DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specially claims 2 & 5, do not further define the structural elements after the phrase “the medical simulator). These claims are drafted to the intended use of the claims. All other claims are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibui et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2010/0003657).
Referring to claims 1, Shibui et al. discloses a medical simulator for use in a practical training of a medical action (medical training apparatus), the medical simulator comprising, a robot body formed by imitating a whole body of a human being as a patient (2), the medical simulator being configured to, when a trainee performs a simulated medical action on the robot body, selectively reproduce, by the robot body, a reaction and a motion of the patient that are expected to occur before a start of, in a middle of, and after an end of a real medical action (Figs. 1, 15a, 16a, 20 & 25).
Referring to claim 2, Shibui et al. discloses wherein the reaction and the
motion that are reproduced by the robot body include a rejecting motion of flapping hands and legs of the robot body, an abnormal reaction of making the robot body convulse, and eyeball movements and pupil abnormalities of left and right eyes of the robot body (Figs. 5-13, 15b, 17b,18b, 18c, 19, 20 & 25).
Referring to claim 3, Shibui et al. discloses wherein a liquid crystal display
element configured to display an image of an eyeball of an eye is attached to each of the left and right eyes, and the liquid crystal display element is curved in an arc shape such that a center portion in a width direction of the eye becomes convex toward a front side (Figs. 1, 2, 19 & 26).
Referring to claim 4, Shibui et al. discloses wherein the robot body is provided with driving means configured to drive at least each of a head part, hands, and legs of the robot body, and an air cylinder is used for the driving means (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 14, 15a).
Referring to claim 5, Shibui et al. discloses further comprising instruction means configured to instruct, from an outside of the robot body, the reaction and the motion that are reproduced by the robot body (Figs. 1, 2, 3, 4, 14, 15a & 27).
Referring to claim 6, Shibui et al. discloses wherein the robot body is formed by imitating a body shape of an infant of five or six years old (2).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715