DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 18, 2024, November 18, 2025, March 30, 2026, have been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (JP H06235159).
Morita discloses artificial turf (abstract) comprising a base cloth (paragraph 4) having a polypropylene flat warp yarn and a reflex type polypropylene filament weft yarn (claim 3 of Morita). Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract), as in claim 1. In claim 1, the phrase, “formed by blowing air to the base cloth” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having artificial turf yarns on the surface of a base cloth. The reference suggests such a product because Morita discloses artificial turf (abstract) comprising a base cloth (paragraph 4) having a polypropylene flat warp yarn and a reflex type polypropylene filament yarn (claim 3 of Morita). Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract).
Concerning claim 2, Morita discloses a water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract). In claim 2, the phrase, “formed by tufting the artificial turf yarns, one end of each said artificial turf yarn passes through a respective one of said pinholes to form a protrusion, wherein the protrusion is in contact with the bonding layer” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966. Further, process limitations are given little patentable weight in product claims.
Concerning claim 3, Morita discloses artificial turf (abstract) comprising a base cloth (paragraph 4) having a polypropylene flat warp yarn and a reflex type polypropylene filament yarn (claim 3 of Morita).
Concerning claim 5, Figure 2 of Morita shows a cross section of the warp yarn is a flat structure, wherein the warp yarns are arranged in parallel and spacing between the warp yarns is equal, as shown below:
.
Concerning claim 7, Figure 2 of Morita shows the first yarns and the second yarns are interlaced in parallel and spacing between the first yarns and the second yarns is equal, as shown below:
.
Concerning claim 11, Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the portions of the adhesive backing to partially penetrate into the permeable holes of the material to provide a durable artificial lawn material.
Concerning claim 12, Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract), as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 13, Morita discloses artificial turf (abstract) comprising a base cloth (paragraph 4) having a polypropylene flat warp yarn and a reflex type polypropylene filament yarn (claim 3 of Morita). Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract)
Concerning claim 14, Figure 1 shows one end of the artificial turf yarns passes through respective ones of said pinholes to form respective protrusions that are in contact with the bonding layer, as shown below:
.
Concerning claim 15, Morita discloses an artificial lawn is a tufted pile fabric prepared by tufting pile yarns having flat cross-section yarns such as tape yarns and split yarns on a primary backing fabric with an adhesive backing applied to the back of the fabric which uses a coarse net-like woven fabric having a large mesh gap where the coating film easily breaks as a primary base fabric, in order to make a broken water-permeable hole in the coating film of the adhesive applied to the backing (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the portions of the adhesive backing to partially penetrate into the permeable holes of the material to provide a durable artificial lawn material.
Concerning claims 16-20, Morita discloses artificial turf (abstract) comprising a base cloth (paragraph 4) having a polypropylene flat warp yarn and a reflex type polypropylene filament weft yarn (claim 3 of Morita). Figure 1 shows warp yarns and weft yarns cross woven with each other, as shown below:
.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781