Priority
Instant application 18/709949 filed on 05/14/2024 claims benefit as follows:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15 and 17-23 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s species election without traverse of compound 20
in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with the MPEP 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
As per MPEP 803.02, the Examiner will attempt to determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species, as shown above, does make a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02: should the elected species appear allowable; the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. The search and examination should be continued until either (1) prior art is found that anticipates or renders obvious a species that falls within the scope of a proper Markush grouping that includes the elected species, or (2) it is determined that no prior art rejection of any species that falls within the scope of a proper Markush grouping that includes the elected species can be made. The Examiner need not extend the search beyond a proper Markush grouping.
Species Election
A careful review of the prior art has indicated that elected species is free of the prior art. A claim directed to the elected species in independent form would be free of prior art.
The examiner has moved onto alternative species embodied within the general formula recited in the instant claim 1, and subsequent examination is based on this species expansion.
Claims 2 ,6, 8, 13, 17, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/05/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites” A compound comprising a structure of Formula I…” The examiner suggests “A compound of Formula I…” in the interests of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The term “substantially” has been defined in instant specification (see para. [0092] and [0093]):
Therefore, the term “substantially (R) stereochemistry”, recited in instant claim 14, is interpreted as greater than 50% enantiomeric excess of enantiomer (R) and the term “substantially (S) stereochemistry”, recited in instant claim 15, is interpreted as greater than 50% enantiomeric excess of enantiomer (S).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 19, 21, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-03/026648-A1 (made of record on the IDS) in view of Meanwell (Nicholas A. Meanwell, Top Med Chem (2015) 9: 283–382; the reference has been provided with the previous office action).
WO-03/026648-A1 discloses and claims compounds of Formula Ib:
as potent cannabinoid receptor antagonists (see abstract):
For example, WO-03/026648-A1 discloses example 36 (see page 13, CAS Registry Number 505031-20-9):
In example 36, the positions corresponding to instant variables of instant Formula I:
are as follows:
X is
wherein R1c is halogen (Cl), R1a, R1b, R1d and R1e are each hydrogen,
Y1 is
wherein R1a-e are each hydrogen,
Y2 is hydrogen,
Z1 and Z2 are each hydrogen,
A is SO2-R4 wherein R4 is
wherein R20a and R20b are each linear C1 alkyl (methyl),
and Q is S-CH3.
The instant claims recite a proviso that when Q is -S-R3, R3 is not linear or branched alkyl.
Therefore, the above compound differs from compounds of instant Formula I only in the position corresponding to instant Q variable.
However, applying KSR prong (B) - Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results - it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the alkyl group present in example 36 with an alkyl group substituted with halogen(s) to arrive at compounds embraced by instant Formula I and use the compounds for the same purpose as disclosed in WO-03/026648-A1.
For example, one of ordinary skill would substitute the hydrogen(s) in the C1 alkyl group of R3 with fluorine atom(s) to arrive at a substituted alkyl as recited in the present claims. As evidenced by [0026] of the specification, all permissible substituents of organic compounds reads on the phrase “substituted” which includes the halogen fluorine.
Meanwell teaches that fluorine is an isostere of hydrogen (see section 2.1, page 285). Further, Meanwell teaches that introduction of fluorine to replace a hydrogen atom can influence potency (see last paragraph on page 285).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare further examples of cannabinoid receptor antagonists and would expect retention of activity after said H-F substitution.
Regarding instant claims 14 and 15, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare both stereoisomers because WO-03/026648-A1 teaches stereoisomers and compounds of formula 1b* having a chirality center present at the position marked with * in instant Formula I (see page 4):
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621