026, are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 25 is missing in Figure 1.
The drawings of September 5, 2026, are objected to because: reference sign 27 is missing a line to the corresponding component in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 11, lines 1-3 recite: “A connector system comprising” a connector for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claims 12-20 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 11.
In regards to claim 11, line 6 recites: with the front face of the adapter piece “surrounding” the counter-piece; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claims 12-20 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 11.
In regards to claim 12, lines 1-2 recite: “The connector system according to claim 11, further comprising” the first fluid transmission component; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification.
In regards to claim 13, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 11”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claims 14-16 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 13.
In regards to claim 14, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 13”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claims 15-16 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 14.
In regards to claim 15, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 14”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 15.
In regards to claim 16, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 15”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification.
In regards to claim 17, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 11”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification.
In regards to claim 18, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 11”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claim 19 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 18.
In regards to claim 19, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 18”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification.
In regards to claim 20, line 1 recites: “The connector system according to claim 11”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crombach (EP 3530312).
In regards to claim 11, Crombach teaches a connector system comprising a connector (Figures 1-5) for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component, the connector comprising:
an adapter piece (2) comprising an internal thread (7) and a front face (of 26)
a counter-piece (3) comprising an outer thread (17) that is screwed to the internal thread of the adapter piece, with the front face of the adapter piece surrounding the counter-piece (Figures 2-3)
a union sleeve (11) that is slidable over the adapter piece and the counter-piece, wherein the union sleeve, when in a slid-on state, latches non-detachably with the adapter piece, and wherein the union sleeve comprises a latch (62) that latches in the slid-on state with the front face of the adapter piece (Figure 3)
In regards to claim 12, Crombach teaches the first fluid transmission component (8), the first fluid transmission component comprising a tube portion (8), and wherein the adapter piece has a sleeve part (of 2) forming the internal thread and a conical part (4) housed in the sleeve part and connected to the tube portion of the first fluid transmission component (Figures 1-3).
In regards to claim 17, Crombach teaches wherein the latch is pre-tensioned by the adapter piece when the union sleeve is slid over the adapter piece (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 18, Crombach teaches wherein the latch comprises at least one elastic latching hook (62) projecting axially and radially inward from an inner circumferential surface of the union sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombach, as applied to claim 18 above.
In regards to claim 19, Crombach does not teach wherein the at least one elastic latching hook comprises three latching hooks evenly distributed over a circumference of the union sleeve, as Crombach instead teaches wherein the at least one elastic latching hook comprises one latching hook (62) on a circumference of the union sleeve. But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one elastic latching hook, of the connector system of Crombach, to comprise three latching hooks evenly distributed over a circumference of the union sleeve, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the at least one elastic latching hook comprising one latching hook on a circumference of the union sleeve, as taught by Crombach, as either configuration will allow for permanently locking the adapter piece to the union sleeve.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombach, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Korkor (US 6,722,705).
In regards to claim 20, Crombach does not teach wherein the union sleeve has at least one handle element on an outer circumferential surface of the union sleeve, the at least one handle element configured to be gripped when the union sleeve is slid on by a user. Korkor teaches a connector system (Figures 1-7) wherein a union sleeve (32) has at least one handle element (82) on an outer circumferential surface of the union sleeve, the at least one handle element configured to be gripped when the union sleeve is slid on by a user. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the union sleeve, of the connector system of Crombach, to have at least one handle element, as taught by Korkor, as such will enhance the graspability of the union sleeve as it is being connected to the counter-piece (column 5, lines 45-48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 5, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to claim 11, Applicant argued: Crombach teaches a connector having a connection piece 2 with internal threads, a counter- piece 3 with external threads, and a sleeve 11 that can be secured to prevent disconnection of the connector. As shown in Figure 3, Crombach's sleeve 11 slides over the connection piece 2, and "latching means 62" snap into place around "latching means 26" to prevent removal of the sleeve 11. See, e.g., Crombach at 0055-0056 and Fig. 3. The only structure in Crombach that could be considered to teach the claimed "adapter piece" is connecting piece 2, because it is the only piece with internal threads. The only part of the connecting piece 2 that could be considered to teach the claimed "front face" is the portion that surrounds the counter piece 3. Crombach's latching means 26, 62 do not form part of or interact with the "front face" of the connecting piece 2. Rather, the latching means 26, 62 are located at the other end of the connecting piece 2, as shown in Figure 3. Accordingly, Crombach does not teach or suggest every element of claim 11 (Remarks/Arguments, page 9). Examiner disagrees. Crombach teaches the front face (of 26) of the adapter piece (2) surrounding the counter-piece (3) (Figures 2-3), and wherein the union sleeve (11) comprises a latch (62) that latches in the slid-on state with the front face of the adapter piece (Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-24 are allowed.
In regards to independent claim 21, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of a connector for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component, as claimed, specifically including wherein the union sleeve has projections in an axial direction on an end portion facing the counter-piece, and wherein the projections are in engagement with the connector handle in the slid-on state.
Crombach teaches a connector (Figures 1-5) for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component, the connector comprising: a counter-piece (3), and a union sleeve (11), wherein the connector comprises a connector handle (9).
However, Crombach does not teach wherein the union sleeve has projections in an axial direction on an end portion facing the counter-piece, and wherein the projections are in engagement with the connector handle in the slid-on state.
Thus, independent claim 21 is allowed. Dependent claims 22-24 are allowed by virtue of being dependent upon independent claim 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783