DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “Eudragit® E”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe an animo methacrylate copolymer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh et al (US 2017/0049774).
With regards to claim 1, Singh et al discloses an osmotic agent comprising a core layer comprising a core of tofacitinib citrate, lactose as an osmogene, and hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose as a polymer, and a coating comprising cellulose acetate as the semipermeable membrane with Eudragit E PO as the corresponding acid-sensitive polymer (abstract, ¶¶ 54, 58, 64-66, examples 1(a) and 1(f), and claim 13).
With regards to claims 2 and 6, Example 1 includes citric acid as the organic acid.
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Eudragit E PO is used in Example 1.
With regards to claim 5, the Eudragit E PO is 5.71mg of the about 25mg coatings.
With regards to claim 10, cellulose acetate is used in Example 1.
With regard to claim 11, the cellulose acetate is 9.60mg of the about 25mg coatings.
With regards to claims 12 and 13, lactose (a sugar) and sodium chloride (a water soluble salt) are used in Example 1.
With regards to claim 14, 152.24mg of lactose and 50.1mg sodium chloride are present in the 200mg tablets.
With regards to claim 15, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (hypomellose) is used in Example 1.
With regards to claim 21, tofacitinib is the active of Example 1.
With regards to claims 16 and 17, Example 1(a) include sodium lauryl sulfate.
With regards to claim 18, Example 1(a) includes polyethylene glycol.
With regards to claim 19, Example 1(a) includes magnesium stearate, a glidant (¶ 62).
With regards to claim 22, where the Examples have laser etched holes, it is expected that the micropores would not be visually identifiable where laser etched holes are expected to be microscopic sized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (US 2017/0049774).
Singh et al is discussed above, but does not disclose the instantly claimed ratios or release profiles.
With regards to claim 7, while the reference does not specially teach the ratio of organic acid to acid sensitive polymer, it does teach that the acidifying agents create an acidic microenvironment when solubilizing the drug (¶ 59). Thus, it would be obvious to vary the amount of organic acid based on the active used and the solubility needs of the tablet. That would then relate directly to the acid sensitive polymer and the release rate, which would be optimized based on the desired pharmacokinetics.
With regard to claims 8 and 9, the sustained release for the prior art table include requires, such as not more than 30% of the tofacitinib is release in 1 hour, and between 35% and 75% of tofacitinib is released in 2.5 hours (claims 5-7). Thus, it would have been obvious to adjust the release profile within the range required by the prior art.
With regards to claim 20, the reference does not specifically teach the thickness of the coating layers. But it would have been obvious to optimize the thickness of the coating layers based on the desired pharmacokinetics where the coating is used to control the release.
With regards to claim 22, while is reasonably expected that the laser drilled holes are not visually identifiable, the reference provides motivation to reduce the size where the purpose is to create a semipermeable coating where water readily diffuses through the means of the membrane, but solutes dissolved in water cannot readily diffuse with the osmotic pressure pushing the drug through openings (¶ 64). As such, the holes need to be slightly larger than a water molecule, but smaller than the active agent to be administered.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612