DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saito (JP2008170049A).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a heat exchanger (see Fig. 2, 4, 7) comprising: a core (heat exchange part 60) having a plurality of concentric channels (concentric passages 63,67,71,75 & 65,69,73,83) extending along a central axis, the plurality of channels extending parallel to the central axis (see vertical axis of Fig. 4) and being concentric about the central axis, the plurality of channels including: a first set of concentric channels (65,69,73,83) through which a first fluid can pass; and a second set of concentric channels (63,67,71,75) through which a second fluid can pass, to exchange heat with the first fluid passing through the first set of concentric channels, the concentric channels being alternatingly arranged, from the central axis, between a channel of the first set of concentric channels and a channel of the second set of concentric channels and a first inlet port (93) for transporting the first fluid into the core and a first outlet port (83) for transporting the first fluid from the core, wherein the first inlet port or the first outlet port defines a manifold (distribution units 61/62) comprising a first fluid main channel that spreads into a plurality of branches (see branching of fluid into/out of 99b/89b), and wherein each branch opens up into a respective one of the concentric channels of the first set of concentric channels.
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses each channel of the plurality of concentric channels is an elongate channel having a substantially annular cross-section (concentric passages 63,67,71,75 & 65,69,73,83).
Regarding claim 5, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses wherein a spread of each branch from the first fluid main channel increases around the central axis to form a substantially concentric channel as the first fluid main channel approaches the first set of concentric channels of the core (see increase in channel from inner pipe 95 to respective concentric passage).
Regarding claim 7, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses a second inlet port (82) for transporting the second fluid into the core and a second outlet port (92) for transporting the second fluid from the core, wherein the second inlet port or the second outlet port defines a manifold (distribution units 61/62) comprising a second fluid main channel that opens up into the second set of concentric channels (63,67,71,75) of the core.
Regarding claim 8, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 7, and Saito further discloses the second fluid main channel spreads into a plurality of branches (see branching of fluid into/out of 99a/89a), and wherein each branch opens up into a respective one of the concentric channels of the second set of concentric channels.
Regarding claim 9, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 8, and Saito further discloses a spread of each branch from the second fluid main channel increases around the central axis to form a substantially concentric channel as the second main channel approaches the second set of concentric channels of the core (see increase in channel from inner pipe 85 to respective concentric passage).
Regarding claim 11, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses fluid flow through the first inlet port or the first outlet port is along an axis that is substantially parallel to the central axis (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses fluid flow through the first inlet port or the first outlet port is along an axis that is substantially orthogonal to the central axis (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 7, and Saito further discloses fluid flow through the second inlet port or the second outlet port is along an axis that is substantially parallel to the central axis (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 7, and Saito further discloses fluid flow through the second inlet port or the second outlet port is along an axis that is substantially orthogonal to the central axis (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses one or more apertures (99B) in a wall defining an outermost branch, wherein the or each aperture is configured to provide a fluid pathway through said wall.
Regarding claim 16, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Saito further discloses fins (plates 98/88) spanning adjacent walls defining a branch.
Regarding claim 19, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 8, and Saito further discloses one or more apertures (89A) in a wall defining an outermost branch, wherein each aperture is configured to provide a fluid pathway through said wall.
Regarding claim 20, Saito discloses the limitations of claim 8, and Saito further discloses fins (plates 88) spanning adjacent walls defining a branch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (JP2008170049A) in view of Van Affelen (US20230015392A1).
Regarding 6/10/18, Saito teaches the limitations of claim 1/8/9 and further teaches wherein walls defining each of said branches (as defined above) are connected with walls defining the respective concentric channel of the first set of concentric channels to which the branch opens up.
Saito does not teach said branches are continuous and seamless with walls.
Van Affelen teaches said branches are continuous and seamless with walls (see Fig. 8 & ¶[0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito to include wherein the branches and walls are continuous and seamless as taught by Van Affelen, in order to manufacture the heat exchanger in a single process, without need for assembling separate parts (¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 17, Saito teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Saito does not teach the heat exchanger formed as a seamless unitary body via additive manufacturing.
Van Affelen teaches the heat exchanger formed as a seamless unitary body via additive manufacturing (¶[0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito to include the additive manufacturing as taught by Van Affelen, in order to manufacture the heat exchanger in a single process, without need for assembling separate parts (¶[0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763