DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 25 August 2025 has been received and made of record. Claim 12 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument (Page 6) in regards to claim 1 stating that Shomura fails to show a first device receiving a business XDR sent by a second device wherein the business XDR is generated based on business data collected from a user plane, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Shomura shows a UP-DPI that collects user traffic or business data from a user plane associated with the S-GW. (Fig. 1; [0047]; [0086]) The UP-DPI generates a session record or business XDR from the user traffic information and transmits the session record (Fig. 9) to a traffic management server or first device. ([0086]; [0079])
In response to Applicant’s argument (Pages 7-8) in regards to claim 1 stating that Shomura fails to show the first device searching target signaling XDR in signaling XDR sent by a third device according to the business XDR and a preset association between business and signaling wherein the signaling XDR is generated based on information related to business in a signaling collected from a control plane and updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Shomura shows a CP-DPI or third device which collects signaling traffic of a control plane associated with the MME. (Fig. 1; [0047]; [0055]) The CP-DPI generates a signaling record (Fig. 4) or signaling XDR based on the signaling traffic and sends it to the traffic management server. ([0059]) After receiving the session record or business XDR as described above from the UP-DPI the traffic management server performs a record correlation process which involves searching the signaling record of signaling XDR for a matching IMSI and session start time to the IMSI and session start time in the received session record or business XDR. (Fig. 14; [0104-0107]) The IMSI and session start time are considered a preset association because it links the two records. The traffic management server updates the business XDR into an updated business XDR or correlated record management table by adding the signaling information from the signaling record or signaling XDR and the correlation subject flag to the information already included in the received session record or business XDR. ([0107]; Fig. 12)
In response to Applicant’s argument (Pages 8-9) in regards to claim 6 stating that Shomura fails to show filling in a non-control related field to generate the business XDR according to the business data and sending the business XDR to a first device, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Shomura shows a UP-DPI or second device which collects user traffic from a user plane associated with the S-GW. (Fig. 1; [0047]; [0086]) The UP-DPI generates a session record or business XDR from the user traffic information. ([0086]) When generating the session record or business XDR the UP-DPI inherently fills in the fields of the session record or business XDR. One of these fields includes session information including the number of packets transferred in a session. ([0089]) The number of packets in an application session is user plane information, not control plane information. Therefore, the number of packets is filled into a non-control related field in the session record. The generated session record or business XDR is sent to the traffic management server or first device. ([0086])
In response to Applicant’s argument (Pages 9-10) in regards to claim 7 stating that Shomura fails to show collecting signaling from a control plane, generating signaling XDR according to information related to business in the signaling, and sending the signaling XDR to a first device, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Shomura shows a CP-DPI or third device that collects signaling traffic from a control plane associated with the MME. (Fig. 1; [0047]; [0055]) A signaling record or signaling XDR is generated from the business in the signaling traffic. ([0055]; [0059]; Fig. 4) The generated signaling record or signaling XDR is sent to the traffic management server or first device. ([0055])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor, the method for obtaining business XDR according to claim 1 is implemented”. As recited the claim is a medium that stores a program that is executed by a processor and a method for obtaining business XDR according to claim 1. It is unclear whether this claim is directed towards a medium or a method. If the applicant wishes to have the method implemented by the processor executing the program stored in the medium then the claim should positively recite that.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shomura et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0142276), hereinafter Shomura.
Regarding claim 1, Shomura teaches
A method for obtaining business x detail record (XDR), applied to a first device, (Fig. 1, 143; i.e. traffic management server) comprising: ([0097]; Fig. 11; i.e. A method performed by a traffic management server comprising processor, memory and instructions to perform the method.)
receiving business XDR (i.e. session record) sent by a second device, (Fig. 1, 141; [0085]; i.e. UP-DPI1) wherein the business XDR is generated based on business data (i.e. user traffic) collected from a user plane; ([0086]; [0079])
searching target signaling XDR (i.e. signaling record) in signaling XDR ([0059]; [0076]; i.e. signaling record output file) sent by a third device (Fig. 1, 142, CP-DPI1) according to the business XDR and a preset association (IMSI and session start time) between business and signaling, ([0104-0107]; Fig. 14, 1401-1406) wherein the signaling XDR is generated based on information (i.e. signaling traffic) related to business in a signaling collected from a control plane; and ([0055])
updating the business XDR (Fig. 12, 1111; i.e. updated session record of correlated management table) according to the target signaling XDR. ([0107])
Regarding claim 2, Shomura teaches
The method for obtaining the business XDR according to claim 1, wherein the updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR comprises:
determining a missing field (i.e. “signaling type) in the business XDR; (Fig. 12; [0102]; [0107]; i.e. It would inherently be determined what fields are missing from the correlated management table in order to record the appropriate signaling information associated with the session.)
