DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 09/02/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-13, 16, 19, 20, 24, 25, and 30 are amended
Claims 1-30 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12-16, 20-21, 24-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20230189238 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhu, in view of MYUNG et al. (US 20250089091 A1), hereinafter referenced as Myung.
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Zhu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Para. [0007]-Zhu discloses a method for operating a UE is provided. The method includes receiving information including a set of TCI states; receiving a configuration for a first PUSCH; and identifying, according to the information, a set of UL TCI states in a beam indication instance. Fig. 1, Para. [0033]-Zhu discloses the wireless network could include any number of gNBs and any number of UEs in any suitable arrangement. Also, the gNB 101 could communicate directly with any number of UEs. Fig. 2, Para. [0035]-Zhu discloses the gNB 102 includes multiple antennas 205a-205n, multiple transceivers 210a-210n, a controller/processor 225, a memory 230, and a backhaul or network interface 235. Fig. 3, Para. [0044]-Zhu discloses the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310, and a microphone 320. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, an input 350, a display 355, and a memory 360), configured to:
receive configuration information associated with a single downlink control information (DCI) multiple transmit receive point (TRP) mode (Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0120]-Zhu discloses DCI based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation … the UE could receive from the network a single DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system),
the configuration information indicates respective repetition modes for one or more physical channels (Para. [0175]-Zhu discloses for PUSCH repetition Type B {EXAMINER'S REMARK: Corresponding to a respective physical channel repetition mode}, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17 ... the UE may transmit K nominal PUSCH repetitions. Para. [0157]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states ..., for PUSCH repetition Type A {EXAMINER'S REMARK: Corresponding to a respective physical channel repetition mode});
receive an indication of a pair of unified transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) (Para. [0181]-Zhu disclosesUE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE and/or one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields in the beam indication DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2 with or without DL assignment), M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states or M>1 separate UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states, and/or when/if the UE is configured by the network, e.g., the UE is indicated/configured/provided by the network, e.g., in higher layer RRC signalling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling (e.g., the higher layer parameter PUCCH-Config that configures the PUCCH), an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)); and
communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s). Para. [0122]-Zhu discloses the Rel. 17 unified TCI state indicated in the DCI for beam indication. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604).
Zhu fails to explicitly teach communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information.
However, Myung teaches communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information (Para. [0258]-Myung discloses BS may configure the UE with spatialrelationinfo for a beam direction to be transmitted by the UE, or when a Rel-17 unified TCI framework {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCIs} is supported, indicate a beam direction {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to beam direction} for a UL transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the communication} to the UE by a joint TCI state. Para. [0141]-Myung discloses processes for acquiring and maintaining a set of BS beams (transmission and reception point (TRP) beams) and/or a set of UE beams available for DL and UL transmission/reception. Para. [0259]-Myung discloses when a unified TCI state is supported, a beam direction may be indicated by a joint TCI, and in the case of a DL/UL separate TCI, a beam direction may be indicated by a UL TCI state. Further, when a specific DL RS is indicated by a joint TCI, this may imply that a beam corresponding to a corresponding DL RS Rx beam may also be used for a transmission. For example, when the specific DL RS is indicated by the joint TCI, a beam using the same spatial filter as the DL RS Rx beam may also be used for the transmission).
