DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-16 are currently pending and under examination on the merits in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification, see page 36, is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 14, 2024 has been considered by the examiner. Note that foreign document citation number 1 is not considered because the information provided in the IDS is incorrect and furthermore, the legible copy corresponding to the WO document number is completely irrelevant to the field of the invention. Furthermore, the WO document’s disclosure is in non-English language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3-16 as broadly written read on any B. licheniformis cell transformed with a cassette comprising the upstream prsA promoter comprising from at least 50% to at least 85% identity to SEQ ID NO:29 operably linked to the prsA gene comprising from at least 50% to at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO:30 and as evidenced by the definition of the prsA gene and the prsA promoter as disclosed in paragraphs 0141-0142 and as claimed in claims 3-4, 8-9, and 14-15.
The instant specification at best describes a recombinant B. licheniformis strain, “ZM1319”, comprising deletions of serA1, lysA, rghR2, and dltA transformed with a construct comprising the upstream homology arm for the amyL locus sequence (SEQ ID NO:23) operably linked to SEQ ID NO:29 operably linked to SEQ ID NO:30 operably linked to the terminator sequence of SEQ ID NO:31 operably linked to the downstream homology arm for the amyL locus sequence of SEQ ID NO:32. See paragraphs 0194-0198. This specific single bacteria species comprising specific genomic deletions is not a representative number of species within the genus of genomically different “recombinant Bacillus licheniformis cell”, and similarly, the single specific construct comprising SEQ ID NOs:23 and 29-32 from the 5’ end to the 3’ end orientation is not a representative number of species of the claimed “cassette” as interpreted above.
Now, it is noted that claims 6-7 and 12-13 require that the recombinant cell should produce an increased amount of the POI relative to a control Bacillus cell. It is noted that the instant specification at best describes two specific strains, ZM1351 and WAAA197, which appear to have two cassettes of amylase 1 or 2 (SEQ ID NO:36 or SEQ ID NO:42) are integrated into the serA and lysA loci into the “ZM1319” transformed with the construct comprising SEQ ID NOs:23 and 29-32, wherein the two strains produce amylase 1 or 2. The two specific B. licheniformis strains further modified to express SEQ ID NO:36 or SEQ ID NO:42 in the serA and lysA loci, thereby producing amylase 1 or amylase 2, respectively, are not a representative number of recombinant cell species within the claimed genus, nor are the two specific enzymes, amylase 1 and amylase 2, representative of the entire genus of “protein of interest (POI)” or the subgenus of “enzyme” as broadly claimed in the instant case.
Most importantly, the two recombinant cell strains, ZM1351 and WAAA197, which are not whatsoever representative of the entire genus of the instantly claimed B. licheniformis cell, do not show the required “increased amount of the POI” compared to the control as required by the claims as evidenced by the data provided in Tables 6 and 7 reproduced below.
As clearly shown above, the two bacteria cell strains overexpressing prsA at the amyL locus provided a meager fraction (0.04 and 0.07) higher than the claimed control cell. There is no disclosure as to how many replicate experiments are performed, nor is there any disclosure that the 1.04 or 1.07 value compared to 1.00 is an art-accepted statistically significant or scientifically meaningful “increase” when there is no disclosure of margin of error in measurements.
Furthermore, even if the numerical values in Tables 6-7 should be deemed a scientifically acceptable “increase” compared to the control, the “ZM1351” strain compared to “LDN665” and “WAAA197” strain compared to “WAAA57” are not representative of the entire genus of claims 6-7 and 12-13.
In view of the foregoing, it is concluded that the instant specification fails to adequately describe the claimed subject matter/genus in the manner to reasonably convey that the instant co-inventors had possession of the claimed subject matter/genus as of the filing date sought in the instant case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2020/0318086 A1) in view of Ganuza et al. (US 2022/0112478 A1) and Helianti et al. (HAYATI Journal of Biosciences, 2016, 23:125-131).
Andersen discloses a genetically modified B. licheniformis cell having “amyL gene integrated at the amyL, xyl and gnt loci and one additional prsA gene inserted at the mprL locus”, wherein the “additional prsA gene” is found to “lead to over-expression of the PrsA chaperone from B. licheniformis”, wherein “Over-expression of the PrsA chaperone is described in literature to further increase alpha-amylase productivity.” See paragraphs 0281 and 0305.
Andersen teaches that the host cells are cultivated by fermentation. See paragraph 0244.
Andersen does not teach the prsA gene integrated at the amyL locus via a construct comprising a prsA promoter operably linked to the prsA gene.
Ganuza discloses the “DNA sequence of B. licheniformis PrsA” identified as SEQ ID NO:7, which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:30 claimed in the instant case. See paragraph 0051.
Ganuza teaches that B. subtilis, which is modified to co-express B. licheniformis PrsA from the pel locus and B. licheniformis amyL inserted into the amyE locus, results in an increased level of (about 1.40) alpha-amylase secretion compared to control, wherein “there is a continuous need for improving production yield and thereby process profitability in the production of enzymes” by a host cell using “fermentation”. See paragraphs 0003, 0157, 0162-0163, and 0208-0209; Table 2.
