DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending and examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species fibrin sealant, fiber continuity, type I fibrillar collagen, maximum load in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (from IDS, 2020, J Ortho Res, 2020:1-13).
Shi et al. teaches a method of repairing Flexor Tendons failure in dogs with purified exosome product (PEP) (Abstract). Flexor Tendons are located on the palm side of the hand. They are thick cord-like connective tissues that attach the finger bones to muscles in the forearm and allow the fingers to bend. Therefore, there is bone-tendon interface. The exosome diameter ranges from 93.70 to 124.65 nm (Abstract); therefore, the limitations of Claims 2-5 are met. PEP increased the expression of collagen III, matrix metallopeptidase 2, 3, 14 (Abstract). Fibrin sealant is used as an adhesive for tissue repair during surgical treatment for bone growth and vascularization and it is a scaffold for tendon and bone healing (page 2, left column, paragraph 3); therefore, the limitation of Claim 12 is met. The carrier is commercially available (page 2, right column, 2.1 Study rationale and design). The PEP is 5x1012 vesicles per mL for final concentration of 1x1012 vesicles per mL (page 2, right column, 2.2 PEP-Tissue patch preparation); therefore, the limitations of Claims 8-9 are met. Type I collagen is mostly present in collagen fiber (page 5, right column, paragraph last sentence of first paragraph), which is a collagen scaffold; therefore, the limitation of Claims 10-11 and 17 are met. The same purified exosome would inherently contain from 1-20% CD63- exosomes and from 80-99% CD63+ exosomes of Claim 6 because the same composition would have the same characteristics. The properties of tendon repair would inherently occur for Claims 13-19 because the method of tendon repair would require the same mechanisms.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-18 of copending Application No. 18/709915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a method of repairing tendon injury with purified exosome product are claimed.
18/709915 teaches:
12. A method of treating injured tendon tissue, the method comprising applying the composition of claim 1 to injured tendon tissue.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the composition is applied in an amount effective to decrease adhesion production compared to injured tendon tissue treated without the composition.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the composition is applied in an amount effective to increase the ratio of type I to type III collagen compared to injured tendon tissue treated without the composition.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein the composition is applied in an amount effective to produce more organized collagen architecture compared to injured tendon tissue treated without the composition.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the injured tendon tissue comprises disruption of a tendon.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the disruption of the tendon comprises rupture of the tendon.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the rupture of the tendon comprises an Achilles tendon rupture.
However, 18/709915 does not teach characteristics of the exosomes and its amounts, supportive matrix comprising collagen or fibrin sealant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use supportive matrix comprising collagen or fibrin sealant because tendon repair requires support such as collagen and fibrin. One would have been motivated to make supportive matrix comprising collagen or fibrin sealant for the expected benefit of repairing tendons. Absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed invention from the combined teachings of the cited references.
The reference does not specifically teach adding the ingredients in the amounts claimed by applicant for treatment tendons. However, the reference does teach the composition for repairing tendons with exosomes. The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition that is used for a particular purpose (the composition itself or that particular ingredient) is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, optimization of general conditions is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant’s invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
Catheryne Chen Examiner Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655