Zhu and Myung are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Myung on beam direction, with a motivation to transmit using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs, and guarantee beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, (Zhu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 13 and 30, Zhu teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Para. [0007]-Zhu discloses a method for operating a UE is provided. The method includes receiving information including a set of TCI states; receiving a configuration for a first PUSCH; and identifying, according to the information, a set of UL TCI states in a beam indication instance. Fig. 1, Para. [0033]-Zhu discloses the wireless network could include any number of gNBs and any number of UEs in any suitable arrangement. Also, the gNB 101 could communicate directly with any number of UEs. Fig. 2, Para. [0035]-Zhu discloses the gNB 102 includes multiple antennas 205a-205n, multiple transceivers 210a-210n, a controller/processor 225, a memory 230, and a backhaul or network interface 235. Fig. 3, Para. [0044]-Zhu discloses the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310, and a microphone 320. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, an input 350, a display 355, and a memory 360), configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a single downlink control information (DCI) multiple transmit receive point (TRP) mode (Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0120]-Zhu discloses DCI based unified TCI state/beam indication for a multiple TRP operation … the UE could receive from the network a single DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) to indicate M>1 Rel. 17 unified TCI states/beams (e.g., M>1 joint DL and UL TCI states or M>1 separate UL TCI states) for the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) transmitted to/associated with different TRPs in the multi-TRP system),
the configuration information indicates respective repetition modes for one or more physical channels (Para. [0175]-Zhu discloses for PUSCH repetition Type B {EXAMINER'S REMARK: Corresponding to a respective physical channel repetition mode}, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17 ... the UE may transmit K nominal PUSCH repetitions. Para. [0157]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states ..., for PUSCH repetition Type A {EXAMINER'S REMARK: Corresponding to a respective physical channel repetition mode}. Para. [0064]-Zhu discloses gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS) … UE can determine CSI-RS transmission parameters through DL control signaling or higher layer signaling, such as an RRC signaling from a gNB. Transmission instances of a CSI-RS can be indicated by DL control signaling or configured by higher layer signaling);
transmit, to the UE, an indication of a pair of unified transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) (Para. [0181]-Zhu disclosesUE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE and/or one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields in the beam indication DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2 with or without DL assignment), M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states or M>1 separate UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states, and/or when/if the UE is configured by the network, e.g., the UE is indicated/configured/provided by the network, e.g., in higher layer RRC signalling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling (e.g., the higher layer parameter PUCCH-Config that configures the PUCCH), an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)); and
communicate with the UE using at least one of a first beam direction (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s). Para. [0122]-Zhu discloses the Rel. 17 unified TCI state indicated in the DCI for beam indication. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604).
Zhu fails to explicitly teach communicate with the UE using at least one of a first beam direction associated with a first unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs or a second beam direction associated with a second unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs.
However, Myung teaches communicate with the UE using at least one of a first beam direction associated with a first unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs or a second beam direction associated with a second unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0258]-Myung discloses BS may configure the UE with spatialrelationinfo for a beam direction to be transmitted by the UE, or when a Rel-17 unified TCI framework {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCIs} is supported, indicate a beam direction {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to beam direction} for a UL transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the communication} to the UE by a joint TCI state. Para. [0141]-Myung discloses processes for acquiring and maintaining a set of BS beams (transmission and reception point (TRP) beams) and/or a set of UE beams available for DL and UL transmission/reception. Para. [0259]-Myung discloses when a unified TCI state is supported, a beam direction may be indicated by a joint TCI, and in the case of a DL/UL separate TCI, a beam direction may be indicated by a UL TCI state. Further, when a specific DL RS is indicated by a joint TCI, this may imply that a beam corresponding to a corresponding DL RS Rx beam may also be used for a transmission. For example, when the specific DL RS is indicated by the joint TCI, a beam using the same spatial filter as the DL RS Rx beam may also be used for the transmission).
Zhu and Myung are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Myung on beam direction, with a motivation to transmit using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs, and guarantee beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, (Zhu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 26 Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 13 and the method of claim 25 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the pair of unified TCIs, are configured to: receive a TCI codepoint that indicates a first unified TCI and a second unified TCI (Para. [0160]-Zhu discloses the UE is indicated/configured/provided by the network, ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator new or repurposed in the corresponding DCI format 0_1/0_2) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUSCH transmission(s), the association between the first and second joint DL and UL TCI states or the first and second separate UL TCI states (M=2) or the first and second separate DL TCI states (N=2) or the first and second TCI states in the first combination of TCI states or the first and second TCI states in the second combination of TCI states, e.g., indicated by one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields in the beam indication DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2 with or without DL assignment) and/or unified TCI states activation MAC CE).
