DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means to inject” in claims 32, 33 and 40, since sufficient structure is recited regarding the outward opening and inward opening needle valves.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “means to inject” in claim 24, line 21, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. The specification only recites on page 10, lines 1 and 2, “wherein, said fuel injector has means to inject different fuels at different thermal physical states independently and collectively” and suggests nothing else to provide structure to support the function. It is suggested that the language “wherein, said fuel injector has means to inject different fuels at different thermal physical states independently and collectively “ is deleted from claim 24 or point out where in the specification the structure to perform the function of “wherein, said fuel injector has means to inject different fuels at different thermal physical states independently and collectively” is disclosed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0047964 A1(Kim).
As to claim 34, Kim ‘964 discloses a fuel injection method FIGS. 5 and 6 show two different versions of a bottom portion of fuel injector 12. FIG 5 showing a version in which the fuel injector has a concentric gas nozzle outlet set 90a and liquid fuel nozzle outlet set 96a; Figs. 1, 5; par, {0025]), which directly injects both liquid and gas fuel on-demand (A duel fuel system includes a plurality of fuel injectors that have a non-injection configuration, a liquid fuel injection configuration, a gaseous fuel Injection configuration and a combined fuel injection configuration; Figs. 1, 5; Abstract), wherein the injections of two types of fuels can be independently or simultaneously through the same nozzle tip (bottom 71a; the fuel injector has a concentric gas nozzle outlet set 90a and liquid fuel nozzle outlet set 96a; the respective gas n valve member 73 and liquid needle valve member 75 seat at different locations on the same tip component 71 of the injector body 70. Thus both nozzle outlet sets 90 and 96 are defined by a single tip component 71; the fuel injector 12 can be controlled to inject gaseous fuel only, liquid fuel only, both gaseous and liquid fuel simultaneously; Figs. 1, 5; paragraphs [0025], [00351), and liquid fuel i, (via 72/92a; Figs. 4, 5) for controlling gas fuel injection actuations (A liquid control chamber 95 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via a pressure passage 72 and a 2-orifice 151, and a gaseous control chamber 92 is also fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via pressure passage 72 and a 2-orifice 154. High pressure passage 72 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57, and hence liquid fuel common rail 14, via internal passages within fuel injector 12; Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5; paragraph [0026]), enhancing cooling and sealing, and lubricating gas injection needle valves (73a; As best shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, fuel injector 12 includes a hydraulic lock seal 170 inhibit migration of gaseous fuel from gaseous nozzle chamber 91 into liquid nozzle chamber 93 along guide segment 74 of gaseous needle member 73. Hydraulic lock seal 170 includes an annular volume 171 that surrounds guide segment 174 of gaseous needle valve member 7 and a seal passage 172 that fluidly connects the annular volume 171 to liquid nozzle chamber 93, which is always fluidly connected to liquid fuel common rail 14 via liquid supply passage 98. The normally small pressure differential between the liquid fuel and the gaseous fuel inhibits gaseous fuel from migrating along guide segment 74, and also allows a small amount of liquid fuel into the guide clearance along guide segment 74 to maintain lubricity of gaseous needle valve member 73; Fig. 5; paragraph [0031]).
As to claim 35, Kim discloses a fuel injection method, where the liquid fuel is diesel, the gas fuel is natural gas, see Fig. 1; paragraph [0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0047964 A1(Kim).
As per claim 36, Kim discloses one type of fuel is diesel, another type of fuel is natural gas see Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]. Kim fails to disclose another type of fuel is hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide another type of fuel is hydrogen, since it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. The motivation for doing so would be reducing carbon emissions. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07.
As per claim 37, Kim discloses one type of fuel is diesel, another type of fuel is natural gas see Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]. Kim fails to disclose one type of fuel is dimethyl ether, another type of fuel is hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one type of fuel is dimethyl ether, another type of fuel is hydrogen, since it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. The motivation for doing so would be reducing NOx and carbon emissions. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 23, 26, 27 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0175693 A1(Hou et al) in view of US 2013/0047964 A1(Kim).
