DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. EP 4,135,498 A1.
In regards to claim 1,
Chen discloses a cooler unit for liquid cooling of a power module [0003], comprising:
at least one insert (protrusion,(204)) that comprises an upper part (a front side of the metal baseplate (203)) and a lower part (back side of the metal baseplate (203) and that is configured to be coupled to the power module (power module body (201) and heat dissipation finned tubes (205)) with the upper part [0042-0043]; and
a housing (a cooler (206) that provides a flow channel for a coolant and that comprises at least one recess (groove (207)) which penetrates a wall of the housing up to the flow channel and which is configured in coordination with the at least one insert geometrically [0043], wherein the at least one insert comprises copper (material for corresponding to the module may be made of Cu) [0053] and is arranged inside the at least one recess and is laser welded to the housing such that during operation the coolant flows through the flow channel and around the lower part of the at least one insert (high energy laser heating) [0046],
wherein the at least one insert and the housing each comprises a welding area, wherein the welding area of the at least one insert is formed at an edge of the at least one insert and the welding area of the housing is formed at an edge of the housing limiting the at least one recess such that a welding joint is formed by means of laser welding in the welding area that comprises at least a sidewall of the at least one insert [0047-0050], and
wherein the upper part of the at least one insert comprises a topside with a surface structure including at least one of a rough surface, recessed portions or elevated parts facing away from the flow channel that is configured to provide predetermined coupling properties for coupling the cooler unit to the power module [0048].
In regards to claim 2, Chen discloses, wherein the housing comprises aluminum [0053].
In regards to claim 3, Chen discloses, wherein the at least one insert comprises at least one coating that partially or completely covers at least one of the upper part and the lower part of the at least one insert (nickel plating is an acceptable material) [0053].
In regards to claims 4, Chen discloses, wherein the at least one coating comprises nickel and covers the lower part of the at least one insert [0053].
In regards to claims 6, Chen discloses, wherein the lower part of the at least one insert comprises an underside with a surface structure facing the flow channel that is configured to provide a flow of the coolant and a heat exchange surface between the at least one insert and the coolant [0043].
In regards to claim 7, Chen discloses, wherein the surface structure comprises at least one of a pin-fin area, ribs, a skived structure or meander channels (205)[0042-0043].
In regards to claim 8, Chen discloses, wherein the upper part of the insert comprises a topside with a given surface structure facing away from the flow channel that is configured to provide predetermined coupling properties for coupling the cooler unit (207) to the power unit (201) [0042-0048].
In regards to claim 9, Chen discloses, wherein the housing comprises an inlet and an outlet defining a flow direction of the coolant during operation, and wherein the housing comprises two or more recesses configured to accommodate a respective insert, wherein the at least one insert comprising copper is arranged in one of the recesses that is closer to the outlet than the inlet of the housing (Fig 2A) [0041].
In regards to claim 10, Chen discloses, wherein the cooler unit comprises three inserts each comprising copper and the housing comprises three recesses each penetrating the wall of the housing up to the flow channel and each are configured in coordination with the insert geometrically, wherein the each insert are arranged inside the a respective associated recess and each is laser welded to the housing (Fig. 2A) [0041-0053].
In regards to claim 11:
Chen discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a cooler unit (207) according claim 1, and
a power module (201) with electronics, that is coupled to the upper part of the at least one insert of the cooler unit [0042-0048].
In regards to claim 12, Chen discloses, wherein the at least one insert and the power module are coupled with each other by means of at least one of gluing, sintering, soldering and or bonding [0043].
In regards to claim 13:
Chen discloses A method for manufacturing a cooler unit for liquid cooling of a power module, comprising:
providing at least one insert that comprises an upper part and a lower part and that is configured to be coupled to the power module (201) with the upper part, and wherein the at least one insert comprises copper [0042-0053];
providing a housing that provides a an internal flow channel for a coolant (207) and that comprises at least one recess (grooves) which penetrates a wall of the housing (203) up to the flow channel and which is configured in coordination with the at least one insert geometrically, wherein the at least one insert and the housing each comprises a respective welding area, wherein the welding area of the at least one insert is formed at an edge of the at least one insert and the welding area of the housing is formed at an edge of the housing limiting the at least one recess, and wherein the upper part of the at least one insert comprises a topside with a given surface structure including at least one of a rough surface, recessed portions and or elevated parts facing away from the flow channel that is configured to provide predetermined coupling properties for coupling the cooler unit to the power module [0042-0048];
placing the at least one insert inside the at least one recess such that the at least one insert contacts the housing [0042-0048]; and
laser welding the at least one insert and the housing together such that a welding joint is formed in the welding area areas that comprises at least at a sidewall of the at least one insert in part at least and such that during operation the coolant flows through the flow channel and around the lower part of the at least one insert [0042-0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (EP 4,135,498) in view of Martin et al. US Pub No. 2009/0122491.
Chen discloses wherein the at least one coating covers the upper part of the at least one insert of claim 5.
However, Chen does not disclose the at least one coating comprises silver.
Martin teaches a universal patterned metal thermal interface a metal layer comprised of two layer (114a) a smooth bottom workpiece and a patterned upper portion (114b) that is form of silver [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coating of silver as used by Martin with the limitations as taught by Chen, in order to provide good thermal coupling between a power module and a liquid cooler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Truessel et al. (WO 2024/156339 A1) Semiconductor Power Unit and Method for Manufacturing a Semiconductor Power Unit.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852