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 27 Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 13 and the method of claim 25 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the pair of unified TCIs include a pair of joint downlink and uplink TCI indications or a pair of separate downlink TCI indications (Para. [0093]-Zhu discloses the unified TCI framework, where a unified or master or main TCI state is signaled to the UE. The unified or master or main TCI state can be one of: (1) in case of joint TCI state indication, wherein a same beam is used for DL and UL channels, a joint TCI state that can be used at least for UE-dedicated DL channels and UE-dedicated UL channels; (2) in case of separate TCI state indication, wherein different beams are used for DL and UL channels, a DL TCI state can be used at least for UE-dedicated DL channels; and (3) in case of separate TCI state indication, wherein different beams are used for DL and UL channels, a UL TCI state can be used at least for UE-dedicated UL channels).
Regarding claims 4, 16 and 28 Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 3 and the base station of claim 15 and the method of claim 27 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the configuration information indicates that a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition mode is configured for the UE (Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses gNB transmits data information or DCI through respective physical DL shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical DL control channels (PDCCHs). A PDSCH or a PDCCH can be transmitted over a variable number of slot symbols including one slot symbol. A UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH),
the configuration information identifies a first control resource set (CORESET) list and a second CORESET list (Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP in the multi-TRP system can represent a collection of measurement antenna ports, measurement RS resources and/or control resource sets (CORESETs). For example, a TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH), and
the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to: receive at least one of:
a first transmission of a PDCCH communication, from the first TRP or the second TRP, in a first CORESET determined by applying a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to the first CORESET list (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity), or
a second transmission of the PDCCH communication, from the first TRP or the second TRP, in a second CORESET determined by applying a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCs, to the second CORESET list (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 3 and the base station of claim 15 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the configuration information indicates a list of configured reference signals includes a first list of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) or CSI-RS sets and a second list of CSI-RSs or CSI-RS sets (Para. [0064]-Zhu discloses gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS) … UE can determine CSI-RS transmission parameters through DL control signaling or higher layer signaling, such as an RRC signaling from a gNB. Transmission instances of a CSI-RS can be indicated by DL control signaling or configured by higher layer signaling), and
the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to:
receive, from the first TRP or the second TRP, a first CSI-RS or CSI-RS set identified by applying a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to the first list of CSI-RSs or CSI-RS sets (Fig. 9, Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses an example of MAC CE based Rel. 17 unified TCI state/beam indication for the multi-TRP operation ... Each TCI state contains at least a QCL source RS with a QCL type, e.g., QCL-typeA/B/C/D. Para. [0064]-Zhu discloses gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS) … UE can determine CSI-RS transmission parameters through DL control signaling or higher layer signaling, such as an RRC signaling from a gNB. Transmission instances of a CSI-RS can be indicated by DL control signaling or configured by higher layer signaling. Para. [0294]-Zhu discloses UE using RS index q.sub.d for the active DL BWP of carrier f of serving cell c, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states); and
receive, from the first TRP or the second TRP, a second CSI-RS or CSI-RS set identified by applying a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to the second list of CSI-RSs or CSI-RS sets (Fig. 9, Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses an example of MAC CE based Rel. 17 unified TCI state/beam indication for the multi-TRP operation ... Each TCI state contains at least a QCL source RS with a QCL type, e.g., QCL-typeA/B/C/D. Para. [0064]-Zhu discloses gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS) … UE can determine CSI-RS transmission parameters through DL control signaling or higher layer signaling, such as an RRC signaling from a gNB. Transmission instances of a CSI-RS can be indicated by DL control signaling or configured by higher layer signaling. Para. [0294]-Zhu discloses UE using RS index q.sub.d for the active DL BWP of carrier f of serving cell c, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states).
Regarding claims 9, 21, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 13 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the pair of unified TCIs include a pair joint downlink and uplink TCI indications or a pair of separate uplink TCI indications (Para. [0181]-Zhu disclosesUE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE and/or one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields in the beam indication DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2 with or without DL assignment), M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states or M>1 separate UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states, and/or when/if the UE is configured by the network, e.g., the UE is indicated/configured/provided by the network, e.g., in higher layer RRC signalling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling (e.g., the higher layer parameter PUCCH-Config that configures the PUCCH), an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)).
