DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Meindl, US 2009/0049988 (Meindl, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Meindl discloses an air-permeable filter (abstract) comprising a porous fluorine resin membrane (see “PTFE”, ¶ 0126) having one principal surface and the other principal surface, the porous fluorine resin membrane being treated with an oil-repellant agent (see “PFPE”, ¶ 0009), wherein an absorbance ratio Rf of the one principal surface (as determined primarily by C-O bond stretching in PFPE) and an absorbance ratio Rb of the other principal surface (as determined primarily by C-F stretching in PTPE) are not substantially the same (see asymmetric loading of oil-repellant agent, ¶ 0064-0065, 0068), where the absorbance ratio is calculated by formula 1 as follows: Rf = Aa/Am and Rb = Aa/Am, where Aa is an FTIR absorbance peak derived from the oil-repellant agent (see “PFPE”, ¶ 0009), and Am is an FTIR absorbance peak derived from C-F stretching (see “PTFE”, ¶ 0126).
Regarding claim 2, Meindl discloses a filter where Rf and Rb are greater than zero (see asymmetric loading of oil-repellant agent on PTFE surface, ¶ 0064-0065, 0068, where PFPE absorbance contributes primarily on coated side and minimally on uncoated side).
Regarding claim 3, Meindl discloses a filter where Rf > Rb (where C-F FTIR peak is greater than C-O FTIR peak), and the one principal surface (having the PFPE coating) has an oil repellancy to prevent permeation of n-alkane having 15 carbon atoms (see “PFPE”, ¶ 0009, 0047).
Regarding claim 5, Meindl discloses a filter wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has a Gurley air permeability of 90 seconds/100mL or less (¶ 0417-0421).
Regarding claim 8, Meindl discloses a filter wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane is a porous polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (see “PTFE”, ¶ 0126).
Regarding claims 9-11, Meindl discloses a filter wherein the oil-repellant agent comprises perfluoropolyether (see “PFPE”, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 13, Meindl discloses a filter wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has a porosity of 63% or more (¶ 0421-0421).
Regarding claim 14, Meindl discloses a filter wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has a maximum pore diameter of 500 nm or less (¶ 0420-0421).
Regarding claim 15, Meindl discloses a filter further comprising a support layer for supporting the porous fluorine resin membrane (¶ 0134).
Regarding claim 16, Meindl discloses an air-permeable member comprising an air-permeable filter (described above) and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer bonded to the air-permeable filter (¶ 0401, 0424).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meindl.
Regarding claim 4, Meindl discloses various porous fluorine resin membranes having a pore diameter of 900 nm or less (¶ 0417-0421) but does not disclose the membrane having a Gurley air permeability of 12 seconds/100 mL or less. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a PTFE resin membrane having the recited Gurley air permeability range since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 6-7, Meindl does not explicitly disclose the rate of difference between absorbance ratios or Rm absorbance ratio at a depth of 40-60% of the porous fluorine resin membrane satisfying Rf > Rm > Rb. However, Meindl discloses asymmetric loading of the oil-repellant agent on the porous fluorine resin membrane surface (¶ 0064-0065, 0068), where the membrane can be saturated with said oil-repellant agent according to desired performance characteristics (¶ 0067-0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide those characteristics recited in claims 6-7, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (as it relates to oil-repellant loading) involves only routine skill in the art absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05, Section II, Part A).
Regarding claim 12, while Meindl discloses the porous fluorine resin membrane having a water entry pressure of 180 kPa or more (¶ 0048), Meindl does not disclose the water entry pressure test being conducted with an aqueous isopropanol solution with a concentration of 30% by weight. However, it can be envisaged that the porous fluorine resin membrane provided in Meindl would have similar performance in IPA, since the membrane material is the same as recited in the claims and a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect similar performance characteristics absent a showing to the contrary.
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779