As to claim 23, Hou discloses a fuel injector (A variable orifice fuel injector has an inward opening needle valve and an outward opening needle valve and has means to directly inject two types of fuels independently and collectively; Figs. 1-3; Abstract), comprising: a nozzle body (3; Fig. 3) comprising passages for fuels (a nozzle body (3) comprising passages for fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037], an inner cylindrical bore (307; Fig. 3) for receiving two longitudinally displaceable coaxial needle valves (1, 2; an inner cylindrical bore (307) for receiving two longitudinally displaceable coaxial needle valves (1, 2), one is outward opening needle valve (1) and another is inward opening needle valve (2); Fig. 3; paragraph [0037], at least one group of fuel injection outlets (301, 309; Fig. 3) in said nozzle body (at least one group of fuel injection outlets (301, 309) in the nozzle body; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), at least one spring (5, 5'; Fig. 3) which urges said needle valves into biased seating positions to block fuels (at least one spring (5, 5) which urges the needle valves (1,2) into biased seating positions to block fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), and a valve block (8; Fig. 3) to hold control valves (9, 10; Fig. 3) and having fuel inlets (top 801/803/805; 8-valve block which holds valves and fuel passages, 801-fuel passage to valve 9, 802 pressure passage to venting valve 10, 803-high pressure passage; 804-bottom of valve block 8, 805, 806-fuel passages; paragraph [0023] which can be connected to two pressured fuel reservoirs (12, 13, 15'; and a valve block (8) to hold control valves and having fuel inlets which can be connected to two pressured fuel reservoirs (12, 13); at least two control valves (9, 10) to block or connect at least one type of fuel from high pressure fuel reservoirs (13, 12, 15 ) to low pressure fuel sink (15) to produce the lifting and closing forces o inward opening and outward opening needle valves (1, 2) through generating pressure differences in pressure control chambers (382, 125) Fig. 3; paragraphs [0037], [0041]), pressure control chambers (125, 382; Fig. 3) which can press and release needle valves (1, 2; Fig. 3) through connecting to pressurized and depressurized fuels (pressure control chambers (382, 125) which can press and release needle valves through connecting to pressurized and de-pressurized fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037], and the pressure control chambers for the tw1 needle valves are connected to the same fuel reservoir (12, 15'; Fig. 3) which contains fuel (Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), except to disclose the pressure control chambers for the two needle valves are connected to the same fuel reservoir which contains fuel with higher lubricity among the pressured fuel reservoirs, wherein liquid fuel with higher lubricity is used for controlling actuations and lubricating the needle valve for low lubricity fuel.
Kim discloses pressure control chambers (92a, 95a; A liquid control chamber 95 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via a pressure passage 72 and a Z-orifice 151, and a gaseous control chamber 92 is also fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via pressure passage 72 and a Z-orifice 154. High pressure passage 72 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57, and hence liquid fuel common rail 14, via internal passages within fuel injector 12; Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5; paragraph [0026]) for two needle valves (73a, 75a); the respective gas needle valve member 73 and liquid needle valve member 75 seat at different locations on the same tip component the injector body 70. Thus, both nozzle outlet sets 90 and 96 are defined by a single tip component 71; Fig. 5; paragraph [0025] are connected to the same fuel reservoir (14; a gas pressure control device 20 that is operably coupled to control the pressure in gaseous fuel common rail 16, and also in control communication with a liquid pressure control device 22 operably coupled to control the pressure in liquid fuel common rail 14; Fig. 1; paragraph [0015]) which contains fuel (diesel) with higher lubricity (than natural gas among the pressured fuel reservoirs (14, 16); the present disclosure finds particular applicability in gaseous fuel engines that utilize a relatively large charge of natural gas that is ignited via compression ignition of a small charge of distillate diesel fuel originating from common rail 14; Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]), wherein liquid fuel (diesel) with higher lubricity is used for controlling actuations (via 95a; A liquid control chamber 95 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via a pressure passage 72 and a Z-orifice 151, and a gaseous control chamber 92 is a connected to liquid fuel inlet 57 via pressure passage 72 and a Z-orifice 154. High pressure passage 72 is fluidly connected to liquid fuel inl1 hence liquid fuel common rail 14, via internal passages within fuel injector 12; Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5; paragraph [0026]) and lubricating the needle valve for low lubricity fuel (gas needle valve 73a); As best shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, fuel injector 12 includes a hydraulic lock seal 170 to inhibit migration of gaseous fuel from gaseous nozzle chamber 91 into liquid nozzle chamber 93 along guide segment 74 of gaseous needle valve member 73. Hydraulic lock seal 170 includes an annular volume 171 that surrounds guide segment 174 of gaseous needle valve member 7 and a seal passage 172 that fluidly connects the annular volume 171 to liquid nozzle chamber 93, which is always fluidly connected to liquid fuel common rail 14 via liquid supply passage 98. The normally small pressure differential between the liquid fuel and the gaseous fuel inhibits gaseous fuel from migrating along guide segment 74;and also allows a small amount of liquid fuel into the guide clearance along guide segment 74 to maintain lubricity of gaseous needle valve member 73; Fig. 5; paragraph [0031]. I It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hou to provide the pressure control chambers for the two needle valves are connected to the same fuel reservoir which contains fuel with higher lubricity among the pressured fuel reservoirs, wherein liquid fuel with higher lubricity is used for controlling actuations and lubricating the needle valve for low lubricity fuel, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce the wear of the gas needle valve.