Regarding claims 12, 24, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 9 and the base station of claim 21 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the configuration information indicates a list of configured reference signals includes a first list of sounding reference signals (SRSs) or SRS sets and a second list of SRSs or SRS sets (Para. [0253]-Zhu discloses configured by the network—e.g., if a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 indicates codepoint “00” for the SRS resource set indicator, the first joint DL and UL TCI state or the first separate UL TCI state or the first separate DL TCI state or the first TCI state in the first combination of TCI states. Para. [0251]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states ..., or when two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to “codebook” or “noncodebook,” for PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1 consecutive slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer), and
the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to:
transmit a first SRS or SRS set identified by applying a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to the first list of SRSs or SRS sets (Para. [0067]-Zhu discloses UL RS includes DMRS and SRS ... SRS is transmitted by a UE to provide a gNB with an UL CSI and, for a TDD system, an SRS transmission can also provide a PMI for DL transmission. Para. [0253]-Zhu discloses configured by the network—e.g., if a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 indicates codepoint “00” for the SRS resource set indicator, the first joint DL and UL TCI state or the first separate UL TCI state or the first separate DL TCI state or the first TCI state in the first combination of TCI states. Para. [0251]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states ..., or when two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to “codebook” or “noncodebook,” for PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1 consecutive slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer); and
transmit a second SRS or SRS set identified by applying a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to the second list of SRSs or SRS sets (Para. [0067]-Zhu discloses UL RS includes DMRS and SRS ... SRS is transmitted by a UE to provide a gNB with an UL CSI and, for a TDD system, an SRS transmission can also provide a PMI for DL transmission. Para. [0253]-Zhu discloses configured by the network—e.g., if a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 indicates codepoint “00” for the SRS resource set indicator, the first joint DL and UL TCI state or the first separate UL TCI state or the first separate DL TCI state or the first TCI state in the first combination of TCI states. Para. [0251]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states ..., or when two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to “codebook” or “noncodebook,” for PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1 consecutive slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer).
Claims 5, 7, 11, 17, 19, 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20230189238 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhu, in view of MYUNG et al. (US 20250089091 A1), hereinafter referenced as Myung, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20250039917 A1)), hereinafter referenced as Matsumura.
Regarding claims 5, 17 and 29 Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 15 and the method of claim 27 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the configuration information identifies a control resource set (CORESET) list (Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP in the multi-TRP system can represent a collection of measurement antenna ports, measurement RS resources and/or control resource sets (CORESETs). For example, a TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH), and
the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to receive at least one of:
a first transmission of a PDCCH communication, from the first TRP, in a CORESET from the CORESET list using a first beam direction associated with a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCs (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604), or
a second transmission of the PDCCH communication, from the second TRP, in the CORESET from the CORESET list using a second beam direction associated with a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604).
Zhu fails to teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) mode is configured for the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) mode is configured for the UE (Para. [0409]-Matsumura discloses repetition transmissions of the PUSCH may be scheduled by at least one of a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink control channel to be repetitively transmitted. Para. [0293]-Matsumura discloses PDCCH for communicating DCI for scheduling/configuring/triggering a UL channel (PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission) may be an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0224]-Matsumura discloses PDSCHs from multi-TRP are scheduled by an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0173]-Matsumura discloses DL signal (PDSCH/PDCCH) reception using an SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception of identical data (PDSCHs)/control information (PDCCHs) from a plurality of transmission/reception points. The DL signal reception using the SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception, with a plurality of TCI states/spatial domain filters/beams/QCLs, of identical data/control information).
Matsumura is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication, dealing with next-generation mobile communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung to incorporate the teachings of Matsumura on single frequency network (SFN), with a motivation for SFN physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) mode, and guarantee control operation related to a default TCI state/spatial relation/pathloss reference signal, (Matsumura, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claims 7, 19, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 15 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to: receive at least one of:
a first transmission of a PDSCH communication, from the first TRP, using a first beam direction associated with a first unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. The UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDSCH reception based on a configuration by higher layers or based on an indication by a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception of a value for a TCI state. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604), or
a second transmission of the PDSCH communication, from the second TRP, using a second beam direction associated with a second unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0097]-Zhu discloses the UE could then receive from the network one or more MAC CE commands to indicate one or more beam(s) (i.e., the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s)) for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources associated with one or more TRPs in a multi-TRP system. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses the UE could simultaneously receive from multiple physically non-co-located TRPs various channels/RSs such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs using either a single receive (RX) panel or multiple RX panels. Para. [0094]-Zhu discloses the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. Para. [0063]-Zhu discloses UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDCCH reception based on a configuration of a value for a transmission configuration indication state (TCI state) of a control resource set (CORESET) where the UE receives the PDCCH. The UE can be indicated a spatial setting for a PDSCH reception based on a configuration by higher layers or based on an indication by a DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception of a value for a TCI state. Fig. 8, Para. [0082]-Zhu discloses TRP could be associated with one or more of: … a plurality of CORESETs associated with a CORESETPoolIndex; and (5) a plurality of CORESETs associated with a TRP-specific index/indicator/identity. Fig. 6A, Para. [0071]-Zhu discloses device at point A 605 can receive from and transmit to the device 604 as point A is within a beam width of a beam traveling in a beam direction and coming from the device 604).
