DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites Formula (1) which includes (0.4×Al + 0.5×Zr + 0.1×Ti) / O ≥12.0, however, claim 1 also allows for 0 mass% oxygen to be in the ferritic stainless-steel sheet. Therefore, it is unclear how the lower limit of oxygen can be zero and still satisfy the requirements of Formula (1). Clarification is required.
Regarding dependent claims 2-8, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji et al. (JP2020-164956A, hereinafter “Yuji”).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of JP 2020-164956A.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, and 5, Yuji teaches a ferritic stainless steel sheet comprising the following composition (Yuji, [0001], [0013], and [0019-0042]):
Element
Present Invention, mass%
Yuji, mass%
Overlap
C
0-0.0200
0.001-0.010
Preferred: 0.002-0.008
Within
Si
0-0.70
0.01-1.0
Preferred: 0.05-0.30
Preferred within
Mn
0-1.00
0.01-1.0
Preferred:0.05-0.30
Within
P
0-0.030
0.010-0.040
Preferred:0.015-0.035
0.01-0.030
S
0-0.005
0-0.01
Preferred: 0.0004-0.0030
Preferred within
Cr
11.0-19.5
11.0-25.0
Preferred: 16.0-21.0
11.0-19.5
N
0-0.020
0.002-0.020
Preferred: 0.005-0.015
Within
Al
0.005-0.100
0.003-1.0
Preferred:0.01-0.07
Preferred within
O
0-0.0050
0
0
Ti
0.03-0.20
0.05-0.30
Preferred: 0.10-0.20
Preferred within
Nb
0.010-0.300
0.03-0.30
Preferred:0.05-0.15
Within
Sn
0.001-0.300
0-0.50
Preferred: 0.005-0.10
Preferred within
Zr
0.001-0.080
0-0.50
Preferred: 0.1-0.5
Encompass
Claim 2: one or more of:
Mo
0.05-0.50
0-2.0
Preferred: 0.1-2.0
Encompass
Ni
0.05-0.50
0-1.0
Preferred: 0.1-1.0
Encompass
Cu
0.01-1.00
0-1.00
Preferred: 0.1-1.0
Encompass
Claims 3 and 5: one or more of:
B
0.0003-0.0050
0-0.0025
Preferred: 0.0001-0.0012
0.0003-0.0012
Ga
0.0001-0.2
0
0
W
0.001-0.300
0-1.0
Preferred: 0.1-1.0
Encompass
Balance
Fe and impurities
Fe and impurities
Fe and impurities
The ranges of Yuji fall within, encompass, or overlap with the compositional ranges of claims 1, 2, 3, and 5 of the present invention. Yuji further teaches the thickness of the ferritic stainless steel sheet is not particularly limited but it is desirable to be 0.5mm or more (Yuji, 0051]), which overlaps with the range of the present invention. Yuji teaches the cylindrical deep drawing test was performed and when the ear height was 5 mm or less, then the samples were marked as passing (Yuji, [0066]), the 5mm or less overlaps with the range of claim 1.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fe. Cir. 1990).
Regarding the composition based equations in the instant claims, the instantly claimed equations fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D.357, 553 O.G.177; 57 USPQ 117, Taklatwalla v.Marburg. 620 O.G.685, 1949 C.D.77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G.513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D.75. In the instant case, as the ferritic stainless steel of Yuji is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges of each element of Formulas (1) and (2) including those which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition based formulas because Yuji discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 7, and 8, Yuji teaches the average plastic strain ratio, i.e., Lankford value, is preferably 1.7 or higher (Yuji, [0045]). Yuji further teaches a smaller in-plane anisotropy Δr of -0.4 to 0.1, i.e., a range of 0.5 (Yuji, [0045]). The average plastic strain ratio and Δr of Yuji overlap with the ranges of claims 4, 6, 7, and 8. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fe. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738