searching information (i.e. signaling type) related to the missing field from the target signaling XDR, (i.e. signaling record) and (Fig. 4, 403; [0107])
generating a fill field based on found information; and ([0107]; i.e. The signaling type is entered into the correlated management table signal type field.)
filling the fill field into the business XDR. (Fig. 12, 1111; i.e. updated session record of correlated management table) ([0107])
Regarding claim 3, Shomura teaches
The method for obtaining the business XDR according to claim 1, wherein the updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR comprises:
modifying a corresponding association field (Fig. 12, 221; i.e. correlation subject flag) in the business XDR (Fig. 12; i.e. correlated record/updated session record) according to an association field (Fig. 4, 402; i.e. IMSI) in the signaling XDR (i.e. signaling record file) when it is detected that an association field (Fig. 4, 402; i.e. IMSI) of the target signaling XDR (Fig. 4; i.e. signaling record) is inconsistent with an association field (Fig. 9, 901; i.e. IMSI) of the business XDR, (Fig. 9; i.e. session record) ([0107-0108]; i.e. If the search key of the IMSI of the session record does not detect a signal record, then the IMSI of the of the session record does not match an IMSI of a signaling record. In this case the correlation subject flag is modified/set to “0”.) wherein the association field (i.e. IMSI) is a field describing a same object (i.e. UE) in the signaling XDR and the business XDR. ([0057])
Regarding claim 4, Shomura teaches
The method for obtaining the business XDR according to claim 1, wherein before the searching the target signaling XDR in the signaling XDR sent by the third device according to the business XDR and the preset association between the business and the signaling, the method further comprises:
receiving the signaling XDR (i.e. signaling record file) sent by the third device; (i.e. CP-DPI) and ([0055]; [0076])
caching received signaling XDR in a local cache, (Fig. 11, 203; [0105-0107]; i.e. The traffic management server would inherently save the received signaling record in memory for a period of time in order to search its entries.)
the searching the target signaling XDR in the signaling XDR sent by the third device according to the business XDR and the preset association between the business and the signaling comprises: searching the target signaling XDR in the local cache according to the business XDR and the preset association between the business and the signaling. ([0107])
Regarding claim 5, Shomura teaches
The method for obtaining the business XDR according to claim 1, wherein when it is detected that business corresponding to the business XDR ends, (i.e. application session ends) the updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR comprises: ([0095]; [0105]; i.e. It is detected that the application session ends when receiving a FIN packet. At that time the UP-DPI sends the session record to the traffic management server which then correlates the records/updates the business XDR.)
updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR and adding information (Fig. 12, “End Time”) indicating that the business ends to an updated business XDR, and ([0107]; Fig. 12)
after the updating the business XDR according to the target signaling XDR, the method further comprises: releasing (i.e. program ends) a signaling XDR resource (i.e. record correlation process program) configured to maintain the business XDR. ([0104]; [0109])
Regarding claim 6, Shomura teaches
A method for obtaining business XDR, applied to a second device, (Fig. 1, 141; i.e. UP-DPI1) comprising:
collecting business data (i.e. user traffic) from a user plane; ([0086]; [0048])
filling in a non-control related field (i.e. number of packets transferred) to generate the business XDR (Fig. 9; [0087]; i.e. session record) according to the business data; and ([0089])
sending the business XDR to a first device. (Fig. 1, 143; i.e. traffic management server) ([0086]; [0079])
Regarding claim 7, Shomura teaches
A method for obtaining business XDR, applied to a third device, (Fig. 1, CP-DPI1) comprising:
collecting a signaling (i.e. signaling traffic) from a control plane; ([0055])
generating signaling XDR (i.e. signaling record) according to information related to business in the signaling; and ([0055]; [0059])
sending the signaling XDR to a first device. (Fig. 1, 143; i.e. traffic management server) ([0055])
Regarding claim 11, this apparatus claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 1 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 12, this medium claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 1 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLINE H JAHNIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451