Zhu fails to teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) mode is configured for the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) mode is configured for the UE (Para. [0409]-Matsumura discloses repetition transmissions of the PUSCH may be scheduled by at least one of a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink control channel to be repetitively transmitted. Para. [0293]-Matsumura discloses PDCCH for communicating DCI for scheduling/configuring/triggering a UL channel (PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission) may be an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0224]-Matsumura discloses PDSCHs from multi-TRP are scheduled by an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0173]-Matsumura discloses DL signal (PDSCH/PDCCH) reception using an SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception of identical data (PDSCHs)/control information (PDCCHs) from a plurality of transmission/reception points. The DL signal reception using the SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception, with a plurality of TCI states/spatial domain filters/beams/QCLs, of identical data/control information).
Matsumura is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication, dealing with next-generation mobile communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung to incorporate the teachings of Matsumura on single frequency network (SFN), with a motivation for SFN physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) mode, and guarantee control operation related to a default TCI state/spatial relation/pathloss reference signal, (Matsumura, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claims 11, 23, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 21 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to:
transmit a first transmission of a PUSCH or PUCCH communication, to the first TRP, using a first beam direction associated with a first unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), and
transmit a second transmission of the PUSCH or PUCCH communication, to the second TRP, using a second beam direction associated with a second unified TCI of the pair of unified TCIs (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)).
Zhu fails to teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) mode is configured for the UE.
However, Matsumura teaches the configuration information indicates that a single frequency network (SFN) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) mode is configured for the UE (Para. [0409]-Matsumura discloses repetition transmissions of the PUSCH may be scheduled by at least one of a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel and a physical downlink control channel to be repetitively transmitted. Para. [0293]-Matsumura discloses PDCCH for communicating DCI for scheduling/configuring/triggering a UL channel (PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission) may be an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0224]-Matsumura discloses PDSCHs from multi-TRP are scheduled by an SFN-PDCCH. Para. [0173]-Matsumura discloses DL signal (PDSCH/PDCCH) reception using an SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception of identical data (PDSCHs)/control information (PDCCHs) from a plurality of transmission/reception points. The DL signal reception using the SFN may mean reception using identical time/frequency resources and/or reception, with a plurality of TCI states/spatial domain filters/beams/QCLs, of identical data/control information).
Matsumura is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication, dealing with next-generation mobile communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung to incorporate the teachings of Matsumura on single frequency network (SFN), with a motivation for SFN PUSCH/PUCCH mode, and guarantee control operation related to a default TCI state/spatial relation/pathloss reference signal, (Matsumura, Para. [0007]).
Claims 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20230189238 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhu, in view of MYUNG et al. (US 20250089091 A1), hereinafter referenced as Myung, and further in view of GAO et al. (US 20220239448 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gao, and further in view of Dalin-Zhu et al. (US 20230199764 A1), hereinafter referenced as Dalin-Zhu.
Regarding claims 6, 18, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 15 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)).
Zhu fails to teaches the configuration information indicates that a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition mode is an inter-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, an intra-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, a frequency division multiplexed repetition mode, or a space division multiplexed repetition mode.
