DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the parentheses around the limitations of the last two lines of the claim should be removed, as it creates confusion whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “mainly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “mainly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instant case, it is not clear what amounts of the rare earth ferrite “mainly,” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know when an amount of a rare earth ferrite would infringe on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (“Study on the denitrification performance of FexLayOz/activated coke for NH3-SCR and the effect of CO escaped from activated coke at mid-high temperature on catalytic activity, 05/16/2019) (hereinafter Wang).
Wang discloses perovskite-type oxides, such as Fe-La bimetal oxides including LaFeO3, La1.6Fe0.4O3, and particularly La1.4Fe0.6O3, impregnated onto activated coke (abstract, Fig. 2) tested inside a quartz tube in a temperature-programmed tubular furnace (fig. 1) showed excellent denitrification performance, providing desirable choices for industrial applications (p.20261, col. 2, lines 4-5). Accordingly, Wang discloses an agent represented by formula (1) of Ln2xFe2(1-x)O3 wherein Ln is lanthanum and x is 0.5, 0.7, or 0.8, as claimed instantly.
Regarding the claims reciting “antiviral” in the preamble, this is merely a recitation of the intended use of the agent, product/layer, and/or treatment liquid. Since the Fe-La bimetal oxides of Wang comprise substantially the same active ingredient as the claimed invention (e.g., La1.4Fe0.6O3), the Fe-La bimetal oxides of the prior art would be usable as an antiviral agent, product/layer, and/or treatment liquid, whether the prior art recognizes such use or not.
Regarding claims 6-7 reciting the limitations of “used for an enveloped virus” or “used for a non-enveloped virus,” respectively, since the claims are directed to a product, the “for” statements are interpreted as intended use. Where substantially the same active agent is present in the prior art as instantly claimed, the intended use is met. See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, Wang discloses wherein the Fe-La bimetal oxides are impregnated onto activated coke. Accordingly, the activated coke of Wang meets the limitation of a substrate as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Wang further discloses activated coke is used in removal of pollutants from industrial flue gas (abs), and that industries include building materials industry (i.e. construction materials) (p. 20248, col. 2, ¶ 1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang further discloses wherein the lanthanum nitrate and iron nitrate was dissolved in deionized water to obtain a mixed solution (i.e. treatment liquid) (p. 20249, col. 2, ¶ 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Study on the denitrification performance of FexLayOz/activated coke for NH3-SCR and the effect of CO escaped from activated coke at mid-high temperature on catalytic activity, 05/16/2019) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2005272320A, 10/06/2005, IDS reference) (hereinafter Yamada).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the disclosure of Wang is discussed in detail above and differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing a resin.
However, Yamada discloses orthoferrite (LaFeO3) based additives may be used as an anti-algae coating composition ([0029]), suitable as paint and plastic plate additive applicable for building materials for interior and exterior of buildings as an anti-algae and anti-mold agent ([0001]). Said coating composition is made by mixing and dispersing a predetermined amount of an aqueous or oily colloidal liquid, in which the orthoferrite based additives are dispersed, in a coating composition such as acrylic, urethane, polyester, polyvinyl chloride, or phenol ([0029]). In particular, orthoferrites having a perovskite-type structure have a large algae-proofing force ([0025]).
As noted by para. [0060] of the instant Specification, a urethane is a resin. Thus the urethane of Yamada meets the limitation of a resin as instantly claimed.
As noted by para. [0061] of the instant Specification, water is a solvent. Thus the aqueous colloidal liquid of Yamada meets the limitation of a solvent as instantly claimed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the Fe-La bimetal oxides of Wang in a coating composition including acrylic, since it is a known and effective orthoferrite based additive having perovskite-type structure as taught by Yamada.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-22 of copending Application No. 18/277,276 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application discloses the same instantly claimed compound for another intended use.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612