As to claim 26, Hou discloses a fuel injector comprising all the featured elements of the instant invention, except wherein the fuel injector is u sed for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a major fuel, wherein the control chamber for a large needle valve, which is for blocking gas flow, is connected to a pressured liquid fuel source, and the nozzle body has two rows of orifices with one row of orifices is substantially larger than another lower row of orifices next to a nozzle tip, wherein when the large needle is seated, said larger orifices are substantially covered by said large needle valve.
Kim discloses a fuel injector, which is used for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a major fuel (A duel fuel system includes a plurality of fuel injectors that have a non-injection configuration, a liquid fuel injection configuration, a gaseous fuel injection configuration and a combined fuel injection configuration; Figs. 1, 5; Abstract), wherein a control chamber (chamber holding springs adjacent 94a; liquid needle valve member 75 can move upward due to a hydraulic force on opening hydraulic surface 94 positioned in liquid nozzle chamber 93 against the action of its biasing spring to open the fluid connection between liquid nozzle chamber 93 and liquid nozzle outlet set 96 to facilitate a liquid fuel injection event; Fig. 5; paragraph (0027]) for a large needle valve (73a; F which is for blocking gas flow (liquid needle valve member 75a and gaseous needle valve member 73a move along common centerline 19 moving to open and close liquid nozzle outlet set 96a in gaseous nozzle outlet set 90a; Fig. 5; paragraph [0029]), is connected to a pressure liquid fuel source (14; Fig. 1 ), and a nozzle body (71a; Fig. 5) has two rows of orifices (90a, 96a; Fig. 5) with one row of orifices (90a; Fig. 5) is substantially larger than another lower row of orifices (96a; Fig. 5) next to a nozzle tip (bottom 71a; Fig. 5), wherein when the large needle is seated, said larger orifices are substantially covered by said large needle valve (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hou to provide a fuel injector, which is used for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a major fuel, wherein the control chamber for a large needle valve, which is for blocking gas flow, is connected to a pressured liquid fuel source, and the nozzle body has two rows of orifices with one row of orifices is substantially larger than another lower row of orifices next to a nozzle tip, wherein when the large needle is seated, said larger orifices are substantially covered by said large needle valve, as taught by Kim, in order to burn the fuel more cleanly (see Kim, paragraph [0002]).
As to claim 27, Hou discloses a fuel injector comprising all the featured elements of the instant invention, except a fuel injector, which is used for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a minor fuel, wherein the control chamber for a large needle valve, which is for blocking liquid, is connected to a pressured liquid fuel reservoir.
Kim discloses a fuel injector, which is used for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a minor fuel (A duel fuel system includes a plurality of fuel injectors that have a non-Injection configuration, a liquid fuel injection configuration, a gaseous fuel injection configuration and a combined fuel injection configuration; Figs. 1, 5; Abstract), wherein a control chamber (chamber holding springs adjacent 94a; liquid needle valve member 75 can move upward due to a hydraulic force on opening hydraulic surface 94 positioned in liquid nozzle chamber 93 against the action of its biasing spring to open the fluid connection between liquid nozzle chamber 93 and liquid nozzle outlet set 96 to facilitate a liquid fuel injection event; Fig. 5; paragraph [0027]) for a large needle valve (73a; Fig. 5), which is for blocking liquid (liquid needle valve member 75a and gaseous needle valve member 73a move along common centerline 19 when moving to open and close liquid nozzle outlet set 96a in gaseous nozzle outlet set 90a; Fig. 5; paragraph [0029] connected to a pressured liquid fuel reservoir (14; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hou to provide a fuel injector, which is used for gas-liquid dual fuel injections and gas is a minor fuel, wherein the control chamber for a large needle valve, which is for blocking liquid, is connected to a pressured liquid fuel reservoir, as taught by Kim, in order to burn the fuel more cleanly (see Kim, paragraph [0002]).