However, Gao teaches the configuration information indicates that a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition mode is an inter-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, an intra-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, a frequency division multiplexed repetition mode, or a space division multiplexed repetition mode (Para. [0047]-Gao discloses the first configuration for assigning TCI states to different PDSCH repetitions may be determined at least based on a multiplexing scheme associated with resource allocations for the different PDSCH repetitions. A multiplexing scheme is also referred to as a “repetition scheme” in the following, including but not limited to, TDM, FDM, or FDM in combination with TDM).
Gao is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of telecommunication, dealing with methods, devices and computer storage media for communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung to incorporate the teachings of Gao on multiplexing, with a motivation to indicate PDSCH multiplexed repetition mode, and guarantee beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, (Zhu, Para. [0003]).
Zhu fails to teaches apply a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCs, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PDSCH communication based at least in part on the PDSCH repetition mode; and apply a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a second set of repetition occasions associated with the PDSCH communication based at least in part on the PDSCH repetition mode.
However, Dalin-Zhu teaches apply a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCs, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PDSCH communication based at least in part on the PDSCH repetition mode (Para. [0537]-Dalin-Zhu discloses when a UE is configured/provided by the network the higher layer parameter repetitionNumber in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation, and N>1 (or M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states in a “Transmission Configuration Indication” field indicated by a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) or MAC CE, the UE may expect to receive multiple slot level PDSCH transmission occasions of the same TB with the indicated N>1 (M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states used across multiple PDSCH transmission occasions in the repetitionNumber consecutive slots); and
apply a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a second set of repetition occasions associated with the PDSCH communication based at least in part on the PDSCH repetition mode (Para. [0537]-Dalin-Zhu discloses when a UE is configured/provided by the network the higher layer parameter repetitionNumber in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation, and N>1 (or M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states in a “Transmission Configuration Indication” field indicated by a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) or MAC CE, the UE may expect to receive multiple slot level PDSCH transmission occasions of the same TB with the indicated N>1 (M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states used across multiple PDSCH transmission occasions in the repetitionNumber consecutive slots).
Dalin-Zhu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with beam management for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) channels and signals in a multiple transmission and reception points (multi-TRP) wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung and Gao to incorporate the teachings of Dalin-Zhu on PDSCH repetition, with a motivation to apply unified TCI to repetition occasion, and guarantee beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on, (Dalin-Zhu, Para. [0007]).
Claims 10, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20230189238 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhu, in view of MYUNG et al. (US 20250089091 A1), hereinafter referenced as Myung, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 20200045691 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claims 10, 22, Zhu in view of Myung teaches the UE of claim 1 and the base station of claim 21 respectively,
Zhu further teaches the one or more processors, to communicate with at least one of the first TRP or the second TRP (Para. [0085]-Zhu discloses various design aspects/enhancements for the TCI state/beam indication in a multi-TRP system, wherein the UE could transmit the same PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) to different TRPs using different time domain resources and/or different frequency domain resources and/or different spatial domain filters. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s)), are configured to:
apply a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode (Para. [0308]-Zhu discloses PUCCH transmission occasion i {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced occasion}, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCI}. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s), and when the UE is configured a number of slots, N.sub.PUCCH.sup.repeat, for repetitions of a PUCCH transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced transmission occasion}. Para. [0095]-Zhu discloses TCI state/beam indication for the PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) repetition in a multi-TRP system is discussed under the Rel. 17 unified TCI framework. Para. [0295]-Zhu discloses PUSCH transmission occasion i, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states); and
apply a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a second set of repetition occasions associated with the PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode (Para. [0308]-Zhu discloses PUCCH transmission occasion i {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced occasion}, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCI}. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s), and when the UE is configured a number of slots, N.sub.PUCCH.sup.repeat, for repetitions of a PUCCH transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced transmission occasion}. Para. [0095]-Zhu discloses TCI state/beam indication for the PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) repetition in a multi-TRP system is discussed under the Rel. 17 unified TCI framework. Para. [0295]-Zhu discloses PUSCH transmission occasion i, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states).
Zhu fails to teaches the configuration information indicates that a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition mode is an inter-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, an intra-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, a frequency division multiplexed repetition mode, or a space division multiplexed repetition mode.