Helianti teaches that a recombinant Bacillus cell comprising a construct comprising “the endoxylanase gene and its promoter” produces endoxylanase with “higher endoxylanse activity” compared to a non-recombinant cell. See pages 128-129.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try integrating the prsA gene at the amyL locus in place of the mprL locus of Andersen’s genetically modified B. licheniformis cell with a reasonable expectation of success because the amyL locus was one of art-recognized B. licheniformis loci into which a gene can be integrated, and because Andersen’s genetically modified B. licheniformis cell already comprises two other additional loci (xyl and gnt loci) that are integrated with the amyL gene, which would be expected to produce alpha-amylase at a higher level when the prsA gene is over-expressed in the cell in view of the teachings of Andersen and Ganuza, wherein genetically modifying a Bacillus host cell for the purpose of improving enzyme production yield was an art-recognized need and goal as evidenced by Andersen and Ganuza. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a construct comprising a prsA gene promoter operably linked to the art-recognized prsA gene sequence such as Ganuza’s SEQ ID NO:7 when integrating the prsA gene at the amyL locus because use of an endogenous gene promoter operably linked to the gene of interest for expressing the gene of interest at a higher level in a recombinant Bacillus cell was an art-recognized technology/methodology available and known in the relevant art as evidenced by Helianti.
It is noted that the “wherein” clause limitation relating to “the control cell” recited claims 6-7 and 12-13 does not structurally alter the instantly claimed modified cell thus the aforemenitoned limitation recited in the instant claims would inherently provide an increased level of production of an enzyme compared to the control cell, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
In view of the foregoing, claims 1, 4-8, 10-14, and 16 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2020/0318086 A1) in view of Doig et al. (WO 2021/146411 A1, applicant’s citation).
Andersen discloses a genetically modified B. licheniformis cell having “amyL gene integrated at the amyL, xyl and gnt loci and one additional prsA gene inserted at the mprL locus”, wherein the “additional prsA gene” is found to “lead to over-expression of the PrsA chaperone from B. licheniformis”, wherein “Over-expression of the PrsA chaperone is described in literature to further increase alpha-amylase productivity.” See paragraphs 0281 and 0305.
Andersen teaches that the host cells are cultivated by fermentation. See paragraph 0244.
Andersen does not teach the prsA gene integrated at the amyL locus via a construct comprising a prsA promoter operably linked to the prsA gene.
Doig teaches making a genetically modified B. licheniformis cell comprising overexpressing PrsA by integrating a construct comprising a PrsA promoter comprising SEQ ID NO:100 operably linked to a PrsA ORF comprising SEQ ID NO:101 into the genome of the cell, wherein the modified cell produces an increased amount of amylase. See paragraph 0006.
It is noted that SEQ ID NO:100 and SEQ ID NO:101 of Doig are 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:29 and SEQ ID NO:30 claimed in the instant case, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try integrating the prsA gene at the amyL locus in place of the mprL locus of Andersen’s genetically modified B. licheniformis cell with a reasonable expectation of success because the amyL locus was one of art-recognized B. licheniformis loci into which a gene can be integrated, and because Andersen’s genetically modified B. licheniformis cell already comprises two other additional loci (xyl and gnt loci) that are integrated with the amyL gene, which would be expected to produce alpha-amylase at a higher level when the prsA gene is over-expressed in the cell in view of the teachings of Andersen and Doig. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Doig’s construct comprising SEQ ID NO:100 operably linked to SEQ ID NO:101 when integrating the prsA gene at the amyL locus because Doig’s construct was known to be useful in overexpressing the prsA gene in B. licheniformis with a resultant effect of an increased production level of amylase.
It is noted that the “wherein” clause limitation relating to “the control cell” recited claims 6-7 and 12-13 does not structurally alter the instantly claimed modified cell thus the aforemenitoned limitation recited in the instant claims would inherently provide an increased level of production of an enzyme compared to the control cell, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, claims 1 and 3-16 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,534,716 B2 in view of Anderson et al. (US 2020/0318086 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been obvious over the ‘716 patent claims drawn to a modified B. licheniformis cell comprising the B. licheniformis prsA promoter comprising SEQ ID NO:100 operably linked to the B. licheniformis prsA ORF comprising SEQ ID NO:101, wherein the modified cell produces an increased amount of a secreted enzyme and a method for producing the modified cell, wherein SEQ ID NO:100 and SEQ ID NO:101 of the ‘716 patent claims are 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:29 and SEQ ID NO:30 claimed in the instant case, respectively. It is noted that the scope of “POI” that “is a secreted protein”, which is a “secreted enzyme” as claimed in the ‘716 patent claims is defined to read on “amylase” as evidenced by the ‘716 patent specification. See column 9, lines 24-26.
Regarding the “amyL locus” of a B. licheniformis cell into which the prsA gene cassette integrated as claimed in the instant claims, it would have been obvious to choose the amyL locus as the locus of the B. licheniformis cell of the ‘716 claims to integrate the nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO:100 operably linked to SEQ ID NO:101 of the ‘716 patent claims because the amyL locus was one of art-recognized B. licheniformis loci into which a gene can be integrated as evidenced by Andersen.
It is noted that the “wherein” clause relating to “the control cell” recited in the instant claims does not structurally alter the already patented modified cell and furthermore, such limitation recited in the instant claims would be inherent in the modified cell that is rendered obvious in the instant rejection, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/DANA H SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635