As to claim 39, Hou, as modified by Kim, discloses a fuel injector of claim 23 and further discloses a nozzle body (3; Fig. 3) comprising passages for fuels (a nozzle body (3) comprising passages for fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), an inner cylindrical bore (307; Fig. 3) for receiving two longitudinally displaceable coaxial inward opening needle valves (1, 2; an inner cylindrical bore (307) for receiving two longitudinally displaceable coaxial needle valves (1, 2), one is outward opening needle valve (1) and another is inward opening needle valve (2); Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]) with an inner inward opening needle valve (1; Fig. 3) being held within an outer inward opening needle valve (2; Fig. 3), at least one group of fuel injection outlets (301, 309; Fig. 3) In the nozzle body (at least one group of fuel injection outlets (301, 309) in the nozzle body; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), at least one spring (5, 5'; Fig. 3) which urges the needle valves into biased seating positions to block fuels (at least one spring (5, 5) which urges the needle valves (1,2) into biased seating positions to block fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), and a valve block (8; Fig. 3) to hold control valves (9, 10; Fig: 3) and having fuel inlets (top 801/803/805; 8-valve block which holds valves and fuel passages, 801-fuel passage to valve 9, 802-pressure passage to venting valve 10, 803-high pressure passage; 804--bottom of valve block 8, 805, 806-fuel passages; Fig. 3; paragraph [0023]) which can be connected to two pressured fuel reservoirs (12, 13, 15'; and a valve block (8) to hold control valves and having fuel inlets which can be connected to two pressured fuel reservoirs (12, 13 ); at least two control valves (9, 10) to block or connect at least one type of fuel from high pressure fuel reservoirs (13, 12, 15 ) to low pressure fuel sink (15) to produce the lifting and closing forces on the inward opening and outward opening needle valves (1, 2) through generating pressure differences in pressure control chambers (382, 125); Fig. 3; paragraphs [0037], [0041]), pressure control chambers (125, 382; Fig. 3) which can press and release needle valves (1, 2; Fig. 3) through applying pressurized and de-pressurized fuels (pressure control chambers (382, 125) which can press and release needle valves through connecting to pressurized and de-pressurized fuels; Fig. 3; paragraph [0037]), and (ii) the inner inward opening. needle valve, which has an opening position by moving toward a nozzle body large end (top 3; Fig. 3) to inject fuel from at least one pressurized reservoir (12, 15'; Fig. 3) through one inner fuel injection outlet (301; Fig. 3) and a group of outer fuel injection outlets (309; the inward opening needle valve (2) has a cylindrical space to hold spring (5), the outward opening needle valve (1) and a clip (6), wherein the inward opening needle valve (2) is further comprising fuel passages (122), and a seal cap (7) to define the needle lift, and thrusting surfaces (203, 204) and pressure control chamber (382) to generating lifting force to lift the needle to inject fuel in multiple jets through fuel outlets (301, 309); Fig. 3; paragraph [004, and a biased (5'; Fig. 3) seating position to block fuel flow (Fig. 3), and (iii) the outer inward opening needle valve, which is fully contained in the nozzle body (Fig. 3), has an opening position by moving towards a nozzle body large end (top 3; Fig. 3) to connect at least one pressurized fuel reservoir (13; Fig. 3) and fuel injection outlets (309; Fig. 3) to inject fuel (Fig. 3; paragraph [0044]), has a biased (5'; Fig. 3) seating position with its sealing surface being in contact with a sealing surface (201; Fig. 3) of the nozzle body to block fuel flow, the sealing surface at a seating position is up stream of injection outlets (301, 309; Fig. 3), wherein lifting of the outer inward opening needle valve is independent of a position of the inner inward opening needle valve (A fuel injector according to any of above configurations, wherein it has means to inject one type of fuel through fuel injection outlets (301) by lifting the outward opening needle valve (1) and inject another type of fuel through multiple jet fuel outlets (309) by lifting the inward opening needle valve (2) independently, wherein the injections of two types of fuels can be independently or simultaneously; Fig. 3; paragraph [0046]); (iv) the outer inward opening needle valve has an inner se (bottom 2; Fig. 3) for the inner inward opening needle valve, the inner inward opening needle valve is fully contained in the outer inward opening needle valve (Fig. 3), wherein lifting of the inner inward opening needle valve is independent of a position of the outer inward opening needle valve (Fig. 3; paragraph [0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25, 28-33, 38 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sczomak ‘424, Touchette ‘598, Wickstone ‘529 and Graham ‘385 disclose various types of liquid-gas dual fuel injectors.
STEVEN J. GANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN J GANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752