However, Park teaches the configuration information indicates that a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition mode is an inter-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, an intra-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, a frequency division multiplexed repetition mode, or a space division multiplexed repetition mode (Para. [0010]-Park discloses configuring the PUCCH by repeating N times a resource group in which N pieces of data are frequency division multiplexed (FDM) in a frequency domain in each of at least one symbol (where N is an integer greater than 1); and transmitting the configured PUCCH in the at least one symbol after applying phase rotations with different angles to the N pieces of data, respectively).
Park is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and reception between a terminal and a base station in a wireless communication system supporting various numerologies and apparatus for supporting the same.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhu in view of Myung to incorporate the teachings of Park on multiplexing, with a motivation to indicate PUCCH multiplexed repetition mode, and guarantee beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, (Zhu, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/02/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-30 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 17 and 18, Lines [23 and 1-3 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…MYUNG does not disclose "communicat[ing] with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCis based at least in part on configuration information," where "the configuration information indicates respective repetition modes for one or more physical channels," as recited in amended claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…communicate with at least one of a first TRP or a second TRP using beam directions associated with the pair of unified TCIs based at least in part on the configuration information,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1, in Para. [0258]-Myung discloses BS may configure the UE with spatialrelationinfo for a beam direction to be transmitted by the UE, or when a Rel-17 unified TCI framework {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCIs} is supported, indicate a beam direction {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to beam direction} for a UL transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the communication} to the UE by a joint TCI state. Para. [0141]-Myung discloses processes for acquiring and maintaining a set of BS beams (transmission and reception point (TRP) beams) and/or a set of UE beams available for DL and UL transmission/reception. Para. [0259]-Myung discloses when a unified TCI state is supported, a beam direction may be indicated by a joint TCI, and in the case of a DL/UL separate TCI, a beam direction may be indicated by a UL TCI state. Further, when a specific DL RS is indicated by a joint TCI, this may imply that a beam corresponding to a corresponding DL RS Rx beam may also be used for a transmission. For example, when the specific DL RS is indicated by the joint TCI, a beam using the same spatial filter as the DL RS Rx beam may also be used for the transmission.
In the remarks, on page 20, Lines [19-20], Applicant argues that, “…GAO does not disclose applying a first unified TCI and a second unified TCI, of a pair of unified TCls, to first and second sets of repetition occasions associated with a PD SCH.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…apply a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCs, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PDSCH communication based at least in part on the PDSCH repetition mode,” as recited in the incumbent claim 6, in Para. [0537]-Dalin-Zhu et al. (US 20230199764 A1) discloses when a UE is configured/provided by the network the higher layer parameter repetitionNumber in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation, and N>1 (or M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states in a “Transmission Configuration Indication” field indicated by a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) or MAC CE, the UE may expect to receive multiple slot level PDSCH transmission occasions of the same TB with the indicated N>1 (M>1) Rel. 17 unified TCI states used across multiple PDSCH transmission occasions in the repetitionNumber consecutive slots.
In the remarks, on page 21, Lines [6], Applicant argues that, “…GAO does not disclose the recited space division multiplexed repetition mode.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the configuration information indicates that a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetition mode is an inter-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, an intra-slot time division multiplexed repetition mode, a frequency division multiplexed repetition mode, or a space division multiplexed repetition mode,” as recited in the incumbent claim 6, in Para. [0047]-Gao discloses the first configuration for assigning TCI states to different PDSCH repetitions may be determined at least based on a multiplexing scheme associated with resource allocations for the different PDSCH repetitions. A multiplexing scheme is also referred to as a “repetition scheme” in the following, including but not limited to, TDM, FDM, or FDM in combination with TDM.
