DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on May 14, 2024, Applicant cancelled claims 1-10.
Applicant added new claims 11-20.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
In lines 1-2, “a second fluid transmission component includes” should be changed to “a second fluid transmission component, the connector includes”
In lines 5-6, “the connection piece” should be changed to “the connecting piece”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 12, lines 1-2 recites: “wherein the connector comprises the first fluid transmission component”. Claim 12 is understood to mean that the first fluid transmission component is part of the connector. Claim 12 depends upon claim 11. Claim 11, lines 1-2 recite: A connector for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component. Claim 11 is understood to mean that the first fluid transmission component is not part of the connector. Thus, reading claims 11 and 12 together, it is unclear how the first fluid transmission component can be both not part of and part of the connector.
In regards to claim 15, lines 2-3 recite “a further fluid transmission component”. Claim 15 depends upon claim 14, which depends upon claim 13, which depends upon claim 11. Claim 11, lines 1-2 recite “a first fluid transmission component” and “a second fluid transmission component”. It is unclear whether “a further fluid transmission component” is the same as or different from one of “a first fluid transmission component” and “a second fluid transmission component”. Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 15.
In regards to claim 17, lines 1-2 recite: “wherein the latch is pre-tensioned by the connector”. Claim 17 is understood to mean that the latch is not part of the connector. Claim 17 depends upon claim 11. Claim 11, lines 2-8 recite: “the connector comprising:… a union sleeve… wherein the union sleeve comprises a latch”. Claim 11 is understood to mean that the latch is part of the connector. Thus, reading claims 11 and 17 together, it is unclear how the latch can be both part of and not part of the connector.
In regards to claim 17, line 2 recites: “when the union sleeve is slid onto the connector”. Claim 17 is understood to mean that the union sleeve is not part of the connector. Claim 17 depends upon claim 11. Claim 11, lines 2-6 recite: “the connector comprising:… a union sleeve”. Claim 11 is understood to mean that the union sleeve is part of the connector. Thus, reading claims 11 and 17 together, it is unclear how the union sleeve can be both part of and not part of the connector.
In regards to claim 19, lines 1-2 recite “three latching hooks”. Claim 19 depends upon claim 18. Claim 18, lines 1-2 recite “at least one elastic latching hook”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same or different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crombach (EP 3530312).
In regards to claim 11, Crombach teaches a connector (Figures 1-5) for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component, the connector comprising:
an adapter piece (2) comprising an internal thread (7) and a front face (of 26)
a counter-piece (3) comprising an outer thread (17) that is screwed to the internal thread of the adapter piece, the front face of the adapter piece facing the counter-piece (Figures 2-3)
a union sleeve (11) that is slidable over the adapter piece and the counter-piece, wherein the union sleeve, when in a slid-on state, latches non-detachably with the adapter piece, and wherein the union sleeve comprises a latch (62) that latches in the slid-on state with the front face of the adapter piece (Figure 3)
In regards to claim 12, Crombach teaches wherein the connector comprises the first fluid transmission component (8), the first fluid transmission component comprising a tube portion (8), and wherein the adapter piece has a sleeve part (of 2) forming the internal thread and a conical part (4) housed in the sleeve part and connected to the tube portion of the first fluid transmission component (Figures 1-3).
In regards to claim 17, Crombach teaches wherein the latch is pre-tensioned by the connector when the union sleeve is slid onto the connector (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 18, Crombach teaches wherein the latch comprises at least one elastic latching hook (62) projecting axially and radially inward from an inner circumferential surface of the union sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombach, as applied to claim 18 above.
In regards to claim 19, Crombach does not teach wherein the union sleeve has three latching hooks evenly distributed over a circumference of the union sleeve, as Crombach instead teaches wherein the union sleeve has one latching hook (62) on a circumference of the union sleeve. But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the union sleeve, of the connector of Crombach, to have three latching hooks evenly distributed over a circumference of the union sleeve, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the union sleeve having one latching hook on a circumference of the union sleeve, as taught by Crombach, as either configuration will allow for permanently locking the adapter piece to the union sleeve.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crombach, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Korkor (US 6,722,705).
In regards to claim 20, Crombach does not teach wherein the union sleeve has at least one handle element on an outer circumferential surface of the union sleeve, the at least one handle element configured to be gripped when the union sleeve is slid on by a user. Korkor teaches a connector (Figures 1-7) wherein a union sleeve (32) has at least one handle element (82) on an outer circumferential surface of the union sleeve, the at least one handle element configured to be gripped when the union sleeve is slid on by a user. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the union sleeve, of the connector of Crombach, to have at least one handle element, as taught by Korkor, as such will enhance the graspability of the union sleeve as it is being connected to the counter-piece (column 5, lines 45-48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: claims 15-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In regards to claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of a connector for establishing a fluid connection between a first fluid transmission component and a second fluid transmission component, as claimed, specifically including wherein the union sleeve has projections in an axial direction on an end portion facing the counter-piece, and wherein the projections are in engagement with the connector handle in the slid-on state.
Crombach teaches wherein the connector comprises a connector handle (9).
However, Crombach does not teach wherein the union sleeve has projections in an axial direction on an end portion facing the counter-piece, and wherein the projections are in engagement with the connector handle in the slid-on state.
Thus, claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 11, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim 11. Claims 14-16 are objected to by virtue of being dependent upon claim 13. Note: claims 15-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783