In the remarks, on page 23, Lines [2-7], Applicant argues that, “…PARK does not disclose "apply[ing] a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCls, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode; and apply[ing] a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCls, to a second set of repetition occasions associated with the PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode,".” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…apply a first unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a first set of repetition occasions associated with a PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode; and apply a second unified TCI, of the pair of unified TCIs, to a second set of repetition occasions associated with the PUSCH or PUCCH communication based at least in part on the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition mode,” as recited in the incumbent claim 10, in Para. [0308]-Zhu discloses PUCCH transmission occasion i {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced occasion}, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced unified TCI}. Para. [0181]-Zhu discloses UE is provided by the network, e.g., via unified TCI states activation MAC CE ..., an indicator (e.g., a two-bit indicator) set to ‘0’ or ‘1’ or ‘00’ or ‘01’ or ‘10’ or ‘11’ indicating that one or both of the indicated (UL or joint) TCI states/pairs of TCI states (e.g., in the beam indication DCI 1_1/1_2 via one or more TCI codepoints of one or more TCI fields) are used/applied for the PUCCH transmission(s), and when the UE is configured a number of slots, N.sub.PUCCH.sup.repeat, for repetitions of a PUCCH transmission {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced transmission occasion}. Para. [0095]-Zhu discloses TCI state/beam indication for the PUSCH(s)/PUCCH(s) repetition in a multi-TRP system is discussed under the Rel. 17 unified TCI framework. Para. [0295]-Zhu discloses PUSCH transmission occasion i, when a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via ... unified TCI states.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Khoshnevisan et al. (US 20210112560 A1)-discloses Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. A communication device, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE) may receive a downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). The DCI may include one or more of an indication of a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states related to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), one or more receive beams associated with the set of TCI states, or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheme. The UE may decode the DCI and may determine a temporal period associated with the indication of the set of TCI states. The UE may receive, based on the temporal period, the PDSCH according to one or more of the set of TCI states, the one or more receive beams associated with the set of TCI states, the PDSCH scheme, or one or more default receive beams…. …Fig. 1-5
Myung et al. (US 20240429992 A1)-discloses [0367] In the case of a UE that supports the Rel-17 unified TCI framework, the corresponding sensing beam direction may be indicated based on the DL RS indicated by the joint TCI state. In the case of DL/UL separate TCI, the UL Tx beam direction may be indicated through the UL TCI state. [0368] That is, the BS may indicate the UL Tx beam to the UE through UL spatialrelationinfo and indicate the Rx beam direction corresponding to the Tx beam as a sensing beam direction. Alternatively, the BS may indicate a UL Tx beam to the UE that supports the unified TCI framework through a joint TCI state or UL TCI state indication and instruct the UE to use the Rx beam corresponding to the corresponding UL Tx beam direction as a sensing beam…. …Fig. 1-5
Karjalainen et al. (US 20250240067 A1)-discloses [0058] A parameter called simultaneousReceptionDiffTypeD-r16 may indicate whether the UE supports simultaneous reception with different quasi co-location (QCL) type D reference signals. In NR Release 17 (Rel-17), both DL and UL transmission schemes for reference signals, other signals, and channels may be enhanced to enable more flexible and efficient support for multiple transmission and reception point (multi-TRP) operation ... [0079] For 2T4R, up to two SRS resource sets may be configured with a different value for the higher layer parameter resourceType in the SRS-ResourceSet set, where each SRS resource set has two SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set consisting of two SRS ports, and the SRS port pair of the second resource is associated with a different UE antenna port pair than the SRS port pair of the first resource ... [0125] NR Rel-17 supports joint DL/UL TCI state or UL TCI for uplink. The TCI state includes a reference signal that provides spatial relation information, based on which the UE can form the spatial TX beam direction for UL transmission. Herein, joint DL/UL TCI state may also be referred to as joint transmission configuration indicator state for downlink and uplink.
MATSUMURA et al. (US 20240090067 A1)-discloses [0115] Improvement in reliability of the PDCCH is under study. In order to enable PDCCH transmission using two TCI states to be performed, support for one CORESET having two active TCI states is under study. Specifically, a combination of a single frequency network (SFN) scheme and a case that one PDCCH candidate in a given search space set is associated with both two TCI states for the CORESET is under study.…. …Fig. 1-5
Yuan et al. (US 20240014935 A1)-discloses a wireless communication device may receive at least one channel repetition of a plurality of channel repetitions, wherein the at least one channel repetition comprises an indication associated with a beam parameter. The wireless communication device may perform a wireless communication action based at least in part on a determination associated with the beam parameter, wherein the determination associated with the beam parameter is based at least in part on an identification of a reference repetition occasion of a plurality of repetition occasions corresponding to the plurality of channel repetitions…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472